A Letter to A Friend [Recipe: Cinnamon Rolls]

cinnamon rolls 1

Dearest friend,

I hope you are doing well right now. I’m sure you’re privy to everyone’s excitement today, and I understand how you must feel a tad slighted and somewhat lost, not unlike a flower having lost her bloom. But I hope you do know that deep in our hearts, you will always be remembered for all the joy and laughter you have brought us, for all the fears you have walked us through, and for all of those times you have stood by us, good and bad.

You sat there watching me grow to be the mother that I am today; a far cry from this exact day ten months ago, carefully cradling my newborn, very much in disbelief of my overnight change in status, tears of joy interlaced with relief and anxiety. Ever so often, in my trying times, you remind me how long and endless the days may seem, but how inevitably short the months and years will fly by. And with that, I hold close and cherish every moment with my loved ones, learning to find my footing again within my repository.

The path laid before me had undeniably taken on a different hue, much to my trepidation; but with unrelenting guidance and support from my loved ones, along with new relationships forged, and the faith in old strengthened, it has become easier to see where my priorities are, and which battles I must choose.

You have stood witness through it all, saw the best and worst in me, and for that, I thank you, 2012. You have been a good friend, and will always be remembered.

With love,
the one with cacophonic (and gastronomic) thoughts

cinnamon rolls 2


Cinnamon Rolls
(adapted from here)

1 cup warm milk
8 grams active dry yeast
2 eggs
1⁄3 cup butter, melted and cooled
3 1⁄2 – 4 cup bread flour
1 teaspoon salt
1⁄2 cup white sugar, divided

For the cinnamon filling:
1 cup brown sugar, packed
2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
1⁄3 cup butter, softened

For the sugar glaze (optional):
1⁄2 powdered sugar
1 tablespoon milk
1 tablespoon melted butter

In a large bowl, dissolve the yeast and 1⁄4 cup white sugar in the warm milk.
Set aside for about 10mins, until it is frothy.
Stir in the eggs, melted butter, salt and the remaining sugar.
Add the flour and knead, until a rough ball of dough is formed.
Place the dough in an oiled bowl, covered with a damp towel.
Leave for 1 hour, or until it has doubled in size.
Punch the dough, and roll it out into a 16×21 inch rectangle on a lightly floured surface.
Mix the brown sugar and cinnamon in a bowl.
Spread butter onto the surface, and sprinkle the brown sugar cinnamon mixture evenly.
Roll up the dough from the longer end, and slice into 12 pieces.
Place rolls in a greased baking pan.
At this point, you can let it rest for 30mins, or bake in a preheated oven at 180°C for 15-20mins.
For the glaze, simply combine the ingredients together, and drizzle over the baked rolls.

8 thoughts on “A Letter to A Friend [Recipe: Cinnamon Rolls]

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Yikes! Sorry to hear that. One of the reasons could be that your butter is melted, not softened. Softened butter is room temperature butter, ie you can press your finger on the block, leaving an indentation, but it’s not liquid. Also, perhaps next time you can try leaving a perimeter around the dough when you’re spreading the filling. Not too sure if that’d help though. I’ve never had this problem before, sorry!

Leave a Reply

