treading the line between doughnut and muffin

I’ve seen this popping up on various food blogs and sites for the longest time ever, and have always wondered what they would taste like. I remember once I was planning to bake them, and got distracted by a lengthy conversation triggered off when someone said, “Doughnut muffin? Why don’t you just bake a muffin, OR a doughnut?”.

Because let’s face it, we all have our favourite desserts, but there is always something excitingly intriguing about pushing the envelope and treading the line between two favourites. If one can have the best of two worlds, why ever not, I say.

donut-muffin1

I baked these one rainy morning, and they came together quite fast, with an enticing aroma waffling through the kitchen. I packed two for the mister, and shared the rest with my parents. The mister didn’t care for these; he said they tasted somewhat undercooked. The parents liked the fact that they were plain (only topped with the cinnamon sugar), buttery, and went well with their tea.

For me, I admit that they were definitely different from your typical muffin. And doughnut, for that matter. The texture was similar to that of a cake doughnut, but more dense. I can understand how the mister felt like they were undercooked, because it had a heavy buttery taste akin to a white cake. But it was unmistakeably a cross texture between a muffin and a doughnut, something beyond the powdered sugar doughnut top and muffin dome appearance.

And when served warm (you really have to eat these muffins warm), they definitely pack a flavour you won’t get anywhere.

Snickerdoodle muffins next, perhaps?

Cinnamon Sugar Doughnut Muffins
(adapted from here; makes six muffins)

1 cup flour
1/2 tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg
1/2 cup yoghurt
1/3 cup brown sugar
2-4 tbsp oil (I used 2 tbsp)
1/2 tsp vanilla essence

Topping:
4 tbsp butter, melted
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon

  1. Preheat oven to 200C.
  2. Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together egg, yoghurt, brown sugar, oil and vanilla essence.
  4. Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, and stir until just combined. Do not overmix.
  5. Divide the batter among muffin cups, and bake at 200C for about 12-15 mins.
  6. In a bowl, combine the sugar with cinnamon.
  7. After removing the muffins from the oven, brush the tops with melted butter and dip them in the powdered sugar-cinnamon mixture. Set on a rack to cool.
18 thoughts on “treading the line between doughnut and muffin

  1. the mister

    Sorry I didn’t really take to these. They were much too buttery for me :(

    I’ll just stick to having my donuts in their original form, thankiewvehmuch! :D

    Reply
  2. My First Kitchen

    I think these sound awesome. Anything that hints at a doughnut should be eaten in large portions. And cinnamon sugar makes cardboard worth eating, so I’m all over this. The photos are great, too!

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Been a long while since we had donuts, huh! Should head down to TP again :P

    grace: Haha, I knew I’d get you on the snickerdoodle muffin bandwagon! *hi-fives fellow cinnamon fan*

    Helene: It’s definitely worth a go! Hope you like them :)

    My First Kitchen: Haha, thanks dearie :) And I agree, cinnamon sugar makes anything worth eating!

    Dorothy: Thanks, sweetie :) Give it a go!

    Reply
  4. jean-marie

    Zhullie babe! They were soooo good! I made them for church today, and everyone liked them. Especially the small kids :P

    Reply
  5. finsmom

    Ive had a similar recipe bookmarked for a while, and have been wanting to make it. You have inspired me to hit the kitchen! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  6. lazykitty

    Gosh i’ve just discovered your food blog!
    U bake so well — I’m envious of your double talents (photography & baking)!
    Wish I could bake too! (dunno if you’d seen my blog entry abt my muffin-like cookies ;p)
    When i’ve recovered from my failure i shall try your recipes ;p

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    jean-marie: Oh that’s great, doll! Glad to hear they were well received :)

    finsmom: No problem; good things are meant to be shared :) I’ve had it bookmarked for the longest time ever as well, so you should just give it a go! Hopefully by then you’d love it so much you’d be wondering what took you so long :P

    Zita: Thanks dearie :)

    lazykitty: Hey sweetie, yup I saw your muffin-like cookies; I thought they looked good actually :P I love cornflakes, so cornflake muffins/cookies sounds great to me!

    Reply
  8. happygrub

    I’ve never heard of this, maybe I’ve not been foodblog hopping much, but they sound so interesting! I have this thing for powdered sugar topping like mexican wedding cookies, those doughnut balls you made, and these!

    Snickerdoodle sounds cute doesn’t it. I just made Scotheroos (wait for the entry!) and I couldn’t stop saying it. Scotcheroo.. Scotcheroo. Deeserts shouldn’t have such cute names!

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    Oh Scotcheroos! I’ve been wanting to make them; they look so good and sound so cute, how much more perfect can that be? Be looking forward to your post then :)

    You should give this a try if you love powdered sugar toppings!

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Columbus Foodie » Blog Archive » March 2009 Roundup

  11. susan

    I loved these! And I loved that the recipe only made 6 because I couldn’t stop eating them. I only needed 2T of melted butter to brush on all 6 muffins. They were delish! Also I used Fage yogurt because it’s so rich and creamy. Next time I might try mini muffins.

    Reply
  12. ovenhaven Post author

    Glad to hear you loved them! Now that you’ve reminded me of these, I might just give them a revisit soon :) And mini muffins definitely sounds like a great idea! Less guilt that way too :P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

