meatless monday: avocado egg salad sandwich

avocado egg sandwich

If you’re new here, you’d be surprised at the seemingly thousand-and-one things I don’t eat. If you’ve already been a long acquaintance here, you would probably know by now my aversion to the seemingly thousand-and-one things. Thankfully though, as mentioned in my previous post, pregnancy and the whole motherhood thang had changed certain aspects in my no-list. As much as the mister had long wished I would miraculously crave for cheese during the 37 weeks, my tastebuds to those icky things still remain status quo. However, my interest had definitely been piqued by several dishes, one of which is the simple egg-mayonnaise sandwich the mister seems to adore.

To be honest, I had never even tried, let alone stopped to wonder what the sandwich consisted of, and only learnt that it simply was what its name suggested during one of those making/packing-the-mister’s-lunch morning. Since mayonnaise falls under the category of dairy products I don’t eat, I decided to give an egg-mayo inspired twist to my usual mashed avocado on toast breakfast recently. I may not know how an egg-mayo sandwich tastes like, but if it’s anything close to this avocado egg salad sandwich, I can certainly understand its nondescript yet comforting(ly delicious) appeal.

avocado egg sandwich 1

Avocado Egg Salad Sandwich
(makes two sandwiches)

1 ripe avocado, mashed
1 egg, boiled and chopped into tiny bits
1 tsp lemon juice
1⁄2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
4 slices of wholemeal bread
a handful of baby spinach

In a bowl, mix together the mashed avocado and egg.
Do not overmix, you want it chunky, not pureed.
Add the lemon juice, salt and pepper till well combined.
To assemble, butter and toast your bread slices, sandwich the avocado egg salad with baby spinach, and cut diagonally into two.

5 thoughts on “meatless monday: avocado egg salad sandwich

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Of course you wouldn’t, you egg-mayo die-hard fan you! No worries, as far as I’m concerned, I won’t force you to eat oats, avocado, and green smoothies, and you leave the cheese off my platter. *hi-fives*

  1. Pingback: Healthy Substitutions In Cooking {Meatless Monday: Creamy Avocado Potato Salad} | :: epicurean escapism ::

Leave a Reply

