Put an Oat On it [Recipe: Oat-Crusted French Toast with Strawberry Compote]

oat crusted french toast

The last few weeks had been whizzing past, with the days merely denoted as pre- and post- Baby A’s birthday. That’s right, it has been a year (and a week now) since I became a parent, and what a wonderful year it has been! Needless to say, a great birthday celebration was in order, though really much more down-scaled and intimate than it might sound, since the birthday parties (yes, two) were really just with my immediate family (A’s the youngest of tiny lil cousins!), and the mister’s. Amidst handmade decor and birthday cake(s) by yours truly, and self-designed birthday invites and goodie bags by the mister, along with being on 24/7 baby watch, it is no wonder that the past month felt like it flew before its time. But enough of the birthday for now, I hope to share with you more soon, once I’ve filtered through photos. Rookie parent mistake: too busy preparing for everything, not enough proper photos!

Now on to today’s recipe: I know what you’re thinking. Either I really love my french toast, or I really love my breakfast food. The former, not so much, though I have to be honest it has really gone up the list of things-to-do-when-your-bread-is-expiring, knocking my much beloved bread pudding off its pedestal, thanks to the ease and quick gratification. The latter, a huge resounding yes, I do love my breakfast food, and given a choice, I would probably have it for every meal of the day. That is, until you tempt me with something along the lines of pasta, or chicken, or pasta with chicken; owh yeah.

Oats, or specifically rolled oats, has become such a large part of my life that I’ve started to Nutella it. That’s right, I’m using Nutella as a verb, because it is that important. Much like Nutella, I’ve begun to add rolled oats in practically everything;- my morning smoothie, my nightly warm malted drink, my pantry-clearing salad, and my sweetest desserts. And so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that I had inadvertently decided to throw in some rolled oats one morning while preparing my french toast. Now, I know french toast is somewhere up there with eggs;- every one has a specific type they prefer. Some prefer their french toasts fluffy and soft, some like it moist and almost gooey, and others prefer it with just a bit of bite to it. These oat-crusted french toasts would satiate the tastebuds of the first and third camps. The crisp crust promises a grainy, nutty flavour with every bite, concurrently easing you into the smooth fluffy bread itself. As for the strawberry compote? It really is just the proverbial show-stopping icing on the cake.

oat crusted french toast 1

oat crusted french toast 2

Oat-Crusted French Toast with Strawberry Compote
(serves a very hungry one)

Strawberry Compote
1/2 cup strawberries, hulled and sliced
2 – 4 tablespoons sugar
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon cornflour, mixed with 1 tablespoon cold water

In a saucepan over medium heat, combine strawberries, sugar and water.
Stir frequently, and bring to a low boil.
Slowly stir in the cornflour mixture.
Simmer until the sauce reaches your desired thickness. Add more sugar if needed.

Oat-crusted french toast
2 slices thick bread (I used multigrain here)
1/3 cup low-fat milk
1 egg
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1/3 cup rolled oats

Whisk milk, egg, cinnamon and vanilla in a bowl.
Heat a lightly-greased skillet on medium high heat.
Dunk each slice of bread into the egg mixture, coating both sides.
Dunk it into the rolled oats, pressing slightly, coating both sides.
Place in pan, and cook on both sides until golden. Serve warm with strawberry compote.

4 thoughts on “Put an Oat On it [Recipe: Oat-Crusted French Toast with Strawberry Compote]

  1. the mister

    “Much like Nutella, I’ve begun to add rolled oats in practically everything…”

    Uhuh, I noticed that! But it’s all good, no? :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

