somewhere between here and there


Things had been pretty hectic over on my end, and I can only imagine it becoming busier with each week inching closer to the day. As of this moment, it is just weeks to go, but with the mister needing to serve the nation a week prior to the wedding, there are lots of loose strings awaiting to be tied within a shorter period of time. The past week or so had seen me playing the role of a postman, or a postlady if you so prefer, writing and sending out invites either through the mailbox, or personally. The best part about sending out invites;– that is, after conjuring what ever little memory you have of your guestlist and re-writing it for the second time after having had misplaced the first;– is receiving all the sincere reactions, along with the thrill of rekindling old ties and making new ones. It’s amazing how within the span of just a week, I’ve met up with old friends from my teenage years, caught up with a close partner-in-crime from my varsity days, as well as fixed a blind date of sorts with some of my dearest blog / Twitter friends whom I’ve never met prior to this. Along with some wedding shopping and final selection of outfits, you could say things had been very much happily hectic.

How did you two meet? How long have you been together? Where are you heading for your honeymoon? What will you be wearing on the big day? ;– those are just some of the many reactions I get from friends upon hearing the big news, amidst the smiles, hugs and congratulatory wishes. Whilst most of the questions were fairly run-off-the-mill, what really struck me was how everyone, or at the very least the ladies I’ve spoken to, appeared to have a specific idea of how a wedding should look like, should taste like, and should sound like. You can almost see it in their eyes that as they tear open the wedding invite, hearing you speak of your own wedding colours and arrangements, that they are picturing a glimpse of their very own, anticipating the sheer excitement of months of preparations. And it is these very small moments that serve as a reminder for me that a wedding, after all of its hard work and meticulous effort put in, is but merely the distinctly intricate and lovely packaging carefully encasing the decadently delicious treat of a marriage, a product of the right ingredients carefully chosen to suit the palates of two specific individuals. And just like the feedback I’ve read on these Nigella’s chocolate brownies;– some found them perfectly fudgy, while others found them much too gooey; some needed to tamper with the baking temperature and duration, while others didn’t care for modifications and fretted over the texture;– everyone has their own idea of the perfect brownies, and regardless of how picture-perfect the paper-thin crust on these brownies looked, what’s most important is that their taste and texture are to your own liking, even if no one else agrees with you. And for me, that just spells fudgy, no nuts, and with Oreos, please.

Oreo Chocolate Brownies
(adapted from Nigella Lawson’s How to Be A Domestic Goddess; makes 16 squares)

185 grams butter
185 grams couverture chocolate
3 eggs
200 grams sugar
112 grams flour
about 12 – 14 Oreo biscuits, chopped roughly

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C, and grease / line an 8-inch square baking pan with baking paper or foil.
  2. Melt the chocolate and butter in a large saucepan. Leave aside to cool.
  3. In a bowl, beat the eggs with sugar. Add into the chocolate mixture, and beat well.
  4. Fold in flour, then add in Oreo chunks.
  5. Bake for about 20-25 mins¹, or until the surface has become a pale brown, and a skewer inserted in the middle would come out with moist crumbs.

¹The baking time depends on your preference. At 25 mins, mine were fudgy but the middle pieces were a lil squishy/gooey (NOT runny!). They dry out the longer you store them, so as always, don’t overbake.


56 thoughts on “somewhere between here and there

  1. the mister

    Ooooh… when it’s wrapped like that it makes it look like you sell it by the kati… :D

    (Alternatively it looks like it’s one of those ‘special’ brownies, but we won’t get into that…. Hehe…)

    WOOHOOO! It’s coming soon! :D

    Can’t wait, luv!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      If sell by kati, tu mesti ada lesen! Jual candu ada lesen, jual blachan ada lesen, jual brownies pun ada lesennn… :P

      And woootz, I can’t wait too! May the journey be paved with good memories and great love :)

  2. Alison

    Life sounds exciting for you at this point! Well, I don’t have any questions, just happy for you and hope you’ll enjoy yourself throughout the period! These brownies look delicious! :)

    Reply
  3. dramamama

    Salam. Congrats on your upcoming wedding. And am glad to see you are having a good time planning it. Unlike when the husband and I were planning our wedding – it felt surreal and at times painful having to deal with our parents’ and well-meaning relatives. Anyhow, we’ve been married 14 years now and enjoying every minute of it, alhamdulillah. Best wishes to the two of you!

