of the past, the present, and the [near] future

One of the dear readers actually asked me what happened to my recipes; why I never posted them up anymore. Apparently there were many a times that the recipe links were not as prominent as I would have preferred them to be. With that, rest assured that a complete recipe would be typed out by the end of this entry🙂

Having lamented how much I miss photography, I decided to look through photos taken over the past two years or so, and see what I could re-edit and/or salvage along the way, just to ease the PS itch, while awaiting the nearest opportunity to go on the next pictorial escapade. The best thing about looking through past photos is that besides the fact that you can spend almost the whole night reminiscing beautiful moments and eventful days, there would surely be times when you suddenly discover an overlooked photograph that you either vaguely recall taking, or had completely forgotten the wheres and the whos to it.

This was one of those moments; a rare photograph of one of the orders I had last month. The design was chosen and carefully thought of by the client, who was throwing a birthday bash for her 1-year-old daughter. Having been one of the first larger orders I had taken after having started my 9-6 job, I must admit that twas a very enriching and humbling experience for me. From the baking supplies, right down to the fact that the mixer had chosen to fail on me that very night. Haha. After all’s said and done, though, I enjoyed every minute of it, and would go through the whole experience in a heartbeat. But this time, at least let my mixer cooperate with me, please? :p

Having discovered the photo, I realised that it’s been awhile since I actually baked cupcakes for myself, i.e. apart from fulfilling orders. But by the time I decided on actually baking one, I was fretting over time management and fumbling with ingredients I actually had in hand, I went ahead and drew that faint line between a cupcake and a muffin thinner than it already is.

And so I cheated. I used an easy turn-to chocolate muffin recipe, and coated it with chocolate ganache, thereafter drizzling it generously with cornflakes. I love this muffin recipe because it always results in a great crisp dome with a soft interior texture that is perfectly adorned with the melting goodness of large chocolate chunks. And because I was fiddling with appearances, and needed to dress them up ala cupcakes, I added another layer of complimentary texture with the crushed cornflakes, just for the extra bite.

And in light of the cupcake-muffin union, I’ve decided not only to bring these two lovelies closer together, but also to offer a warm invitation to my fellow readers to participate in a lil PIF (Pay It Forward). I got the idea from Sweetrosie, and basically, here’s how it works.

The first 3 people who comment on this entry, and wish to participate, will receive a handmade gift from me. I have yet to decide on exactly what it would be, but I already have a few ideas in mind. In return, all you have to do is just post a similar promise on your blog, in that you will pay it forward by giving 3 of your readers a gift. As simple as that. Have fun!

Chocolate-Chocolate Chunk Muffins
(adapted from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking From My Home to Yours)

6 tablespoons unsalted butter
4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
2 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups buttermilk
1 large egg
2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1. Melt butter + 1/2 of chocolate over simmering water. Set aside.
2. Whisk flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder and baking soda.
3. In another bowl, whisk buttermilk with egg and vanilla extract.
4. Pour the liquid ingredients and the melted butter + chocolate over the dry ingredients, and stir.
5. Stir in the remaining chocolate.
6. Bake in a preheated oven of 190C for about 20mins.

14 thoughts on “of the past, the present, and the [near] future

  1. bie

    wow those muffin/cupcake hybrids look scrumptiously crunchy and chocolate-y!

    yumyum!

    your PIF thingie is so exciting, dear!

    can’t wait to see how it turns out…🙂

    Reply
  2. seajourney

    Nothing makes a day better than muffins do!

    Blueberry, chocolate, banana, walnut and the works.
    Cornflakes’s quite unique, it’s a first!

    Looks very tempting, I shall ask my mum to bake a few😀

    Do you mind if I took part in PIF?
    I’ll pass the favour on, no worries! x)

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Thanks, bie🙂 Sorry I couldn’t pass you any; another day, okay?

    melisser: Enjoy your year ahead, sweetie!🙂

    seajourney: I totally agree! I love my muffins warm and fresh from the oven; nothing beats that😛 And yes, of course you can take part in PIF. Drop me an email with your address, okay? Have fun🙂

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, sweetie. You have a great year ahead as well🙂

    didally: Happy New Year, dearie! Here’s wishing you a wonderful oh-eight ahead🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

