not for the flour nazi

You could say I’ve been on quite a bit of a wholemeal journey as of late. Now before you start rolling your eyes and classifying me as a pseudo-health-blog-wannabe, as much as I accede I try cutting healthier corners when I can, I’ve begun to really fall in love with the hearty, nutty and rustic flavour of wholemeal. There is a Malay saying that goes “tak kenal, maka tak cinta”, which loosely means if you don’t acquaint yourself with it, you can’t possibly love it. And such is my relationship with wholemeal, of whom my initial perception was somewhere along the lines of insipid, lackluster blandness, and by that I’m referring to the few times I actually didn’t conveniently gloss over anything with the word ‘wholemeal’ in cafes and bakeries.

Having tried wholemeal in muffins, loaf cakes and even brownies, I must say that the texture and depth it lends to each bake has definitely won me over. Though the same can’t be said for my mother who somehow always manages to detect the faintest smidgen of wholemeal (aside: I’m beginning to understand how it feels like in her shoes, sneaking vegetables or variations of red meat on my plate). Her lack of approval is one of the reasons I baked this wholemeal banana cake when she was away.

The main reason, though?

This hearty, gorgeously deep brown banana loaf is 100% wholemeal, only calls for 2 tablespoons of butter and milk, less than a cup of sugar, and yet it received the full 5-star rating on the site;– now, if that doesn’t pique your baking curiosity, then I’m pretty sure you’re probably just the flour nazi.


Wholemeal Banana Cake
(adapted from here)

2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp milk
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg
3-4 ripe bananas, mashed
1 1/2 cups wholemeal flour
3 tsp baking powder

  1. Preheat oven to 200C / 400F.
  2. Beat butter and sugar until well combined. Add egg and mashed bananas and mix well.
  3. Sift the flour and baking powder together, and gently fold into the banana mixture. Stir and milk to combine.
  4. Pour mixture into a greased 9 x 5 inch loaf pan, and bake for 40-45mins, or until a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean.
29 thoughts on “not for the flour nazi

  1. the mister

    “if that doesn’t pique your baking curiosity, then I’m pretty sure you’re probably just the flour nazi…”

    or a really angry purple dwarf (which is kinda the same thing if you think about it…)

    Reply
  2. 19thmayflower

    suker nyer kalau atasnyer tu keras and crunchy!! hehe…i’ve been trying to stuff myself with wholemeal bread nowadays, since i’ve learned about its benefits :) but your cake seriously, looks very delish!

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Haha! I’m sorry but the post of angry dwarf’s already taken. Oh wait, that’s midget wasn’t it? :P

    19thmayflower: Yay, another crust fan! I love those crust yang keras2, and especially if it cracks in the middle. Macam lawa gitu :P

    tracieMoo: Aside from the fact that I actually burnt the loaf (hah, I lost focus, and was busy with something else!), it was not as dense as I had expected it to be. I do believe that the overripe bananas played a part. If you’ve tried your hand at coconut loaf cake/bread, it has the same texture.

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    fuzzygreenlights: Yay, another wholemeal fan! I must say I’m pretty surprised I like wholemeal, since I’m not exactly a fan of all things healthy :P But now that I’ve worked through a whole pack of wholemeal flour, I’ve got my eye on other grains/wheat as well.

    Avanika: I know exactly what you mean! This can no way replace my favourite banana cake recipe, but on days when I don’t mind something lighter, I’m turning to this :)

    Reply
  5. grace

    my goodness! there’s no way one could tell just by looking at this loaf that it’s so healthy–it looks incredibly dense and hearty and so delicious. hooray for whole grains i say!

    Reply
  6. charlotte

    I totally, completely DON’T GET IT when people are leery about whole grain flours. Even as a kid, I preferred ww bread. I’ve found that in most quick baking, it makes sooooo little difference. I LOVE whole wheat!

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    grace: Hooray indeed! Love how hearty it is :)

    charlotte: Good for you! I guess it’s coz white bread’s more of the staple in the region here. As far back as I can remember, our sandwiches, toasts and snacks tend to revolve around white bread. Even commercials for jam spreads & cheese depict white bread :P

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Kristen: Thanks for dropping by, Kristen! :)

    cookie: Not a problem! If you’re baking this, do keep a close watch on the timing. I totally lost focus and burnt it! But it still tasted great nonetheless :P

    Reply
  9. thecoffeesnob

    I actually adore anything wholemeal and try stay as far away from white flour as I can. While that works out pretty well with me for breads, I haven’t done much experimenting with cakes and cookies.

    Definitely have to try this one out soon!

    Reply
  10. felicia

    hats off to you for attempting to be healthier.
    i cant. love food TOO MUCH.
    i eat everything :(
    haha but wholemeal stuff are still yummy!

    Reply
  11. ovenhaven Post author

    felicia: I think wholemeal’s probably one of the few healthy stuff I eat! Other than that, I pretty much eat a whole buncha sweet/junk food :P

    Ellie: Thanks, Ellie! :)

    Reply
  12. Cookie Cutter

    I’m all for wholemeal! Not just the health factor because I do love the taste! But I must say, for a long time, Gardenia bread made think wholemeal was something else.

    Reply
  13. ovenhaven Post author

    I’m loving wholemeal as well! There is something rustic about the texture and taste that gives it more depth than the ordinary white bread.

    Reply
  14. ovenhaven Post author

    So glad to hear so many wholemeal lovers :) It’s been getting some bad rep around here, so I had imagined it to be as good as chewing on grass, but it’s great!

    Reply
  15. Pingback: discovering a new love [recipe: oatmeal pancakes with strawberry sauce] « :: epicurean escapism ::

Leave a Reply

