a quick fix for a long wait [recipe: chocolate madeleines]

‘Do you really have to turn everything into chocolate?’;– well, as a matter of fact, I don’t, but for all intents and purposes, I absolutely find it much too difficult to resist not to. Not that I had ever tried hard enough, I must accede. And having had worked on quite a bit of brownie orders over the past week (and not having any leftovers) certainly didn’t help with the chocolate craving, though it probably explains my bake-anything-chocolate-but-brownies specification. I wanted something with a deep chocolate flavour, yet light, and not overwhelmed by copious amount of chocolate filling or frosting. Most importantly, I wanted it fast.

And thus, my nifty and tiny 2-dollar madeleine pans (which I had purchased long ago, and completely forgotten about) came to the rescue that afternoon. Along with a recipe I had bookmarked even way before the madeleine pans came into the picture. Enthusiastic, yes?

You see, I have quite a soft spot for madeleines, but had always put off purchasing madeleine pans here thanks to the exorbitant prices, and have even succumbed to baking them in a most blasphemous yet unarguably adorable form of mini loaves. And though the taste brought me a step closer to home-baked madeleines, one can’t deny that where macarons have the much-lusted feet, and brownies have the much-adored thin crackly crust, madeleines steal the hearts of many with their elegant shell shapes and whimsical humps.

Unfortunately, as much as I was satiated with a chocolate fix that took barely half an hour from start to finish, and was assured that an inexpensive pan could hold its ground standing on the shoulders of classy giants, these chocolate madeleines didn’t quite make the cut for me on the texture front. Whilst they tasted great, and were undoubtedly easy to make, I found them more akin to mini cakelets, as of baking your favourite (cup)cake recipe in madeleine moulds, as opposed to having the spongey, slightly buttery, [almost kuih bahulu-esque] moist texture with the crisp exterior I’m more familiar with in madeleines. Perhaps a short hibernation in the refrigerator, as is usually called for in madeleine recipes, would do the trick. Perhaps I should have gone against my chocoholic guts and stuck to familiar terrains, and opted for a buttery batch of traditional plain madeleines instead. Or perhaps I should just be happy to have found the perfect light addictive snack to dunk into my mug of Milo on a late afternoon.

Chocolate Madeleines
(adapted from Donna Hay Chocolate; makes 12)

60 grams butter, melted and cooled
2 eggs
1⁄3 cup superfine caster sugar
1⁄3 cup plain flour
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 180°C (350°F).
In a bowl, whisk the sugar and eggs together until light and fluffy.
In another bowl, sift flour, cocoa powder, and baking powder.
Add the dry mixture to the wet mixture, and fold through with the melted butter to combine.
Spoon the batter into greased madeleine pans, and bake for about 10 minutes, or until the madeleines are set.
Serve plain, dusted with powdered sugar, or drizzled with chocolate ganache.

31 thoughts on “a quick fix for a long wait [recipe: chocolate madeleines]

  1. the mister

    Oooh! Reallyyyy nice photos! :D

    Poco says that the next time you bake these, he’s gonna swipe some ninja-style… :D

    Reply
  2. thecoffeesnob

    I faced the same dilemma you did with the madeleine pans and resorted to getting individual little moulds from a baking store in Chinatown. They’re a little more finicky to grease and flour but does the job just fine (and at a much cheaper price too!).

    I’ve actually never had a store-bought madeleine so I have nothing to compare them against but I always thought they were supposed to be little cakes with a slightly crisp crust and an adorable hump.

    Madeleines seem to be making their rounds round the blogosphere again- yours is the second or third I’ve seen just this week alone- and that can only be a wonderful thing :)

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      thefooddoctor: Thanks! Unfortunately, it’s the deep chocolate colour that always makes it difficult for me to photograph! :P

      thecoffeesnob: Oh really? That’s great news; I can try out more madeleine recipes then! Ah, I’ve only ever tried store-bought butter madeleines, so they set the bar on buttery goodness. For me, apart from the appearance, I love madeleines for their tight crumb, something that this recipe lacks a tad of.

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      mynakedlunch: Hahaha! That literally made me LOL :P Hope to catch up with you soon :)

      Mallika: It was addictive, to say the least :P Thanks for dropping by!

  3. percicilan

    ok chope,
    firstly, big mistake again to visit here while fasting. nasib baik bukak page ni tengah tunggu azan nak buka.. :p
    secondly, you can’t take milk and cheese right? chocolates ok for you? sebab chocolate also mostly contain milk, no?

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Haha, I was recipe-hunting while fasting earlier today too; bad mistake! :P With regard to dairy, I’m not entirely lactose-intolerant. I just can’t take dairy in its purer form, like whole milk, cheese, cream. Tapi chocolate, yoghurt boleh! :P

  4. zurin

    They look absolutely chocolatey.. I needed a chocolate fix today after looking at a friends foto of a decadent chocolate cake she made and now THIS! O my. …beautiful….we have chocolate in common :) my first love..true..:))

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      zurin: Hehehe! You’re too adorable :P Chocolate-lovers unite!

      Patricia Scarpin: Thanks, Pat! There’s always an understated elegance to madeleines, aren’t there? :)

  5. Sasha @ The Procrastobaker

    Ive never made, nor commented on, a madeleine recipe, but simply HAD to comment on these to tell you how utterly delicious they look! Ive never really been tempted to invest in a madeleine tin before now, but i might just have to buy one just so i can try out this recipe. It looks so easy and they are beautiful! Spesh with your simple decorations. Lovely recipe, thank you :)

    Reply
  6. Judy

    where did you get that pan? that’s so cute! i have the regular ones (non-stick)… it’s the miniature madeleine pan which i love!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Sasha: Awww, aren’t you a sweetie! Thanks for dropping by, and leaving a note :) You should get that madeleine tin soon!

      Judy: I got them at the local $2 Japanese store here!

  7. oneordinaryday

    THese look wonderful. My daughter would die of happiness if I “turned everything into chocolate!” : )

    Reply
  8. apaler1

    These look so delicious! I like to turn everything into chocolate too. Well, not everything, because that sounds like some terrible spin-off of the King Midas story. How about I like to turn everything edible and sweet into chocolate?

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      oneordinaryday: Haha, your daughter sounds like she belongs to my camp! :P

      thedrivencook: Glad you share my sentiments!

      apaler1: Ahhh, that would be more appropriate and yummy to boot ;)

  9. Hannah

    I don’t have a madeleine pan. I doubt I can find a $2 one like you have! But it’s okay, I’ve had my fill after gazing through your delicious photos!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Avanika: You should get a madeleine pan soon, sweetie! :)

      Hannah: Hehe! It took me awhile to find this pan actually. They were always sold out!

      fuzzygreenlights: Faiz! I’m fine, Alhamdulillah :) Hope you’re having a great Ramadhan, sweetz!

  10. Hopless at baking

    Hi there! Really nice blog you have. Would like to know what is the actual measurement when a recipe says to use 1 1/2 cups of flour. What kind of cup is a benchmark? And if translated to grams, would u know how much 1 1/2 cups would be???

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      The cup used is the set of measuring cups for baking. If you’re in Singapore, you can easily get them from any baking store (Phoon Huat, ToTT), or Ikea (it looks like this). In terms of converting from cups to grams, different ingredients would weigh differently in grams, so it’s best to refer to the list here.

      Hope that helps! :)

Leave a Reply

