a little you, and a little me

brownies

April had been a beautifully interesting month thus far;– a long-awaited launch of the new venture, a very encouraging giveaway (I’ve already gotten queries on when’s the next giveaway!), fiddling around with a new toy, anticipating big times ahead, and oh, just the fickle weather!

I’ve been spending the days lately watching the mother bring the laundry in and out, in a bid to catch the sun through the grey clouds. Each time I hear the raindrops puttering, I would shout from my room, and run down to the balcony while my mother goes out to the front, each of us taking the laundry from either side. We’d almost always end up laughing when we meet in the middle, as the mother starts her lament about the bright-one-second-gloomy-the-other weather.

And just as I was about to begin on my own personal grudge with nature’s vendetta against my photo expeditions and outings in general, the mother once again proves why she’s the best.

brownies1

That the world isn’t just you and me. That there’s an elderly woman by the corner praising the tears from heaven, willing her little garden to grow. That the birds are patiently waiting for the rain to stop, before they can head out to waterlogged soils brimming with their lunches. And when the weather gets too hot for comfort, the children race happily to the ice-cream peddler, bearing a scoop of ice-cream sandwiched between a fluffy slice of bread.

Because there is always a little something for everyone.

And these brownies couldn’t epitomise that statement better. Sitting by the table with the mother, I mentioned loving how fudgey and chocolatey the brownie was, all thanks to the Nutella, whereas the mother loved the saltiness coming from the peanut butter. But we both agreed the caramel nut ice-cream topped it off just perfectly.

Nutella & Peanut Butter Brownies
(adapted from here)

1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoons vanilla essence
2 eggs
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
4 tbsp peanut butter (I used chunky)
4 tbsp Nutella

  1. Preheat oven to 180c. Line 8 inch x 8 inch pan with baking parchment.
  2. Melt butter then stir in sugar.
  3. Beat in eggs one at a time.
  4. Stir in all of the remaining dry ingredients.
  5. Heat Nutella and peanut butter until runny. Stir into brownie mix.
  6. Pour into tin and bake for about 25 min until top forms a crust.
31 thoughts on “a little you, and a little me

  1. the mister

    OMG. I’ve never wanted to jump into the screen as much as I do now.

    I think some of that choco-lovin’ genes of yours have rubbed off on me lah, bu!

    I wants me some of that, its not even funny. -_-’

    I scream for ice-cream I believe they say…

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: I’ll be more than glad to rub off my choco-lovin’ genes to you, mister. You don’t need to repay with rubbing off your cheesaholic genes now, alright? :P

    RecipeGirl: Oh you definitely should! I’m already planning on baking another variation of this next week, or as soon as I get another jar of peanut butter :P

    Helen: Ah, with the addition of ice-cream, it most definitely sent me there :P

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Nutella & Peanut Butter Brownies « the momentum of failure

  4. ovenhaven Post author

    Helene: It sure was! I kept sneaking back into the kitchen to grab another square :P

    Karen@Mignardise: Thanks, Karen. Hope you’ll like them as much as I did! :)

    Marta: Not a problem, Marta. Good things are meant to be shared! Especially when they involve Nutella and peanut butter :P

    Dorothy: Haha, hope you’ll like them as much as I did, sweetie :)

    thecoffeesnob: Yes, it has! I’m beginning to think the weather has an inverse relationship to my brolly days; it never fails to not rain when I bring my brolly out, but otherwise when I think it’s gonna be sunny!

    Erin: Thanks, Erin! Hope you’ll like them :)

    Reply
  5. Arundathi

    I made some nutella brownies that were a little taste of heaven. I’m sure the peanut butter would only make it even better. thanks for sharing. the ice cream looks spectacular.

    Reply
  6. linda

    Nutella in brownies? What a delicious treat! I’m not a big ice cream fan but there are a few exception, caramel being one of them :) YUM!

    Reply
  7. Zita

    Beautifully written, always love a mother post…and the white floral plater is as lovely as the browinies and the ice cream ;)

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Arundathi: Nutella brownies do sound heavenly :) I should give it a go soon!

    Cookie: I believe so, yes! :P

    linda: Doesn’t caramel ice-cream just hit the spot? yuMMyyyy!!

    Zita: Awww thanks, dearie :)

    grace: Ah the ice-cream seems to have gained quite abit of its own fans it seems! :P

    Reply
  9. Bernie

    Ah those brownies look divine. Nutella and peanut butter is the best combination!!! Should have baked a batch today before uni reopens tomorrow OTL…

    Congrats on the opening of your new venture~ I love those oven mitts! Would like to get that polka dotted or flowery pattern ones =D.

    Reply
  10. Syrie

    It is 10AM I haven’t had breakfast and all I can think of is this stunning brownie. It’s torturous and beautiful at the same time.

    Reply
  11. ovenhaven Post author

    Bernie: Thanks, sweetie! Been a long time since I dropped by yours. Hope school’s treating you well :)

    Syrie: Oh, so sorry to torture you that way, dearie! I always tell myself never to go foodblog-hopping on an empty stomach :P

    Reply
  12. Sudha

    I tried this recipe with almond butter and it turned out great. I was indeed in chocolate heaven!:) Thanks for sharing such wonderful recipes. Congratulations on your new venture!!

    Reply
  13. Pingback: lasagna + macaroni and cheese + kroger fried chicken + anything nutella = perfection! |

  14. Pingback: Nutella & Peanut Butter Brownies « Retro Comfy in Modern Chaos

  15. Pingback: To “sweet” or not to “sweet” « Eat, Drink, Be Healthy!

Leave a Reply

