surplus sunday: chocolate rice pudding

These days I find myself traipsing around the kitchen, finding means to get acquainted to the myriad of items in the refrigerator, conjuring blurry mental visuals of the mother cooking, and thereafter concocting a mediocre (by that, I mean poor) semblance of the meals the mother effortlessly brings to the table every day. Not to worry though, because firstly, I’m the only one eating my own purported cooking (the sister makes the wise decision of takeouts for dinner), and secondly, the parents will be back soon.

Unfortunately though, due to the first reason, I almost always end up with quite an amount of leftover cooked rice. Fortunately for me though, due to the first reason, I found a perfect excuse to have dessert for breakfast.

Chocolate Rice Pudding
(serves two, or one with a very sweet tooth)

1/2 cup cooked rice
1/2 cup milk
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp cocoa powder
smoked almonds for topping (optional)

  1. In a medium saucepan, combine all the ingredients together and bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to a simmer.
  2. Cook until most of the milk is absorbed or it reaches the consistency you like, stirring from the bottom of the pan often, so that the bottom won’t burn.
  3. Remove from heat, and serve either warm or cold.

Aside: I’ve revamped the recipe page to make it more comprehensive and easier for you to trudge through, so hope it helps! Also, I’m on Formspring, so feel free to ask any questions :)

20 thoughts on “surplus sunday: chocolate rice pudding

  1. the mister

    When I saw the title I thought, “You made pudding out of chocolate rice?”

    Then I read the entry and felt silly… :D

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    the mister: Haha, it definitely sounds like it, doesn’t it? :P

    oneordinaryday: Glad to hear there’s someone else who has dessert for breakfast! :D

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    Maya: Haha.

    Cookie Cutter: I definitely agree. It feels great not to have rushed mornings now and then :)

    Dariel: Thanks for dropping by, Dariel :)

    Ju: Then I guess I deserve an A+ for effort! Haha. The parents went on a pilgrimage; can’t wait to have them back!

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    grace: Haha, I have to agree with you on that!

    19thmayflower: Wajik! That’s a good one :P Yup, I’m available on that date. Just drop me a mail as usual :)

    Reply
  5. felicia

    reminds me of pulau hitam!
    heh. i’ve no problem finishing one on my own.
    whenever you need help..
    just tweet me, okay? :P

    Reply
  6. 19thmayflower

    zhul!!!! very the sorry. i have to cancel my order lah….got some unforeseen circumstances :( sorry ehhh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

