pick a pink

I have to admit that I used to hate pink. As in totally abhorred the idea of anything pink. Pink clothes, pink stationery, pink shoes, pink accessories;–they to me were like friendliest flowers to Oscar the Grouch. Utterly <quote>YUCKS</unquote>.

Of course that was before I got in touch with my so-called feminine side. And as the years went by, the male-bashing tomboy got rid of her pageboy haircut, fiddled around with the first few steps of a nondescript makeup regime, began adopting the words “cute” and “pretty” in her otherwise limited vocabulary, and yes, declared a love for pink and purple and am very proud of it.

So when the pink-loving colleague had her last day at work yesterday, I thought what better time to whip up a batch of peeeeeenk cupcakes. I’d have gone the whole mile and coloured some vanilla cupcakes pink, but since the larger share of the batch was for an order sample, I decided to go safe with good ol’ chocolate cupcakes with pink frosting instead.

For the order sample, I did a mix of white frosting as well as pink, but I think everyone pretty much preferred the pink frosting. Next up, PURRRPURRRR…. [translation: PURPLE!]

27 thoughts on “pick a pink

  1. ovenhaven Post author

    Thanks for dropping by, and thank you for the lovely comment🙂 The yummy-looking gelatos on your blog are totally what I need in this hot weather right now… *drools*

    Reply
  2. Indigo

    Ooh, I could just steal that box. And, er, the cupcakes in it. So cute❤

    …Actually before I got distracted, I came over to ask if you’d mind me linking to you on my own (shiny new) food blog? I was just setting up and thought I’d better check. ^__^

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    Indigo: Sure thing, no problem. Link away! But no, you can’t steal the box. Haha :p

    didally: Man, Ikea should pay me commission for promoting the box!🙂

    melisser: Thanks, Mel🙂

    Reply
  4. andrea

    Oh Zhul! Those look absolutely delicious! Reminds me of the cupcakes you baked for the group. YUMMY! Haha…I want some.

    Reply
  5. fi

    Pweeetyyyyy!!!!!

    I don;t like pink either but these cupcakes are exceptions!!
    Hey where did u learn how to make nice cupcakes like that?
    i love to bake, but ahem, i dont really know how.
    =)
    lovely!

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Thanks, fi🙂 I didn’t learn from anywhere per se, but rather, just got inspired by all the lovely works of talented foodbloggers out there. Since you already know how to bake, this should come easy for you! Just surf around, read up on tips, and you’ll be on your way🙂 Besta luck!

    Reply
  7. Miss-Mrs

    Wow, I love the icing with the little silver beads! What a gorgeous idea! I’m definately going to give it a try next time I make cupcakes! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

