fruit glorious fruit

Last weekend saw a little family get-together over majestic food (read: steamboat, roasted chicken, burgers and potato salad) and plenty of laughters to go around. An aftermath of that, besides the inevitable inches around the waistline and the latest additions to the lovely lovehandles, were the abundance of leftovers which were quickly swiped up by the next day.

Possibly the only items which were overlooked in the whole process were the fruits that weren’t included in the fruit salad, namely the apples and the pears. Since I recently made the apple turnovers, I decided to attempt saving the other fruit on the table instead.

A flip through my trusty notebook saw a madly-scratched (yes, it didn’t even qualify to be called ‘written’) recipe for pear muffins. Since there were no “yuMMy!“, “tried and tested” or other suggestive inscriptions written on the side, it means I’ve yet to try my hand at them. And unfortunately, that also meant I had no idea where I got the recipe from.

When I told the mister I made pear muffins, he said in retrospect that he actually thought pears weren’t supposed to go into muffins. In a weird way, that made me feel better because I honestly have no idea how to gauge the outcome of these muffins, since I never tried one prior to this baking experience.

The muffins weren’t dense, but they weren’t dry either. I used two pears instead of one asked for in the recipe, simply because I wanted to ensure that there would be pear bits in every bite. The streusel topping definitely added crunch to the muffins, and I was glad that I decided to include it into the original recipe. Without the streusel, the muffins actually tasted almost bland, save for the cinnamon aroma permeating through each bite. The next time I make these I would increase the brown sugar to 3/4 cup; perhaps that ought to do the trick.

Pear Streusel Muffins

1 1/2 cups plain flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp salt
1 medium pear, peeled and chopped
1 egg
1/2 cup yoghurt
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup oil

Streusel Topping:
1/2 cup butter, cold
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup cornflakes

1. In a small bowl, whisk egg, yoghurt, vanilla and oil.
2. Stir the mixture into a bowl containing the dry ingredients. 
3. Fill the muffin cups almost full.
4. For the streusel topping, just mix everything with your fingers until it resembles coarse breadcrumbs. Scatter generously on top of the muffin mixture in each cup.
5. Bake at 180C for 20-25mins. 

5 thoughts on “fruit glorious fruit

  1. bie

    “When I told the mister I made pear muffins, he said in retrospect that he actually thought pears weren’t supposed to go into muffins.”

    YAH!! I didn’t know you could make muffins outta pears!

    Oh well….

    The next thing you know those kooky kids will be making durian ice cream and frying mars bars or sumpthin’…

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    amrita: Thanks! I’m not a big fan of pears either; was just itching to help save them from turning bad :p

    pat: You do? I’ve never tried baking with pears before. This is just the beginning, I hope!🙂

    bie: They already do! Now that you’ve mentioned it, I feel like frying the mars bars hiding in the fridge😀

    Reply
  3. Pingback: fruit glorious food (cont’d) « :: epicurean escapism ::

Leave a Reply

