Rise & Shine (Recipe: Granola Berry Parfait)

rise and shine expo 1

As some of you would have realised by now, breakfast is possibly my favourite meal of the day. I’ve had more “on today’s breakfast table” photos on my instagram, than any other meals in fact. A good breakfast gets me started on the right foot, and sets the mood for the rest of the day. I’m sure everyone understands by now that a good breakfast keeps you alert, energised and focused all the way till lunch, although I’m also pretty sure most of us have had our fair share of experiencing the midday slump a little too early, glancing ever so eagerly at our watches waiting for lunch hour, amidst stifling tummy growls, all thanks to skipping this most important meal of the day.

I must admit though, I haven’t always liked breakfast. As a child, I remember my mother would nag at me as I pushed my food around my breakfast plate, or attempt to hide the egg beneath whatever little crumb of toast I had left (I do love my toast!). As I grew older, the “I’m late for school” excuse would come much too often, yet in typical maternal premonition of sorts, she would already have had my breakfast in a sandwich bag. And I am ashamed to say, there were days when that sandwich bag would just remain in the depths of my backpack for days’ end.

Now that I’m a breakfast convert (if you may call it), and have my own little one, I would hate for karma to bite me in the sandwich bag in the future. And that is the reason I am honoured to be an ambassador for the inaugural Rise & Shine, the world’s largest children’s health and developmental expo.

Storytelling 1

nex ambient 1

cook 1

Did you know that 1 in 3 primary school students go without breakfast daily? Neither did I. Alarming, isn’t it? With ambient installations and cooking demonstrations for parents, as well as story-telling sessions and school performances for the little ones, the Rise and Shine team hopes to educate parents and children and inculcate the love for healthy breakfast in children aged 4 – 12. Interested to know more? You can find more information, along with listing of events, and ongoing giveaways on the Rise and Shine Facebook page here. Also, stay tuned for a little surprise next week for my dearest readers!

As part of the Rise and Shine Breakfast Campaign, I had received a nifty breakfast kit, which includes this delicious granola from the talented Sherie of Maameemoomoo, and as much as I would have loved to just dig into it immediately (trust me, it was that good), a parfait sounded more, errr, ladylike.

granola parfait

granola parfait1

Granola Berry Parfait
(serves one)

125 grams (mini tub) low-fat blueberry yoghurt
8 – 10 strawberries sliced
a handful of raw almonds
1 tablespoon dried cranberries
1/2 cup granola

In a tall glass, alternate the layers beginning with strawberries, then yoghurt, then granola.
Finish off with strawberries, almonds, and dried cranberries.

3 thoughts on “Rise & Shine (Recipe: Granola Berry Parfait)

  1. Pingback: Rise & Shine Carnival – A Giveaway! (Recipe: Cranberry Oatmeal Muffins) | :: epicurean escapism ::

Leave a Reply

