of swirls and curves

I was looking through old photos, and came across this one below; the first time I baked Nutella swirl cupcakes for the beshtest.

And so the next hour saw me baking my own rendition of the aforementioned cupcakes. Not much difference, actually. Just that I made two batches; one for chocolate-lovers like myself, and another for those who aren’t. Instead of placing the Nutella on top of the batter and swirling it around with a toothpick, I decided to pipe it thinly onto the batter, and for the chocolate-lover version, I added a surprise semi-sweet chocolate chunk inside each cupcake.

Here’s the basic recipe for Nutella swirl cupcakes:

180g butter
180g self-raising flour
180g caster sugar
1 tsp vanilla essence
3 eggs
Nutella

1. Preheat oven to 160C.
2. Cream butter with sugar, until pale.
3. Add in eggs, one at a time, & blend well.
4. Add in vanilla essence.
5. Fold in flour.
6. Spoon the batter to fill 3/4 of the cups.
7. Scoop 1/2 tsp Nutella onto batter, & swirl with a toothpick.
8. Bake 160C for 20mins.

Verdict: This is one of those simpler recipes where it’s easy to remember the quantity needed for each ingredient. The basic cupcake is a fail-proof recipe, and the only difficulty would probably be to challenge that perfectionist in you to¬†make the loveliest swirl you possibly can.

5 thoughts on “of swirls and curves

  1. *yours truly*

    bie: Yup, I think they look nicer too. But taste-wise, I prefer loadsa chocolate/Nutella in mine, so I’d go for the former, hands down.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: be inspired « :: epicurean escapism ::

Leave a Reply

