Starting the Day Right [Recipe: Apple-Banana Oat Smoothie]

apple-banana oat smoothie

These days I find myself reaching out for a smoothie almost every other day, albeit not consciously for health reasons as it is for the sheer convenience of it all. My mornings are usually rushed, so when I do find the time to make myself breakfast, or brunch more likely, I try to fix something quick and filling that will tide me over till after lunch hour. While pancake breakfasts are still my favourite, there are days when a perk-me-up needs to come in five minutes or less, and that’s where smoothies come in.

My first homemade smoothie was a blueberry-yoghurt, whizzed in a spur amidst whines of the heatiness and humidity the pregnant me felt one late afternoon. I remember watching the mister try to lick the bottom of his paper cup, and thinking to myself, how could I not have made smoothies sooner! And from then on, as they say, the rest is history. In my case, history involved transitioning to frozen bananas (in place of ice cubes), adding organic rolled oats (for thickener and galactagogue), and enjoying green smoothies (with spinach) once a week.

There really is no need for a recipe actually, but I just thought I’d share one of the easiest smoothies I love. No yoghurt, no additional sugar; just the delicious natural sweetness of fruits, coupled with the creaminess of rolled oats to set you off on a great start to your day.

apple-banana oat smoothie 1

Apple-Banana Oat Smoothie

1 red apple, cored and cut into chunks¹
1 banana, peeled and cut into slices ²
1⁄2 cup rolled oats
1⁄4 to 1⁄2 cup soy milk
3 ice cubes

Combine all the ingredients in a blender, and blend until smooth.
Add more soy milk if you prefer a thinner consistency. Serve immediately.

Notes: ¹ If you are using frozen bananas, you can omit the ice cubes.

3 thoughts on “Starting the Day Right [Recipe: Apple-Banana Oat Smoothie]

  1. the mister

    Oooh… Nomnonom…. I think I might take you up on your smoothie offers one of these days. Uhhh… minus the oats, though!

    Reply
  2. Maryanne

    This was really yummy. I needed something to hold me over so I can move on to making dinner :) I replaced the apple with pear because it’s what I had on hand and added cinnamon. Kids loved it too. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

