there’s a cookie in my cookie

I’m the sort of person who would almost always find myself in a choose-between-two situation when I’m out [mostly-shoe] shopping, or performing any other life-changing decisions. Yes, shopping is life-changing, okay? :P It’s not so much about being fickle-minded, but rather the fact that I can never find THE perfect one, and always end up having to compromise, or wishing that everything in life came in the ideal 2-in-1 combination, combining two desired traits of separate objects.

Which probably explains why this seemed the perfect cookie for me. For someone who enjoys half of her toast with Nutella and the other half with peanut butter, every bite into this crunchy cookie ensures that you’ve got the best of both worlds. And it really is essentially a cookie within another cookie, particularly with the fact that you work on two different doughs almost concurrently, and you get to switch the cutout pieces around!

I can imagine this being easily on the to-bake-with-your-loved-ones list, especially when inserting the smaller cutouts into the larger ones. Kids would be such great helpers for this. Hehe. And the remaining dough can simply be used to cutout smaller cookies/variations, so none would go to waste. This would also be the perfect gift for any occasion. In fact, I made these in light of the brother’s birthday, and they were simply too cute to be turned down, doncha think?
 

Two-Tone Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies
(adapted from Cookie Bible)

Chocolate Dough:
1 cup butter
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 oz chocolate, melted and cooled
2 1/4 cups plain flour
2 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

Peanut butter dough:
1 cup sugar
1 cup smooth peanut butter
1/2 cup butter
1 egg
3 tbsp milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

Mix chocolate dough:
Cream butter and sugar. Beat in egg, vanilla extract and melted chocolate. In another bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking powder. Add flour mixture to the chocolate mixture and beat until combined. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Mix peanut butter dough:
Cream butter, peanut butter and sugar. Beat in egg, milk and vanilla extract. In another bowl, sift together flour, salt and baking powder. Add flour mixture to the peanut butter mixture and beat until combined. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Assembling:
Roll out doughs to about 1/2 inch thick and use a large cookie cutter to cut the large shapes. Use a smaller cookie cutter to remove the centers and switch them, creating a two-toned effect. Bake at 350F for 12-13mins, until the edges of the peanut butter cookies are golden brown.

20 thoughts on “there’s a cookie in my cookie

  1. ovenhaven Post author

    thecoffeesnob: A dream come true for the fickle-minded me, indeed! :p

    Pat: Thank you! This pretty much works with other shapes; I can’t wait to try out lil stars next ~hehe.

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    Hey suz! Oh dear, I really can’t remember now. It really depends on the size of the cookie cutter. I made them pretty big, so I think I got about 3 dozen.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: if life were peaches & cream « :: epicurean escapism ::

  4. Pingback: A Small Symbol For a Special Occasion « Heaven is Chocolate, Cheese and Carbs

  5. Patricia

    Hiiii! I found your site because of bakebakebake and I must say that I LOVE with lunacy and lust your blog hehehe
    I just bookmarked this recipe for my cookie christmas box🙂 but I want to make them choco-vanilla instead of choco-PB, so I was wondering how I can change the PB cookie dough.. increasing the butter amount and with no PB? or should I use your vanilla sugar cookie but with less or more sugar?

    and I was reading the comments and I noticed that you use dark chocolate so.. is the chocolate dough on the sweet side? It’s because here in my house we’re pretty much fans of the sweet side😛 and I wonder how they’ll turn out with bittersweet or milk chocolate:/

    I hope you can help me🙂 and well.. once more.. I love your food!😀

    kisses and hugs from Venezuela!

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi Patricia, thanks for dropping by! Glad you’re enjoying my blog🙂 If you’re looking to change the PB dough, I think you can just omit the pb, but increase the butter amount to 1 cup, and leave out the milk (unless you notice your dough to be a lil on the dry side).

    The chocolate dough’s not on the sweet side, because the focus on these cookies is actually the salty peanut butter taste, but for sure you could easily use bittersweet chocolate!

    Personally though, I prefer the taste of the vanilla sugar cookies because it’s more buttery with a slightly more chewy texture. If you’re using that, you can just leave out 50g of the flour and substitute it with cocoa powder to make the chocolate dough. I’ve reduced the sugar to 180g before, and it doesn’t affect the taste, so you can do that if you’re looking to reduce sugar intake🙂

    Hope that helps, sweetie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

