From the Mailbox: Making Almond Butter

honey almond butter 1

My mention, and therafter photo, of a jar of homemade honey almond butter on my instagram account yesterday had sparked quite a bit of interest. In fact, enough for (at least) one reader / viewer (?) (Aside: so the right coined term ought to be follower, but it sounds too cult-ish, doncha think?) to attempt it immediately, and drop me a mail with queries. I wasn’t planning on sharing a recipe, but since I had taken (bad) shots of the process, here’s for you, NA, and anyone else having a mine-doesn’t-become-creamy problem.

honey almond butter 2

Depending on the strength of your food processor, roasted almonds take around 10 minutes, while raw almonds take around 15 minutes to break down completely into this lovely nutty spread. So don’t say I didn’t warn you. Once the ground almonds have reached the clumpy ball stage, you can heave a sigh of relief, for it won’t be too long before the doughy mixture releases its natural oils, and your food processor won’t sound like he’s choking anymore. Also, unless your blender has an industrial strength or you’ve used it to grind nuts, I wouldn’t recommend using a blender, as the blades are not as sharp as a food processor’s.

The best part about almond butter for me is its versatility. The add-ins are entirely up to you. I was tempted to stir in mini chocolate chips or melted dark chocolate this time round, but a basic sweet-salty spread pleases everyone, and also acts as the perfect base for dips and even smoothies.

honey almond butter 3

Honey Almond Butter

1 cup roasted almonds (I roasted raw almonds)
1⁄2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon honey

In a food processor, grind the roasted almonds, scraping it down often.
It will go through different stages of breaking down (refer to 2nd photo above), so be patient and have faith!
Once the mixture has released its natural oils and looks creamy, your almond butter’s ready.
Stir in salt and honey. Add more salty/sweet according to your preference.
Transfer to a small jar, and keep refrigerated.

6 thoughts on “From the Mailbox: Making Almond Butter

  1. Rochelle

    I love nut butters! When I first was reading this post I thought about what I’ve heard helps to make it creamier and smooth which is to add some oil (olive, peanut, etc) but I think the honey would do the trick after the allotted time and probably make it have a taste which doesn’t deviate from the original ingredients.

    On a side note, I really want to make some now and spread it all over a nice slice of fresh bread or use to dip apple slices in :D

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Oh yes, I’ve heard about the olive oil tip, and will definitely try it next. I’ve just had almond butter in my green smoothie today, and it was delish!

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      You can try making it in a blender, but it will take a much longer time, coz you’ll need to have breaks in between for the engine to rest. :)

Leave a Reply

