chocolate in a cup

I’ve had a weird relationship with tarts ever since I laid my hands on them. The first time I attempted to make one for a birthday turned out to be a flop. The second time I attempted them was for a pre-order, and was too sweet a combo. The third time I made them was for an order of 50 peach+strawberry tartlets which turned out to be a success. My only gripe? I didn’t have the time to take photos of them, let alone taste them.

And so I concluded that maybe Lady Luck would be on my side if I went back to my chocoholic roots, and not plunge headlong into the unfamiliar non-chocolate realm. With that, chocolate tartlets it was for today’s menu!

Truth be told, I don’t think I had ever had a chocolate tart in my life. One without cream cheese filling, or any other cheese-related ingredients. Either I was really hungry, really yearning for a taste of them tarts, or simply needed to quench my chocolate fix;– whichever it was, these chocolate tartlets had me downing two consecutively. *rubs tummy*

So yes, this is definitely a keeper, and I foresee myself making more of this for gatherings and such. I made the buttery tart shell thicker this time round just to balance the sweetness of the chocolate filling.

Tart shells
250g butter
100g caster sugar
1 egg
500g plain flour

– Cream butter + sugar until ivory.
– Add in egg, and continue to beat.
– Fold in flour until it becomes a dough.
– Line tart tins and bake 175C for 15-20mins.

Chocolate filling
1 cup cream
2 tbsp sugar
8 ounces chocolate
1 egg

– Heat cream + sugar until simmer.
– Pour over chocolate & whisk.
– Whisk egg into chocolate mixture.
– Pour into tart shells.

7 thoughts on “chocolate in a cup

  1. jen

    hi, was wondering what tart tins are? are they just normal cupcake/ muffin tins? also the chocolate filling is not cooked? meaning that it’s raw egg in there? thanks.😀

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    Hey jen, tart tins are basically individual metal tart moulds (the ones you bake fruit tartlets/petit fours with). You can refer to http://www.cookingfor.us/catalog/-c-161_162_181.html to have a look at the ones I’m referring to. And yup, the chocolate filling’s not cooked, i.e. there’s raw egg. There are plenty of other chocolate tart recipes out there without raw eggs you can choose from, if you prefer. Hope that helps!🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

