a birthday party for a 3 year old

Do you remember how it was like to be all of 3 years of age? I for one have no recollection of how my birthday celebration went, who were present, and what I received. But being there at my second niece’s birthday party last Sunday made me realise that even if my memory fails me today, I’m sure I shared the same unspoken overwhelming joy as that which I saw through her eyes that day.

To be surrounded by her doting parents and cheeky lil sister, loving Atok and Nenek (grandparents), her elder cousin (otherwise known as her BFF;– “C’mon Sha, let’s hold hands!”), and a whole bunch of aunts and uncles showering her with her favourite Doras, Strawberry Shortcakes, and whathaveyous.

And having cupcakes adorned with her favourite television characters definitely doesn’t hurt the party one bit.

nurs-3rd-10

nurs-3rd-6

nurs-3rd-51

nurs-3rd-3

fondant1

The cast (because I know some of them don’t look like the real characters): Dibo, Elo, Bunny, Cro, Annie, Sleepy Bird, Pocoyo, Pato, Elly, Strawberry Shortcake, Jojo, Winnie the Pooh.

While I was making the toppers through the week (accompanied by my parents’ approving nods and laughters), my mother kept saying how cumbersome it must be. But we both agreed that there’s nothing more gratifying than to see a child happy, and be part of it all.

I’ve mentioned it on my other blog, but I’ll have to repeat it here; the most gratifying moment for me was seeing her wonderment, spending a long time touching each and every single topper, naming them, and finally settling on one plain cupcake, sans figurine, to eat on her plate.

More photos on my photoblog, along with the mystery of the missing Cro’s eyes solved (refer to first photo).

29 thoughts on “a birthday party for a 3 year old

  1. the mister

    Happy birthday, BabyNur! :D

    You know how I said that the Sesame Street cupcakes were the best things that you’ve baked? Well…

    THIS TOPS IT!

    Seriously, look at the detail! Well done bu!

    My faves are the Pocoyo gang and SSC! :P

    Oh yah! Don’t forget my Street Fighter challenge!!!

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Haha, I was actually wondering what’s SSC? For a moment, I thought you said CSC :| And yerrrp, I remember the Street Fighter challenge! Bring it on! Haduken!

    Arundathi: Oh you should give it a go, then! Hopefully she’ll be jumping around in joy :P

    Helene: Thank you, dearie :)

    Zita: Thanks, Zita :) I’m the lucky one to be blessed with four lovely nieces.

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, dearie! Well, it was all worth it :)

    Reply
  3. faizah

    wow they sure look like the real characters, though i only know two out of the many. i love jojo!!

    your little niece will remember her third birthday, that’s for sure. all thanks to her doting aunt. =)

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    faizah: Awww, you’re too sweet, dearie :) Credits to her mom and herself actually, coz the lil one was the one who chose who she wanted on her cake. Though I doubt she actually knew what that meant :P

    19thmayflower: I’d be more than delighted to, dearie! :) Just drop me a mail when the time approaches.

    Jen: Awww you’re too kind!

    Erin: Thanks, sweetie :)

    grace: Yup! I think she must’ve thought they were toys or something. When her lil sis ate the eyes off one, she said to the figurine “Cro, where your eyes?” :P

    Reply
  5. NAOmni

    I love these and posted it on my blog. If you want me to change anything or take it down or change credits or whatever, please let me know! I was so excited when I saw them on tastespotting!

    NAOmni

    Reply
  6. Maya

    I can never make all these. I’m hopeless when it comes to Art! Good job babe. Even at this age, I would love to have these for my b’day…but I want Emon toppers!! (Doraemon) :p

    Reply
  7. jean-marie

    OMG so cute!!! You’re crazy! Oh, I went to your photo blog, and that lil girl with chocolate all over her face is so adorable I want to squeeze her poofy cheeks. :D

    Reply
  8. RecipeGirl

    I saw these on Tastespotting a few days ago. They’re simply precious. What a tremendous amount of work you put into them! Great, great job. So cute. And the little girl… darling!

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    happygrub: Thanks, dearie :) And yeah, I didn’t realise it!

    Maya: Ah, so you’re a fan of Doraemon? Hehe. I’m a Pooh/Sesame Street fan, and yup, even at this age, I get them for my birthday! :P

    jean-marie: Hahaha! Try that, and her protective bigger sis (bday girl) will push you! :P

    RecipeGirl: Awww thanks, Lori! For that little girl, it was all worth it :)

    Reply
  10. is

    wow! they are so cute, and you are an incredible aunt! you have e cast of pocoyo and more!!
    can see e love thru them. must have been a lot of work, but i bet they were such a joy to make too!

    Reply
  11. Sudha

    Hi, Happy birthday to your niece!! Those cupcakes look so cute. I just tried your chocolate chip muffins and they were incredible. I added 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups of AP flour. They were perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!! I will be a regular visitor to your blog for sure.

    Sudha

    Reply
  12. ovenhaven Post author

    lea cavendish: Thanks, lea! Oh, then you definitely should get those cupcakes for your 21st! :P

    is: Awww, thanks dearie :) They got pretty challenging because it’d been raining the whole week, so the toppers kept melting! But I’m glad they worked out okay in the end.

    Sudha: Thanks for dropping by, Sudha. Glad the muffins worked out well for you! :)

    Reply
  13. aidah

    i love the strawberry shortcake one. uhmazingggggg! how you do and what you do is beyond me. awesome talent babe =)

    Reply
  14. ovenhaven Post author

    aidah: Thank you for the kind words, sweetie :) The strawberry shortcake one is my favourite too!

    Cookie: Awww thanks Cookie, you’re too kind :)

    Reply
  15. linda

    Ahhh…so cute! And my three year old son agrees, even though he doesn’t even know most of the cast ;)
    You’re a wonderful auntie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

