the baker’s way to cook

rosemary chicken1

As you would realise by now, there isn’t much cooking here on Ovenhaven land. I don’t think I can cook to save my life, apart from the aglio olio or sauce-from-a-can pasta, and the last I checked, my mom insists that no one can live on bakes and pasta alone.

But thank heavens for my love of the oven.

While I can never come close to replicating authentic Malay dishes, I can take comfort in the fact that at the very least I can afford to whip up quick and easy lunches in the oven!

Well, it’s a start, isn’t it?

Rosemary-Baked Chicken with Potatoes
(adapted from here)

2 tbps olive oil
1 tbsp paprika powder
1 1/2 tsp rosemary leaves
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
6 chicken thighs
2 potatoes, cut into quarters

  1. Preheat oven to 220C.
  2. Mix oil, paprika, rosemary, salt, and pepper in large bowl.
  3. Add chicken and potatoes; toss to coat well.
  4. Arrange potatoes in single layer on foil-lined greased baking pan.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes. Push potatoes to one side of pan.
  6. Place chicken on pan. Bake 30 to 35 minutes longer or until the potatoes are tender and chicken is cooked through, turning potatoes occasionally.
13 thoughts on “the baker’s way to cook

  1. the mister

    WAHHHHHHHH!!!!

    AJYEM!!!! :D

    That looks good, bu! Maybe the next time you can try roasting the whole spring chicken!

    *salivates*

    Reply
  2. TasteStopping

    I am the baker in our household, so this totally appeals to me. My husband would put up a fight, though, as he prefers to grill year-round. Hmmm. Maybe a cook-off is in order?

    Anyway, I found you on TasteSpotting and am writing to say that if you have any photos that aren’t accepted there, I’d love to publish them. Visit my new site (below), it’s a lot of fun! I hope you will consider it.

    Best,
    Casey
    Editor
    http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    TasteStopping: Oh, I’ve heard about your site via Twitter; definitely sounds interesting. Will hop by soon! And yes, a cook-off with the husband sounds just right :P

    robbingpeter: Awww, thanks for that :)

    Reply
  4. happygrub

    I love cooking in the kitchen cos you can leave it to cook itself and not watch over it like stove cooking!

    Thought I could share some tips on making ur wings extra crispy:
    -dry them in the fridge first before marinating, when the skin is nice and dry, it crisps up better!
    -roast them on a roasting rack, I dont have one so I use my cooling rack for bakes suspended over a baking tray. This way the underside is not swimiming in its own juice and oils
    -if ur oven has a function called “grill” just put it under the grill and it crisps up very quickly compared to “bake”

    Hey Zhullie, have been thinking of having u over as promised, probably before my baby is born in Sept, we should sort it out thru email, catch up soon!

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    I totally agree with you on cooking in the oven; much less hassle! Thanks for the tips. I’ve been contemplating on using that ‘grill’ function, but have no idea how to use it. I love the cooling rack method; will definitely have to remember that the next time.

    How fast time flies. You’re already gonna be due in a couple of months! Catch up soon, sweetz :)

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Toddler Tuesdays: Stir-Fried Penne with Scrambled Egg | :: epicurean escapism ::

Leave a Reply