    PS: Those brownies look wicked – very detrimental to my diet!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      dramamama: [Hehe, love your nick!] Thank you for the wish :) I’ve heard quite similar stories around me, and I guess that’s where all my married friends’ wishes of ‘Have fun preparing, don’t stress!’ come in. While it is true that a wedding is a once-in-a-lifetime affair, marriage is for life, and all those naysayers and a-lil-too-helpful relatives won’t be there to intervene, so it’s a blessing that you’re loving every minute of married life :) Here’s to many more years of love, joy and faith to you and your hubby! :D

      Wei-Wei: Brownies for charity sounds like a perfect idea! No one can resist a good ol’ brownie :)

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      MIRA: Thank you :)

      kangli: Hehe, thanks sweetie! :)

      Avanika: Oreos certainly does! They’re like Nutella’s sidekick or something, with a mission to make the world a better place :P My big day’s just weeks away :)

  4. thecoffeesnob

    Ooh these brownies look incredibly decadent- the addition of Oreos is just gliding the lily!

    A huge congratulations to you, babe, and the Mister- apologies once again I won’t be able to make it!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Taz: Hehe thanks! :)

      thecoffeesnob: Can’t go wrong with Oreos! And it’s okay, doll. We’ll do lunch once I’ve settled down :)

  5. wirinna

    Congrats on your upcoming wedding! I guess very soon, you’ll have posts on cooking daily dishes instead of baking treats….hehe. :)

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      wirinna: Thanks, sweetie! And errrm we’ll talk about the cooking once I’ve crossed that bridge :P

      mrsplainjune: Oh dear! I hate it when that happens to me as well. Dari tak cukup masak, in the end increase punya increase terus ter-overbake. Sorry to hear about it, sweetie! The right timing unfortunately is the make-or-break when it comes to brownies.

  6. crustabakes

    “some found them perfectly fudgy, while others found them much too gooey”
    I wouldnt mind me some gooey problem. These look wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      maya: Thanks, sweetie! I hope to be able to share some shots once I get them :)

      crustabakes: Not a problem, hope you’ll like it! :)

  7. janemaynard

    we featured this post on FoodPress.com today – your photos were lovely, and the brownies look scrumptious! :)

    Reply
  8. !Legato

    Oh, my goodness, they look delicious! I love gooey brownies, so I think I’m going to have to try them.

    Since I got married almost six months ago, I’ve been to 3 weddings, each one reminding me again and again of my own, while each one standing out uniquely in my memory. Weddings are like the beautiful wrapping of a loving gift or, in this case, treat! I love the metaphor. Thank you!

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Oreo + White Chocolate + Butter = Divine smells from oven « A Blond Asians Road to Healthier Living

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      I’m not sure where you’re based, but if you’re in SG, you can get it at Phoon Huat. Alternatively, feel free to use any chocolate you prefer :)

  10. thediplomaticwife

    Wow I would love love love to try this recipe out! Gorgeous pictures too! Unfortunately I don’t think I can find couverture chocolate here in Jakarta. To substitute, can I use compound chocolate, milk chocolate or semi-sweet?

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi there, you could use any chocolate you’d prefer, but I’d either go for one with a higher cocoa content, or semi-sweet. If you’re using milk chocolate, be sure to reduce the sugar content in the recipe, lest it be too sweet. Thanks for dropping by!

  11. Pingback: blue « 1911

  12. Pingback: Oreo Chocolate Brownies | What's in the Oven?

Leave a Reply

