comforting gold


If I were to be away for just a little while (yes, even in a hypothetical world I can’t imagine being torn from home for far too long), I would love to be welcomed home with a plate of this unassuming dessert upon my return. Nothing too decadent nor rich, nothing too complicated nor extravagant, just a small round ball of dough cooked gently over the stove, its flavour and iridescent shade drawn from the humble simmering of golden syrup.

Who would’ve thought comfort came from within a squeezy jar?

I have to admit I had never heard of golden syrup dumplings till now. Having said that, however, it is easy to relate to descriptions of them being one of the easiest comfort desserts in Australia, conjuring memories of an old grandmama concocting a quick morning treat for her visiting grandchildren. Minimal effort went into the preparation of these dumplings, and with most of the cooking time spent waiting, I wasn’t expecting much at all, and was pleasantly surprised at how light yet filling these were.

Now I may not be an Aussie grandma, nor do I have one, but these definitely rank up there in the list of comfort foods for me.

Golden Syrup Dumplings
(adapted from Australian Women’s Weekly Old-Fashioned Favorites)

1 1/4 cups self-raising flour
30g butter
1/3 cup golden syrup
1/3 cup milk

Sauce:
30g butter
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup golden syrup
1 2/3 cup water

  1. Sift flour into medium bowl. Rub in butter. Gradually stir in golden syrup and milk. Set aside.
  2. To make the sauce, combine all ingredients in a medium saucepan. Stir over heat, without boiling, until sugar dissolves. Bring to a boil, without stirring. Reduce heat, simmer, uncovered for 5mins.
  3. Drop rounded tablespoonfuls of dough mixture into the simmering sauce. Simmer covered for about 20mins. Serve dumplings with sauce alone, or with a scoop of ice-cream.
24 thoughts on “comforting gold

  1. the mister

    Whoa! That looks like jemput-jemput slathered in maple syrup! Hehe…

    I love your photos, dear! They make everything look so yummylicious! :D

    Reply
  2. overconcerned

    Is there anything better than gooey, warm, sweet golden syrup? I mean, seriously. Read the name. “Gol-den- syrup.” GOLD, MAN, GOLD!

    (Oh, yum. I’m just dying over here.)

    Wei-Wei

    Reply
  3. pietro

    We used to have these as kids in Melbourne. They were so popular mum always had to make double-quantity.

    Reply
  4. pietro

    I should add, mum always said the secret of light dumplings was that the batter should be of “dropping” consistency.

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    the mister: Thanks, love! Eh yah eh, they look like jemput2. But the chocolate scones I made today look more like jemput2 pisang! My mother asked if they were :P

    overconcerned: I actually bought the bottle of golden syrup on impulse, and had no idea what to do with it. Thank goodness for these dumplings! Now they’re gonna be my default what-to-do-with-golden-syrup recipe :P

    pietro: Ah, thanks for the tip! I’ll bear that in mind the next time I give them a go.

    Reply
  6. grace

    oh my. anyone in her right mind would race home if this was awaiting her! what a delectable treat, and so photogenic! nice work. :)

    Reply
  7. budafist

    Oh my goodness! I’m going to make these for dessert tonight. They look amazing. I’m thinking of halving the recipe for 2 people? How many mouths does your recipe serve?

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    felicia: That’d be one yummy rainbow, I bet!

    Sarah: *hands dear Sarah a hankie* Hehe :P

    budafist: Thanks for dropping by, budafist! The recipe serves about 4-5 persons, so you could halve it :)

    19thmayflower: Hehe, you’re a fan of nuts aren’t you! I reckon you could :)

    Reply
  9. ingrid

    This sounds really interesting. I’m intrigued. I even have some lyle’s golden syrup. Gonna have to give it a try. Thanks for passing along the recipe!
    ~ingrid

    Reply

Leave a Reply

