not so murphy

As Murphy had aptly put it, “What can go wrong, will go wrong”, and I guess Murphy was knocking on my door that fateful day when the mixer finally died on me. I  was baking, or rather, attempting to bake my very first chocolate spongecake for the mother’s birthday, when the mixer started sounding like something off a Robitussin cough mixture advertisement, I kid you not. Having given up on the cake that day, I assured myself that all the mixer needed and probably badly yearned for, was just a good rest.

And so, I was at it again a couple of days later, for a 100 cupcake order. While rushing home from work to start baking, I thought to myself in the comforts of the backseat of the cab, with three huge plastic bags of baking supplies in hand, what would happen to the mixer:-

  1. the mixer would have had enough rest by now, and would cooperate with me, in true-blue fairytale-esque fantasy;
  2. the mixer should be able to work this time round, because I suspect that the store-bought spongecake mixture was much too thick for it to churn and mix around, and so, there shouldn’t be any problem with beating the oft-used cupcake batter now;
  3. i would have to look for Captain Hook’s forearm over at Ebay/Etsy, and somehow affix it onto my own, and add in some Duracell bunny batteries, and let it go vroooooooom!

As luck were to have it, none of the above happened. There was no way of resuscitating the mixer, and I was too pressed for time to get help from Hook. A quick call to the mister got me reacquainted with my very first butter cupcake recipe that needed a mere throw-in-everything take to it.

But all’s not lost, since I’m done mourning whining over the death of the mixer (I didn’t exactly mourn, because the mixer wasn’t mine to begin with, hence the lack of emotional attachment) and have moved on to greener pastures. One with waffling banana aroma, and speckled with chocolate tease.

With the Saturday spent more or less alone at home, the first thing I could think of was to bake something which did not require much mixing/creaming. And with two large bananas all riped and waiting to be savoured, I concocted my own mix-and-match banana chocolate chip muffins. The concomitant aroma that ensued thereafter paved the way for a lovely batch of moist muffins, with a prominent banana flavour that was not overpowering, while the chocolate chips provided an extra crunch/flavour to perfect these muffins. 

 

Lounging alone in my bed, with the afternoon sun peering in through the white curtains, I had my muffins warm, and my mind drifted to the banana-loving beshtest (my best friend). And so, what better way to enjoy a quiet afternoon with a little company, as I flip through the collection of letters she had written for me over the seven years we’ve known each other, reminiscing the days back in junior college, passing letters to each other every morning during the flag-raising assembly. How I miss those days of colourful metallic pens with glittered inks!

22 thoughts on “not so murphy

  1. bie

    oh dear…

    i hope we solve the mixer problem soon, dear… do consider the kenwood one we saw the other day (though it is still very suspicious why it was so cheap)….

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    Yah, I’m thinking about it. I’d highly likely get that, I think. Perhaps the next time I go there, I’ll take note of the model and google it. But if I do get pressed and desperate, I’d probably just go ahead and buy it -_-

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    Jane: Thank you. I sure hope so too. I’m hoping to bank in on the year-end/Christmas sales going on :p

    Bernice: Oh okay, thanks for the heads up, sweetie. I’ll have a look and check it out.

    Mandy: Me too, actually. Been downing too much chocolate bakes/desserts as of late, so this is a refreshing change🙂

    Reply
  4. sweetrosie

    I have been using my Kenwood Chef for 26 years now ( it was a 21st present from my mum) It has never let me down, and I use it for catering jobs as well as home cooking.
    The only thing I would change is to swap over the plstic bowl for one of those white glass ones. Oh, and one prong has come”unstuck” on the whisk attatchment, but I see those up for sale on ebay quite a bit, so it’s just a matter of getting on to it…
    I seem to use the K beater most the time.
    Good luck & happy Sunday !🙂

    Reply
  5. sweet-tooth

    hi!
    i like the idea of bananas+chocolate chips😀
    i just came across a recipe that uses both. hehe maybe i’ll try it soon.
    and i love the idea that muffins are so easy to make, especially when you don’t feel like using the mixer😉

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    sweetrosie: 26 years?? Wow, they should be placing you as the Kenwood ambassador of sorts! :p Other than the prong matter, it’s pretty hardy, huh?

    sweet-tooth: Yup, muffins are like the turn-to bake when the mixer’s MIA. Hehe :p

    Elyn: Oh okay. Ooooh, the Kenwood Patissier Series would be those in beautiful colours right? Kinda like KA. Very nice!

    didally: Yupperz, I’m not that huge a fan of banana, but I must say that banana goes really well with chocolate, as well as oats/cereal.

    Reply
  7. fadill gallagher (banana monger)

    I WANT ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!😀

    funny…ive been looking through our old staff too adik……
    I miss us.😦

    Reply
  8. fadill gallagher (banana monger)

    YAHL! WEEHOOOO~!!! Anyway, there is no problem that a banana muffin / fruit tartlet cant solve!!!!😀

    Reply
  9. catherine

    Hey!

    Your bakes look really really yummy! Anyway, I will be raising funds for my cca at the beginning of next year because we intend to set up a mini-scale scientific library (I’m from National Junior College by the way); so I was wondering if you’d be willing to sponsor some of your bakes for us to sell and raise funds so that the library can come to fruition (: Every little contribution will be greatly greatly appreciated!

    Please feel free to contact me if you have any queries or should you require further clarification at laiyanlingcatherine@hotmail.com or 90273206.

    Looking forward to your reply!


    Catherine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

