nutella lovers unite!

In light of today’s event and tonight’s recipe, I’m going to try and keep this as decadently simple a Nutella indulgence can ever be.

Two years ago, Ms. Adventures in Italy and Bleeding Espresso declared this day, the 5th of January, World Nutella Day; a day to unite Nutella lovers all over the world to celebrate with a jar in one hand, and thousands of serving ideas in another.

A quick run to the supermarket to get me a jar of Nutella (they’re on sale today, what are the odds!), and a random mish-mash of what’s in the fridge later in the evening, saw the Nutella-lover in me rejoicing the day with a ramekin of comforting Nutella bread pudding.

Nutella Bread Pudding
(serves one, or two if you really wanna share)

2 slices of day-old bread
1 egg
1/2 cup soy milk
1/8 cup white sugar (basically 1/2 of the 1/4 cup)
Nutella

  1. Preheat oven to 170C.
  2. Spread Nutella over a slice of bread, and sandwich it with the other slice. Cut the sandwich into small cubes.
  3. In a bowl, whisk egg, milk and sugar.
  4. Soak the bread cubes in the milk mixture.
  5. Pour the mixture into a greased ramekin.
  6. Go crazy and slather more Nutella on top.
  7. Bake at 170C for 20-25 mins. Leave to cool for about 5-10mins.
28 thoughts on “nutella lovers unite!

  1. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: I definitely agree to that! :P

    Jules: Thanks, dearie! It tasted great too :)

    Carla: Give it a try! It’s perfect for days when you feel like whipping up something simple and quick just for yourself ;)

    Helene: Thanks, dearie :) I just saw your banana bread; great way to serve Nutella!

    Theresa: I hope you’ll like it as much as I did :)

    didally: To date, I’ve yet to find one person who can! :P

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    Paula: Wish I had some to send over to you! :)

    Elra: It sure did! Thanks for dropping by :)

    The Purplefoodie: Me neither, but I reckon anything with Nutella would make it a winner! ;)

    Gigi: Happy Nutella Day to you too! I actually made it a recipe for one because I wasn’t too sure if it was gonna turn out :P But I’m sure glad it did! :D

    Dorothy: Thanks, dearie! :)

    grace: Ah, that’s the best way EVER to celebrate Nutella Day! :P

    Reply
  3. mammamm

    nutella day? that’s everyday down here in the east, bunster! so, i will spiffily celebrate it tomorrow with great gusto. thanks for the quickie recipes. they’re my favourite!!! ;)

    Reply
  4. linda

    Totally forgot about Nutella day, such a shame because I love, love, love it!
    At first glance I thought it was some sort of muffin but it turned out being a bread pudding. Delicious as well, especially the Nutella part ;)

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    The Cooking Ninja: I hope you’ll like it as much as I did :) And no worries, Nutella’s supposed to be celebrated every day with a spoon in the jar :P

    mammamm: No problem, hamster! I like me quickie recipes as well :D

    linda: It sure was! As delicious as it was, I actually couldn’t finish it, so I ended up scraping the Nutella bits :P

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Wandering Wednesday #5: What’s cooking? | Modern Gypsy

  7. Pingback: Nutella Pudding « Paperback Contemplation

  8. Pingback: sixteen: nutella bread pudding « snap & roll

  9. Pingback: Sweet inspiration « The Novice Nosher

  10. Pingback: Nutella Bread Pudding | Well CookedWell Cooked

Leave a Reply

