putting a notion into action [recipe: chocolate malteser cake]

It has always been said, and is a proven fact, I do believe, that you are the company you keep, possibly pivoting on the simple notion of attracting people of similar energy as to that which you project into the universe. Now, if the Law of Attraction is anything to go by, then I must surely have had sent out chocoholic vibes incessantly, because ever since I  posted the left photo from the above diptych into my little Twitter universe, numerous chocoholics (loud-and-proud and closet ones alike) openly declared their support and pledged allegiance towards the same cocoa cause. Whilst I may be far from the journey to converting my household to like chocolate, let alone embrace chocolate addiction;– to be perfectly honest, I don’t even know why I bother, since it just spells a greater share for me;– it is most certainly reassuring to know I’m not the only one with a penchant for this dark beauty.

And since I pretty much decided to bake my own birthday cake this year, there was no doubt in my mind that it had to be somewhere along the lines of chocolate on chocolate with chocolate, plus more chocolate. 

Never mind the fact that I didn’t have the time to bake this on the actual day of my birthday, something this decadent and overloaded with chocolate was well worth a belated birthday treat. Or more aptly, it clearly fits the bill for making the once-a-year cut, the one where you justify over-indulgence of any gastronomical form. I adapted the recipe from two books, one for the cake layers, and the other for its much-raved icing. While I found the icing much too sweet for my liking, especially coupled with the [admittedly greedy and] generous Malteser decoration, the malt flavour of the icing came through and complemented the cake perfectly.

Question here is, did this cake set the Law of Attraction in motion, and convert my household to chocoholics? No; if anything, it merely propagates their dissent. But will it bring about fellow chocolate-lovers in unison, pledging unflinching acquiescence to the darker and sweeter side of life? Ohhhh yes.

Chocolate Malteser Cake
(adapted from Valerie Barrett’s Cakes Galore & Nigella Lawson’s Feast)

For the cake:
225g butter
225g castor sugar
80g malted milk powder
50g cocoa powder
4 eggs
200g self-raising flour
4 tbsp milk

For the icing:
250g powdered sugar
1 teaspoon cocoa powder
45g malted milk powder
125g softened butter
2 tablespoons boiling water
1 packet Maltesers, halved

Preheat the oven to 180C. Grease and line two 20cm round cake tins.
Cream the butter and sugar until blended. Add the malted milk powder, cocoa powder, eggs, flour and milk, and beat together until smooth and creamy.
Divide the mixture evenly between the prepared tins, and bake for about 30mins, or until well risen and firm to the touch. Cool in the tin for a few minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

To make the icing, blend the boiling water, malted milk powder and cocoa powder together in a bowl, then set aside to cool. In a separate bowl, beat the butter and half of the powdered sugar together until creamy, then add the remaining powdered sugar and the cocoa mixture until well blended. Sandwich the two cakes together with half of the icing, then spread the remaining icing over the top. Decorate with Maltesers around the sides of the cake.

46 thoughts on “putting a notion into action [recipe: chocolate malteser cake]

  1. the mister

    Man, was that ever a happy happy birthday cake!

    Chocolate upon chocolate upon chocolate… :D

    (I still think that the insides of the Malteser look like glorious cheese!)

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Oh man, do you really have to?? I still have one packet of Malts left, and now I’m gonna see them as chocolate-covered cheese balls. Ewww.

  2. Ellie @ Kitchen Wench

    Looks fantastic! The Malteser cake has been on my “to do” list for awhile! I do have to say that I’m impressed you went to the effort of halving all those maltesers for decoration, though it looks like it would’ve been a long time to do! :P

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Nicole: Thanks! You should definitely pursue that craving right now :P

      Ellie: It took quite a bit, but was really enjoyable, since I got to eat the maltesers that threatened to drop off :P You should definitely make the malteser cake already; it’s been on my list, along with the root beer bundt cake, and I foresee me trying the latter out real soon!

  3. shaffy

    i could have gotten zapped. cos i was like *this* close to licking the cake on my lappie’s screen! testing this out in my culinary (cheh!) lab will seriously sidetrack my diet plans. but that’s the price i’ll gladly pay. hurhurhur… and perhaps use nutella buttercream for the frosting instead? instant heaven!!

    excuse me while i go and attach a bib. this drooling is proving to be so unglamorous! ;P

    btw: your recipes are always simple and straightforward, but always, always hits the right spot!! thanks, sweets!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  4. The Dinner Belle

    I practically grew up with maltesers and this looks insanely, insanely, good. First time I’ve come across something as unique as this cake…so I’m definitely bookmarking this for future reference :) thank you!!

    Reply
  5. Vivienne

    can i just say, this pretty much looks PERFECT?! wow wow!!!

    the icing, the deco, everything…the dark rich choc colour….my birthday is next week, can you send one over for me pretty please? :P

    in reality it looks like ill have to make my own bday cake this year too….should be fun..and hope it’s as successful as yours!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      shaffy: Hahaha, you’re hilarious! Am glad to hear you’re enjoying my blog, sweetie :) And mmmmm nutella buttercream would definitely spell instant hit in my books!

      The Dinner Belle: You can’t go wrong growing up with Maltesers! Hope you’ll find the time to make this :)

      Vivienne: Would love to send a piece to you! Can’t wait to have a look at your birthday cake. I bet it’d be more awesome!

  6. teanoir

    This is my dream cake right thar! So since I last asked you about the state of your cake, how many slices are there left hun? ;p
    Also, thank you so much for posting the recipe! I have no excuses not to bake it now :)

    Reply
  7. Maya

    IT LOOKS STUPENDOUSLY PERFECT! I love how flawless your cakes are! And the maltesers are so cleanly halved!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      teanoir: Haha, I believe the answer is none! :P And yes, go go go bake it! Or at least something scrumptiously decadent for your upcoming birthday as well :)

      lyemoon: Hello Malteser’s lover! :P Malted milk powder’s any malt powder like Horlicks or Milo; I used the latter.

      Maya: Awww thanks, doll! :) But not flawless lah, I still can’t deal with piping words, unlike you, miss perfect writing you ;)

  8. Ju

    Oh Z, you’re killing me … malt-anything and I am in. The cake looks HEAVENLY! Absolutely beautiful. Happy belated birthday, too! I hope you had a wonderful day. :)

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Singapore Hijab Girl ♥!

  10. blisschic

    i HEART HEART HEART malteses! never ever thought of using them in a chocolate cake recipe but yours seems like a fantastic idea. I want to dig into it NOW! :P

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      You should give it a try! I still have some maltesers left, and will use them in another bake, so look out for that ;)

  11. Pingback: Lord, that’s good people | Metro(poetry)lis

  12. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday - Plate4Eight

  13. Rose

    Hello, this cake looks super yummy! I only have one cake tin, so I’m thinking of cutting the cake horizontally into half. Do you know how much the cake will rise? =) Thanks!!

    Reply
  14. Cynthia

    MMM mines in the oven cooking right now… i put it in a square tin and all the mix so l will cut it in half.. Its hubbys bday tonight and his favourite thing in the world is Maltesers. Apart from me and our 2 beautiful daughters…:)

    Reply
  15. Pingback: Loving right now – Mother’s Day ideas and inspiration | Kerry Cooks

  16. Pingback: chocolate malteser cake | joy she cooks.

  17. Pingback: Loving right now - Mother's Day ideas and inspiration*% Kerry Cooks

Leave a Reply

