eight in oh-eight

“To be honest, I didn’t think we would be eight.”

Eight years. Of clutching at our stomachs from laughing incessantly, and waking up all puffy-eyed from yesternight’s crying. Of irritating the world with our thousand-and-two inside jokes, and standing strong on each other’s side should the world turn their backs on either of us. Of experimenting with and thereafter embracing makeup in slowly-but-surely stages, and still having the quintessential rock-hand-sign pose with each camera session.

We’re a walking contradiction. At best.

The fact that we are still holding strong eight years on, after all the mind boggling equations You + I bring about, proves that there is a certain faith in our friendship that the world need not comprehend. From singing rock ballads in the back alley-ed benches in school, to studying for the big A’s twice over on the freezing seats of Burger King/Macdonald’s, and now to being loud-music-blasting roommates at the workplace, we’ve gone through huge milestones together, and I’m glad that I’ve had the beshtest alongside me for eight long years.

In celebration of our eighth year of friendship, I tried my hand at baking my first ever frosted cake. And no better cake comes to mind than one signifying us both; the juxtaposition of two different worlds moulded into one perfect combination, i.e. a chocolate banana cake layered with chocolate ganache and filled with sliced bananas, and fully frosted with a thick chocolate ganache layer.

I’m a huge chocoholic, while the best friend is fondly referred to as the ‘banana monger’, and this cake proved to be the perfect match to satisfy both our palates. While I was satiated by the layers of chocolate ganache, she was delighted by the three-plus-two bananas that went into the making of the cake.

I divided the recipe to make two small cakes, with the other left unfrosted for the household’s consumption. The cake itself was moist, and it was relatively difficult to decipher between the chocolate and the banana. A chocoholic like myself would be pleased with the texture, yet be distracted by the banana bits (I chopped them coarsely) and the banana aroma permeating through each bite. Whereas a fan of the fruit would be satisfied with the generous serving of bananas, with every bite promising a unison of the bursting sweetness of the banana alongside the mature bittersweet chocolate of the cake. And with the layering of banana slices, and even more chocolate ganache all over, all I can say is what was a good chocolate banana cake recipe turned out to be a great chocolate banana cake.

Maybe it’s a beginner’s luck!

Chocanana Cake

2 cups sugar
1 3/4 cups cake flour
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
3 medium bananas (mashed)
1 cup warm water
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup oil
1 tsp vanilla extract

  1. Preheat oven to 180C.
  2. Whisk cake flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt together. Set aside.
  3. In another bowl, whisk eggs, mashed bananas, water, milk, oil and vanilla.
  4. Add the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, and stir until just combined.
  5. Bake at 180C for 35-40mins.
  6. Cool the cake completely and cut into two layers. Place both layers cut-side up and spread whipped chocolate ganache filling over the layers. On one layer, arrange rings of banana slices onto the layer (I used two medium-sized bananas). Sandwich the layers together and frost the whole cake with a chocolate ganache coating.
  7. Forget the diet, and don’t limit yourself to eating one slice.

29 thoughts on “eight in oh-eight

  1. thecoffeesnob

    That looks fantastic! I love the little squiggles on the cake🙂

    Your best friend is really lucky- 8 years of friendship plus a to-die-for cake to celebrate- you really can’t ask for more!😀

    Reply
  2. fadill gallagher (banana monger)

    To anyone who thinks she is just bullshitting through this blog, I assure thee, a bullshitter she isn’t.

    The Bananachoc cake is SUPREME! Ask Uncle Abang! :p

    ITS THE BEST THING I TASTED. EVEN BETTER THAN SECRET RECIPE ONE! I’m biased like crazy la. But don’t take my word for it! Who cares?! If no one wants it, all the more for me. :D:D:D:D

    Can I have my fruit tartlets now…?

    Reply
  3. bie

    Oooooh…. nice squiggly lines!!!

    Maybe you can call it “Squiggly ChocBanana Cake!”

    Or “Squiggly ChocBanana Cake With Oodles and Oodles of Chocolate!”

