of somethings old and new [recipe: teriyaki grilled chicken breast with sauteed portobello mushrooms sandwich]

teriyaki

Gosh, half a year has gone by since my last update here, and I must admit I miss writing more than I had anticipated. I reckon there isn’t any need for me to explain my disappearance, since you would have gathered by the last post (and my instagram feed), that I’m pretty tied up with my now-9 month old daughter. I would’ve imagined no one would drop by this site anymore, and it would slowly just dissipate into one of those has-been blogs floating in the blogosphere, but since my blog stats are still moving (albeit reduced to almost a fifth!), and I had gained some new friends on Instagram looking through the recipes here, I decided it would be best to drop in when I can, and share simple recipes from my every day culinary escapism.

It came up recently in a conversation; how will ovenhaven remain as named, when she is without a, gasp, oven! Yes that’s right, I had lost my trusty decade-old oven to age, and baking anything larger than a 5 or 6-inch is merely a sweet memory for now. In its place though, I have been experimenting baking using the Philips airfryer, and while it definitely needed some getting used to, particularly with regard to temperature adjustments, I have had successes with ‘baked’ muffins, mini cakes and even bread pudding. Hence, fret not, my friends, for I shall still be sharing some baking recipes now and then (for regular ovens, as well as airfryers), along with kitchen trials and trusty simple go-to recipes like this teriyaki grilled chicken breast sandwich I never seem to tire of.

Teriyaki Grilled Chicken Breast with Sautéed Portobello Mushrooms Sandwich

Teriyaki Grilled Chicken:
3 pieces chicken breast •
4 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons honey (or brown sugar)
2 cloves of garlic, grated
about a pinch of grated ginger (optional)

Combine all of the seasonings together in a bowl, and marinate the chicken pieces for at least 20 mins. Preheat your grill pan, and grill the chicken breasts one side at a time, using the leftover marinate for basting. Once both sides have grilled, pour any leftover marinate over the chicken. It will bubble up profusely, and coat the chicken pieces with the thickened sauce. Remove from heat.

You may need less or more of the marinate, depending on the size of the chicken. Just keep the amount to be 2 parts soy sauce to 1 part honey

Sautéed Portobello Mushrooms:
5-6 portobello mushrooms (depending on size)
2 tablespoons butter
ground black pepper

Wipe the mushrooms with a damp napkin, and proceed to prepare the mushrooms. Trim the stems, and remove the gills off the mushrooms, using a spoon to scoop off the gills. Slice the mushrooms thinly, and set aside. Heat your pan, then add in the butter, along with the mushrooms, and ground black pepper. Stir to combine. Leave the mushrooms to cook, until their moisture is released and reabsorbed. Remove from heat, and serve on top of the teriyaki grilled chicken.

To assemble:

Toast the sandwich bread of your choice (I used focaccia), sliced open into half. On the bottom half, arrange your greens (I used tomatoes and baby spinach), and place your grilled chicken breast. Pour over any leftover teriyaki sauce from the pan. Spoon over the sautéed portobello mushrooms, and cover with the other half.

6 thoughts on “of somethings old and new [recipe: teriyaki grilled chicken breast with sauteed portobello mushrooms sandwich]

  1. the mister!

    Whoa! Been a while!

    Love the new template! Hehe… Don’t worry, luv, we’ll get an oven for the new house! A big, spiffy, shiny one!

    Reply
  2. Ilyana

    That looks soooo good, I was drooling over it on Instagram the other day! I love that you’re a hands-on mom and that you prioritise your baby’s needs over (almost) everything else which is just the right thing to do in my books. Not that I’m a mother but I think you make an excellent one and I am looking forward to more entries from you no matter how sparing they may be ;D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

