and it’s you and me

I can only give you love that lasts forever,
And a promise to be near each time you call,
And the only heart I own,
For you and you alone,
That’s all, that’s all…

The 20th marked yet another milestone in our lives, as the mister and I celebrated two and a half years of walking astride each other, pledging unflinching faith and relentless support. Looking back, as cliched as it may sound, it seemed only yesterday that we waxed lyrical on life’s melancholy and its beauty on poetic prose and verses over Friendster.

Yes, we are one of the many couples that embraced the anonymity-to-a-certain-extent nature of the webworld, and lounged in the comforts of our seats while witnessing the exchange of words through synchronised hypertexts and emoticons parenthesised with asterisks. Even though the ‘initiating’ factor in our relationship, if I may call it that, revolved around the arts/poetry, it very soon paved its way to non-sequitur conversations on our addiction to lime-flavoured Mentos Cool Chews, our “FREAKY THINGS ABOUND!!!” moments, as well as hilarious exchanges that no one quite understands, ‘cept for us.

And who can ever forget that monumental moment, when an innocent 20-question game which began as a crash course of knowing more about each other slowly (which included him being a cat-owner/lover, and me being a “fraidycat”, as he called it), became a lil more than that. And sooner than our we-have-lotsa-things-in-common selves bestowed us the title of twinnies, our hearts were secretly entwined and had more in plan for us.

And 30 months on, after all that he has been to me, and after all that he has done for me, all I can possibly offer in return is my whole-hearted love, a box filled with paper hearts containing 30 things I love about him, and a huge chocolate chip cookie cake for this lil cookie monster of mine.

Pardon the haphazard frosting; did it up till the last minutes while he was waiting for me downstairs for our weekly date. I had initially planned to frost the whole cookie, as I do with any lil frosted cookie cutouts, but knowing how much chocolate chips went into this cookie, I did not want the sweetness of the icing to take the attention away from the chocolate chip cookie itself. For at the end of the day, I wanted it to be a HUGE chocolate chip cookie for him, with all its chocolate chip goodness.

And thank God, my first huge cookie cake turned out great. The mister loved it, and wouldn’t stop singing praises about it, and it was exactly how I pictured it to be; a crunchy cookie filled with big morsels of chocolate chips bursting in your mouth. And how would I know? Well, I divided the recipe into two batches, and baked the other the next day, cut it up into small wedges, for the family and to bring to the office.

I also managed to bake a couple of normal-sized cookies, and allowed the 5-year-old niece to play with some pink icing. And with that, while she enjoyed her medium star-shaped cookie all to herself, the whole family was given a smiley cookie each to start the evening with.

Including myself, Auntie Cookie, my new name for that day.

On another note altogether, happy 2 and a half, my dearest mister. Thank you for all the smiles and sunshine you’ve brought into my life. I honestly could never have asked for more. Get better soon, cookie monster! *uyuks*

Huge Chocolate Chip Cookie Love

1 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup white sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp salt
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chip

1 tsp baking soda

  1. Beat butter, sugars and vanilla until fluffy.
  2. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  3. Gradually add flour, salt and baking soda, beating well.
  4. Stir in chips.
  5. Bake at 190C for 20-25mins.

Update: Thanks to some heads-up, I’ve decided to include this entry for A Heart For Your Valentine hosted by Zorra. Hopefully everyone gets inspired for the coming Valentine’s!

31 thoughts on “and it’s you and me

  1. the mister bie

    I couldn’t stop smiling (and even teared) when I read the post.

    It’s very sweet of you sayang.

    Thank you dear.

    You are the best thing that’s happened to me and I hope that we will always be happy together.

    My friend.

    My love.

    My life.

    *uyuks*

    Oh yah….

    That is, by far, th BIGGEST cookie I’ve ever seen (and eaten) in my life!!!

    And it is beyond the shadow of a doubt, the YUMMYIEST I’ve ever tasted!

    This cookie monster is pleased and your cookie gets a stamp of approval from the Cookie Monsters Association!😀

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: I hope that we’ll always be blessed with happiness, dearest mister. Thank you for the magical 30 months of my life🙂 And I’m so glad you liked the cookie, even though it didn’t look great. *uyuks!*

    sweetrosie: Thanks, sweetie🙂 *hugs*

    zorra: Hehe. I guess I’m the lucky one for getting a non-fussy cookie monster!😛

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    linda: Well I’m glad I got the cookie monster satisfied :p Thanks, Linda!🙂

    Indigo: Yupperz, especially if it’s heart-shaped! Hehe… You should try it out🙂

    Robyn: Thank you, dearie🙂

    melisser: Hehe, thanks Mel🙂

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    jean: Thanks, doll🙂 *hugs* And hey, heard someone had been venturing into the kitchen as of late, as well….? hehehehe

    Indigo: Alright, thanks sweetie. I’ll try to do it soon🙂

    Reply
  5. lyn

    hihi, chanced upon you blog from Is’ blog..your bake treats are amazing! is it ok to link up to ur blog? Just so I can feast my eyes on your delights..🙂

    Reply
  6. happygrub

    new look for ur blog! I thought I clicked on a wrong link, but its u! *phew* Nice!!

    So sweet… Happy V day to the both of u.. Reminds me of my younger days.. hehe, i am quite old y’know.

    to many happy years ahead to the both of u.. erm is it too soon to say “sampai anak cucu”…

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    Bellini Valli: Thanks for dropping by. And yes, giant cookies are excellent!

    didally: Well, let’s just say that the cookie monster is satisfied with his cookie, but still craves for more cookies!😛

    lyn: Sure thing, Lyn. Thanks for dropping by🙂

    happygrub: One can never be too old for love matters! Hehe… And thank you for the kind wishes. Amiin, insyaAllah🙂

    Reply
  8. Pingback: i’m spinning around « :: epicurean escapism ::

  9. Pingback: a second « :: epicurean escapism ::

  10. Pingback: tens on my hundred « :: epicurean escapism ::

  11. Pingback: a special spot between mister cookie and the brownie babe « :: epicurean escapism ::

  12. Annabel

    Hey dear, could you teach me or show me any recipe that tells me how to make frosting/icing as decoration on cookies? I’ve been finding it but I dont really get what the recipe is expressing or I just cant a perfect one. Thanks

    Reply
  13. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi sweetie, how about giving this one a go? Perhaps the write-up will help you understand.

    What’s important in icing decoration is the texture of the icing. If you’re planning to write with it, it has to be stiff enough to hold its shape, but runny enough to be piped out smoothly. The amount of liquid added will help to ascertain that. More liquid = runny icing that will flood/flow across your cookie; less liquid = stiff icing suitable for piping outlines and letterings.

    Hope that helps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

