oh, ye dessert people! [recipe: chewy mixed chips oatmeal cookies]

I’m not entirely sure if a ‘dessert person’ is merely a dessert person, thereby grouping all the always-have-room-for-dessert people together, or there are actually sub-categories to identify sweet-toothed people with respective inclinations. You see, I unabashedly admit to having a sweet tooth, which one can easily gather from my posts, of course. And regardless of how appetising and scrumptiously filling a several-course meal may be, I will always have room for dessert. But it only recently crossed my mind that I may not have exactly been the dessert person I reckoned I was, after finding myself somewhat dumbfounded, flipping through the menu of a local restaurant boasting a much-raved array of desserts flown in directly from the States, only to have me thinking ‘Can’t I have just a plain ‘ol slice of brownie with a scoop of ice-cream?’. And you would think that the chocoholic in me would have been easily appeased by the tantalising slices of chocolate cakes sitting by the counter, but no;– urgh cheese, too much cream, there’s coffee in that one, yuck cherries. It was then that I came to the conclusion that perhaps I was not so much a dessert person as I am a brownies-for-dessert person.

The mister, on the other hand, almost always never has room for dessert. He would echo my gratitude after having had a filling meal, vehemently declining dessert, but would know me well enough to pop by any ice-cream stand immediately thereafter, to order for one.  I remember one of the defining moments in our relationship to be his nonchalant ‘I don’t really eat cakes’ reply when asked what he would like for his birthday, to which I assumed followed a specific preference, only to realise ‘Awww man, dude don’t like no cake!’. But throw some cookies his way, and bake a birthday cookie cake in exchange, and all is forgiven. And judging from the speed at which this won’t-eat-oatmeal-even-if-you-dangled-batmobile-over-it cookie monster of mine gobbled down these chewy oatmeal cookies, I’m guessing if dessert menus began offering chewy cookies, he would probably start leaving room for dessert as well.

What type of dessert person are you? Will any dessert do, or do you find yourself subconsciously looking out for something specific in the menu?

Chewy Mixed Chips Oatmeal Cookies
(adapted from here)

1⁄4 cup sugar
1⁄2 cup brown sugar
3⁄4 cup oil
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 egg
1 cup flour
1 cup rolled oats
1 tsp baking powder
1⁄3 cup chocolate chips
1⁄3 cup cinnamon chips

  1. Preheat oven to 190°C.
  2. Combine the sugars, oil, egg, and vanilla in a large bowl and mix till thoroughly combined.
  3. In a separate smaller bowl, combine the flour, oats, and baking powder.
  4. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet, and then fold in the chocolate and cinnamon chips.
  5. Drop scoops / tablespoonfuls of dough (they expand, so don’t drop too large a dough) onto a parchment-lined baking sheet. Bake for about 12 mins, or until the edges brown slightly. Leave to cool in the pan for a minute or two, then move to a rack to cool completely.
22 thoughts on “oh, ye dessert people! [recipe: chewy mixed chips oatmeal cookies]

  1. the mister

    Yeah man… These are tricky lil mooties! They throw my whole ‘oatmeal bleargh’ outta whack!

    But these are really good, dear! I say proudly, “Mrs Field’s eat yer heart out!” :D

    Reply
  2. thecoffeesnob

    My boyfriend and I are exactly the same way- I’m more of a cookie person (hello, peanut butter cookies from Subway!) rather than a dessert person and the boyfriend’s not quite one for desserts too but is always happy to accept a cookie when offered his way!

    Much as I do enjoy the occasional slice of brownie or cake, I steer clear of buying them because they, more often than not, tend to be dry and flavourless. Oh, the perils of knowing how to make your own dessert! :)

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      I know exactly what you mean! I’m particular about my brownies, but I can’t resist purchasing them to decipher the ingredients, or try out flavour combinations for me to try in my own kitchen (I love cranberry brownies!) :P

  3. crustabakes

    what great looking chewies u got! I am definitely a dessert person too, and i look for something specific instead of settling for any dessert! LOL

    Reply
  4. happygrub

    I’m a sucker for oatmeal raisin cookies, this combination looks so goood as well!

    Btw, I’m going to be on leave next week n I wanna pass u the thing i bought u fm the uk n erm, ur wedding gift, heehee better late than never rite ?? Can meet somewhere town or somewhere less crowded perhaps?

    Reply
  5. Amanda

    Wow, an interesting recipe to use oil instead of butter!

    Where do you get your cinnamon chips? I can never find them!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      happygrub: As strange as it sounds, while I love raisins on their own, I can never quite wrap my palate around dishes/bakes containing raisins. I even take them out from those kenduri / Hari Raya nasi! As for the meet-up, I’ll drop you a mail soon :)

      Amanda: That’s what caught my attention as well! Simply because I was lazy, and can’t be bothered with the creaming method :P I’m not sure where you’re based at, but here in Singapore I got mine from the Hershey’s store :)

  6. Vivienne

    id be so happy with these cookies for dessert tonight! they look divine….oats + choc = win!
    a meal without dessert feels incomplete for me for sure….and i cant have the same desserts all the time too…such picky eater ;)

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Desserts are definitely a must to lend a meal its just-deserved sweet ending, aren’t they? It’s funny how I’ve always enjoyed chocolate chip granola bars, but have never really thought of adding chocolate to my oatmeal cookies :P

  7. Bandit

    These were sooo quick to make, and i didnt have to use my stand mixer :) I’ve never made cookies with oil and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Thank you for the great recipe, perfect for when you dont have all night to spend baking!

    Reply
  8. Corsage

    Thank you for the Twitter follow! Thanks too for sharing this recipe – I have been baking an adapted version and wrote about it on my blog! I only started baking properly this year and look forward to learning more about it from experienced bakers like yoursef :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

