boredom breeds escapism

And escapism breeds sinful indulgence.

Hence, it was brownies for an afterlunch treat. Coupled with scoops of ice-cream, no less. Too bad there was only coconut-yam ice-cream, and not chocolate. But waddahey, I’m not complaining!

 

I got the recipe from Betty Crocker’s, but did some changes. The brownies tasted okay, not as fudgy as I wished them to be. I think I may have overbaked them, so I must definitely give it another try the next time round. Oh, and have chocolate ice-cream at hand too.

2/3 cup butter
140g unsweetened chocolate
1 1/2 cup sugar
2 tsps vanilla
3 eggs
1 cup plain flour
1. Preheat oven to 180C.
2. Melt the chocolate and butter over low heat. Set aside to cool.
3. Beat sugar, eggs and vanilla. Beat in chocolate mixture. Beat in flour until just incorporated. Stir in walnuts.
4. Bake 40-45mins, or until the brownies begin to pull away from the sides. 

5 thoughts on “boredom breeds escapism

  1. Passionate baker

    What an absolute haven!!! Must say thanks for having stopped by my blog…so I could find yours. SPECTACULAR…love your photography and the posts. Am still quite new to blogging, and have a LOOOOOOOOOOOOONG way to go.
    Thanks for dropping by :0)

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    Awww, thank you for your sweet words🙂 Oh, and thanks for recommending Mark Haddon’s ‘A Spot of Brother’; I read his ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time’ and thoroughly enjoyed it, so I’ll be giving this a read as well :p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

