lazy busy sunday afternoon

The procrastinating monster in me found itself suddenly bombarded with garbagetruckloads of work to be completed in record time. Amidst editing the short film project, doing the write-up for the cinematic project, and attempting to revise for the test tomorrow, I sought solace in a fuss-free recipe for me to munch away.

I thought of cupcakes. But I didn’t feel cake-y inside.
I thought of cookies. But I didn’t want to spend that much time away from work.
I thought of doughnuts. But I wanted something bite-sized and not so indulgent.

Then I thought no further, and came up with this.

They were just perfect. The chocoholic in me growled for more Nutella, but this was the perfect quick[munch]fix I needed to stop the stomach from growling, the hands from itching, and the mind from procrastinating.

Almond Nutella Swirl Bars

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup plain flour
Nutella
sliced almonds
1. Beat the sugar and butter. Add in eggs one at a time. Add in vanilla.
2. Beat in the flour.
3. Divide the batter in two. Spread half onto a square baking dish.
4. Bake at 160C for 15-20 mins, until golden brown.
5. While warm, spread Nutella.
6. Spread the other half of the batter on top of the Nutella layer.
7. Swirl in about a teaspoon of Nutella into the batter with a knife. Sprinkle with almonds.
8. Bake for 30-35 mins, until golden brown.

I’m glad that the recipe worked out well. Since it’s practically customisable, I can’t wait to tweak it further and try other spreads/jam to go with it.

4 thoughts on “lazy busy sunday afternoon

Leave a Reply

