hello, you [recipe: apple raisin bread pudding]

Have you ever experienced one of those moments when you can almost literally feel your repository filled to the brim with ecstatic emotions clearly indescribable through mere adjectives, yet you constantly attempt to compose yourself, with reminders never to allow those emotions to overflow, lest peering eyes and latent ears shatter you with nondescript nonchalance? Well, that was what I had been going through for almost a year now, treading ever so meticulously on eggshells, only dropping subtle hints here and there in the last few months.

I guess what I’m trying to say in a very verbose and redundantly lengthy manner is that I had been keeping a secret from you, my dearest readers. Even though my twitter and instagram followers had been privy to this piece of news, I have come to realise that I owe my readers;- who had been patiently dropping in every day even though my last entry was 4 months ago;- an explanation for my absence. For I have only found the time now to share with you, that 3 months ago, I had received the most perfect gift, or as a reader had aptly put it, “the best thing to come out from Ovenhaven’s oven”;– yes people, I am now a mommy.

As any new mom can attest, these past months had been nothing short of an adventure. I am still baking, or more aptly rushing anything that takes under an hour, squeezing time in between feeds, while Baby A naps or plays with the mister, but most of my days are spent right next to her (at times literally doing nothing!), and in all honesty, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I will try to drop a few words in now and then, but baking plus photographing plus editing plus blogging all in one day, or two for that matter, seem quite an ambitious act, so if you want a snippet of my new life, feel free to follow me on twitter, and instagram, under my username ‘ovenhaven’.

And so I leave you with this humble apple raisin bread pudding, an effortless bake, yet has the lulling comfort of pillowy pudding and the surprise burst of cinnamon apples.

Apple Raisin Bread Pudding

1 1⁄2 cups milk
1⁄2 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1⁄4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
6 raisin buns, cut into cubes or just torn up roughly ¹
1 Royal Gala apple, peeled, cored and diced into large chunks

Preheat oven to 170°C. Whisk the milk, brown sugar, eggs, and cinnamon together.
Stir in the bread cubes, as well as the apple chunks, making sure that the bread gets soaked.
Set aside for 5-10mins for it to be fully absorbed.
Scoop the mixture into a baking dish, and bake for about 35 minutes.

¹ If you don’t have raisin buns, you may use about 7 slices of stale bread, and add in about ½ cup of plump raisins

11 thoughts on “hello, you [recipe: apple raisin bread pudding]

  1. Rathai

    Well, WOW! Congratulations on becoming a mother! I found your blog sometime back and added it to my food blog roll but wondered many times why you hadn’t updated your blog for so long. Great to see a post from you and I love the recipe! Bread pudding is on my to do list.

    Reply
  2. lynnette

    This looks fantastic! :D And pretty easy to bake too. I can’t wait to try it out. Thanks for sharing!

    And congrats on becoming a mum! X) It’s awesome that you’re able to do all this stuff concurrently.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

