flawless flourless

It’s not the first time this has happened; when I set out to bake a particular something, but end up frolicking in the delights of a different bake altogether. This time round, I stepped into the kitchen armed with two different recipes, in case I change my mind the last minute. All thanks to the mister who, as expected, when prompted the question “What shall I bake today?”, replied the nondescript “MOOTIES!!!”, I scribbled down two cookie recipes he requested for.

But as luck were to have it, within minutes I had to message the mister, “I cldnt bake you cookies, coz I ran out of flour. Sorry.” Which then led to this.

I’ve indulged in the beauty of an almost flourless chocolate cake, and what better day to attempt another bookmarked recipe of a flourless chocolate cake than today. The texture was perfect; a slightly crisp crust caved in to a melt-in-your-mouth interior that leaves you silently enjoying every fork-ful in the comforts of your armchair, as you watch the day quietly go by. This is certainly more suited to be an adult indulgence, as it is not a sweet fluffy chocolate cake, but rather one that requires patience with regard to tasting; you need to cherish every bite, slowly allowing the flavour to come through with every melting morsel of goodness.

The only thing I could think of while enjoying this was the fact that I wish I had some raspberries at hand, for it reminded me so much of the Godiva dark chocolate with raspberry bar I had the other day, where the maturity of the dark chocolate was balanced off perfectly with the flirty tang of sweet raspberries.

[Aside: In spite of all the adultness of this dessert, I felt like a child watching a magic show when I saw the middle of the cake sink upon cooling. Uber kewlness. *does a geeky laugh*]

Chocolate Flourless Cake
(adapted from Nigella Bites)

250g dark chocolate
125g butter
6 eggs: 2 whole, 4 separated
3/4 cup caster sugar

  1. Preheat the oven to 180ºC.
  2. Line the bottom of a 9 inch cake pan with baking parchment.
  3. Melt the chocolate, and then let the butter melt in the warm chocolate.
  4. Beat the 2 whole eggs and 4 egg yolks with 1/3 cup of the sugar, then gently add the chocolate mixture.
  5. In another bowl, whisk the 4 egg whites until foamy, then gradually add the remaining sugar and whisk until the whites are holding their shape but are not too stiff.
  6. Fold in the egg whites.
  7. Pour into the prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes or until the cake is risen and cracked and the centre is no longer wobbly. Cool the cake in its pan on a wire rack; the middle will sink as it cools.

Note: The original recipe calls for a whipped cream topping in the middle of the ‘crater’, but since I do not eat whipped cream, I’ve omitted it. I do recommend serving it with raspberries/strawberries, though.

17 thoughts on “flawless flourless

  1. bie

    “MOOTIES!!!”

    (and you can quote me on that)

    (eh, but you already did! hehe….)

    anyhoo it’s ok dear, im sure with your SUPER LONG WEEKEND, there’ll be other happy cookie days…😛

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    SUPERLONG WEEKEND!!!!!!!!!!

    And yes, I’m enjoying every bit of this super long weekend. Hope I’ll be able to pass you some “mooties” soon nuf, dear🙂

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    Mandy: Thanks Mandy🙂 And errr ‘mooties’ is cookies in our made-up language. Hehehe😛

    Pat: Yesyes, good things (and calories!) need to be shared! Hehehe😀

    Reply
  4. singairishgirl

    Hi ovenhaven,

    Not sure if I commented on your blog before, but I chanced upon your blog once and really enjoyed reading your stuff but forgot all about it till now, so hehe, hope to visit it more often. Just wanted to say hi.🙂

    Reply
  5. happygrub

    How come u dun eat cream?? How come you dun eat cheese?? *looks very puzzled* U can’t be lactose intolerance cos u do eat butter. What’s going on??

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Hahaha… Well, let’s just list down some of the many things I don’t eat, shall we? I don’t take cheese, cream, mayonnaise, milk, and butter/margarine (I take butter in my bakes but not real butter, like butter on toast). Since I was young, I just couldn’t take them coz they make me puke. For cheese and milk, even the smell makes me feel nauseous. Haha.

    Reply
  7. didally

    Very nice handwriting u have. =)

    Are u lactose-intolerant? Or it’s just the smell? ;P

    I can’t imagine myself not being able to take cheese, milk, butter.

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Thanks, sweetie🙂

    I don’t think I’m lactose-intolerant, since I can actually take a lil cheese on my pizza, so long as it’s not overpowering, or what I deem as ‘cant see/taste the cheese’ :p But yah, it surpasses the smell, coz my idea of death penalty would be to force me to have a bite of cheese, or a sip of milk.

    Reply
  9. Sarah Jane

    Would love to have a few bites of this cake to go with my coffee I’m drinking right now. I’ve never even tasted a flourless cake but the way you describe it? Geezzzz…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