    Hehe…

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    thecoffeesnob: Awww, thanks dearie! Actually I’m horrid at decorating, so those lil squiggles were all that my courage could muster. Haha :p

    fadill: Hahaha… Selfish monger lah you; everything also dowanna share! And as for the fruit tartlets, well let’s just say that good things come to those who wait… So continue waiting please! :p

    Reply
  5. didally

    Ahhh.. my favorite, choc banana cake! Thks for posting the recipe. I haven’t have the guts to try frosting a cake, or rather, I haven’t baked a whole cake before.

    Yeah.. I will say forget the diet too. lol

    Reply
  6. sweetrosie

    That. Looks. Absolutely. Beautiful!!!!

    A wedge of that cake and a big cup of coffee would be heaven. I think it sounds and looks just beautiful. I agree with Amrita too, the box is gorgeous.

    Thank you so much for sharing🙂

    Here’s to friendship:)

    Reply
  7. linda

    Wonderful job on your first frosted cake! Love the squiggles too. I could eat a slice right now, or even better, make it two😉 Your banana monger best friend is lucky to have a friend like you.

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Pat: Aww, thanks dearie. I’m glad it turned out fine🙂

    didally: Indeed! Any diet plan must be overlooked when it comes to this cake😛

    melisser: Thanks Mel!🙂

    aforkfullofspaghetti: Thanks for dropping by! Love the name, btw🙂

    Amrita: Actually it’s the normal white cake box. I merely doodled on it to mimic the squiggly lines on the cake😛

    sweetrosie: Thank you, sweetie🙂 And may I suggest MANY wedges? Hehehe…

    sweet-tooth: Alot of people seem to love that cake, huh?😛 Mine can’t be compared to their hotseller!

    linda: Aww, thank you, dearie. And yes, most ideal no of slices to eat would be anything more than one. Hehe😛

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    Aimei: Ooops, sorry for the craving! Hehe😛 Satisfy the craving and bake away!

    Sylvia: Thank you for dropping by, Sylvia. And thanks for your kind words🙂

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    The Cooking Ninja: Sounds great! Will definitely have to try that out.

    singairishgirl: A match made in cake heaven indeed! Well said ~haha… And no, that’s not me; it’s my best friend🙂

    Reply
  11. -

    hi! just wanna know how do you make the chocolate ganache? the cake looks so good! i really wanna try it out!(:

    Reply
  12. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi there. I don’t stick to a specific recipe, I’m afraid. I just cook chocolate and whipping cream over a double boiler of simmering water, and adjust the amount according to the consistency I want. In this case, I used 1 part cream to 2-3 parts chocolate.

    Hope that helps!

    Reply
  13. mons

    Hey!

    Great looking cake😀 Looks delish too! I was just wondering what baking pan size did you use for this cake? & the ganache you used for coating and filling layers are the same?

    Thanks in advance!

    Reply
  14. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi mons, thanks for dropping by. For the life of me, I can’t remember exactly which baking pan size I used, but I think it should be 8 inch. And yup, the ganache is the same for both.

    Reply
  15. audreeee

    hi!! can i just enquire more on how to make the chocanana cake?? how do you prepare the chocolate ganache coating and did you use fine or coarse sugar? and what kind of oil did you use? and lastly do you whisk it with your hands or with a machine? im sorry if im asking too much cause i’m a first timer at baking cakes. thank you for your patience!=))

    Reply
  16. ovenhaven Post author

    I only use castor sugar and vegetable oil in my recipes, unless otherwise stated. I whisked with a wooden spoon. For the chocolate ganache, I don’t have a specific recipe; I just melt chocolate with whipping cream till I get the consistency I want. For beginners, you might want to refer to this for pointers. Hope that helps! Feel free to drop me a mail at ovenhaven(at)gmail(dot)com for more clarifications or queries I can assist you with🙂

    Reply
  17. audree

    hey! how do u make the patterns on the cake? the swirls! did u add on the swirls after the cake is cooled(with the ganache)? thankss=D

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi audree, I first covered the whole cake with ganache after the cake was cooled, then after that ganache coating firmed up, I piped the swirly pattern with remaining ganache🙂

Leave a Reply

