seeking escapism

There were questions about whether I would still pursue baking if work had finally set in; whether I would be taking orders, the frequency of my blog updates, and more importantly, a poignant question of prioritising. Is it really worth it, someone asked.

And at the end of the day, my blog name holds true. Baking is an escapism for me, and where the must-do-something-that-makes-me-happy yours truly is concerned, any form of escapism must surely be a necessity in life.

Regardless of how busy you can be with the daily offerings life brings, I believe it is always important to take time off for yourself, in a manner you find most ideal. Pamper yourself with a highly-deserved manicure/pedicure, spend a lovely evening sharing silent whispers with your loved one, or simply grab that pair of shoes you’ve been eyeing since last season, even if it’s just a month away from the Christmas sale. 

For me? If I can’t be out in the park for a picnic, I’ll bring the picnic to me. All complete with a picnic mat, a good read, and a plate of scones fresh from the oven, adorned perfectly with a dollop of blueberry jam; my ideal weekend getaway.

So what’s your ideal escapism?

Scones

2 cups self-raising flour
2 tbsp sugar
220ml whipping cream

  1. Preheat oven to 230C.
  2. Mix all the ingredients together to form a dough.
  3. Knead on a floured surface lightly and roll out to desired thickness.
  4. Cut out circles and bake for 10-12mins until puffy and light brown/golden.
  5. Serve with a jam of your choice, and/or a dollop of cream.

11 thoughts on “seeking escapism

  1. linda

    I agree on baking being an escapism. It is for me too🙂
    Lovely scones, plan on making scones for the first time in a few weeks when I’ll be making high tea for my friends.

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    linda: Ah, high tea with beautiful warm scones; must be sucha delight. Have a great time!🙂

    didally: I totally agree. I’m a fan of easy peasy recipes, and this has just got on the list of to-bakes for a picnic!

    Reply
  3. thecoffeesnob

    I made scones as well today! What a pleasant coincidence🙂

    I’ve been pondering over whether it’s worthwhile to keep my site going when i start work next year seeing as how i probably won’t be posting much. And i couldn’t agree more on your view about how regardness of how incredibly busy your week gets, it’s really important to set some time to seek out the little things you enjoy.

    You’re truly a woman after my own heart🙂

    By the way, i love the little rattan bag in the corner!

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    Great minds think alike, don’t they?😉

    I’ve just started working recently, which means I can only bake on weekends/holidays, that is, assuming that I won’t be bummed out with exhaustion. But yes, taking time off for yourself is essential to balance off the otherwise mundane routines of life.

    Oh, the rattan bag actually comes with a littler replicate of the bag inside the bag! Like a mummy-baby bag ~haha :p

    Reply
  5. happygrub

    Work makes you even hungrier so u may actually find yourself baking more. Dun worry, there’ll always be time. And even if there’s a lack of time to bake, those times u spend baking will be even more special. I work crazy hours but still bake at every oppurtunity. You will too, trust me!

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Thanks for the assurance, sweetie🙂 You’re right, I’m grabbing every free time I have to get reacquainted with the dearest oven. Besides spending time with the loved ones, of course. But then again, bakes for the loved ones always hit that special spot🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

