can you keep a secret?

The birthday was spent in the sweetest way possible. And when I say sweet, I mean it literally. Known for being the chocoholic and the I-can-eat-chicken-everyday person in the household, the spread boasted varieties of sweet indulgences and gastronomic feasts of sorts. Suffice to say, I was one happy girl🙂

And for once, I actually have had enough of chocolate in my system to last me a lifetime. Or what felt like it. So on that grounds alone, when I scrambled to make a quick snack for myself the next day, I steered far far away from chocolate. And opted for the other end of the spectrum, and try something healthier, and not so sweet.

The apples perched atop the counter became my rebound partner for the day. As much as I’d love to just give the apple the mandatory daily bite to drive the doctor away, I still had time on my schedule to give that a pass. Apples, sugar, cinnamon, a bit of butter — all under the flame, and what do you get?

An unsuspecting tight lil package oozing with the sinful syrup of sweet caramelised apples that stains your lips with each sinful bite. And yet it strikes the exact balance, and draws the line before cloyingly sweet, which only makes you yearn for the next bite almost immediately after the first.

But like all secret parcels, the surprise doesn’t end there.

My secret?

It’s not even a full-fledged apple turnover.

I was pressed for time, so instead of making puff pastry from the scratch, I decided to simply use bread slices. And the best part is, the parents loved it. And no one actually knows they’re bread! The turnovers have the texture of spring rolls/currypuffs, and while it doesn’t give you the full experience of the real French apple turnovers, they were perfect for a quick and easy snack.

Quick Apple Turnover

8 slices of bread
2 apples, peeled and diced
1 1/2 tsp lemon juice
2 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
2 tbsp butter

1. Toss apples, lemon juice, sugars, salt, cinnamon and butter into a saucepan. Cook over medium heat, until the apples are soft. Set aside to cool.
2. Roll out the bread slices until very thin. Place about one tablespoon of apple mixture onto one triangle-half of each slice. Fold the other side of the bread over, and brush eggwash/water over the sides to clamp the bread tightly.
3. Bake at 220C for 18-20mins.

6 thoughts on “can you keep a secret?

  1. Pingback: fruit glorious food (cont’d) « :: epicurean escapism ::

Leave a Reply

