rewarding patience

The past week had been quite a blur, not so much in terms of busy days as it had been for big news, mainly with regard to matters of the heart.

The Chinese New Year weekend saw my sister decked in a lovely pink baju kurung, surrounded by close friends, taking a step closer to tying the knot. (God willing, I’ll gain me a new BIL for Christmas!) Somehow that started a wedding avalanche of sorts, with one of my varsity mates asking for my mailing address for an invite to her April wedding, another tying the knot in September, my friend F excitedly looking forward to her upcoming convocation-cum-meet-the-in-laws-to-be session, and of course, with all the excitement in the air, one can’t help but make little plans here and there as well.

And so as it stands, I find myself amidst brainstorms and nitty-gritty mad details of some wedding plans brewing. While I’m sure that it will be a whole different ball game when my turn comes aknocking, and I would highly likely find myself in those same shoes, one common ground that all these brides-to-be share is their trepidation and anxiety for the perfect wedding they had envisioned. From the most basic questions of wedding venue and gown, to the very minute details of handheld bouquets, it is only expected that nothing should be overlooked.

There is a Malay saying that goes “We plan, God decides”, and as preordained as that may sound, I believe it only emphasises the fact that regardless of how immaculately perfect the ideal wedding you have in mind, it can never come close to experiencing the day itself.

To all the nervous brides-to-be out there who are feeling a tad buried underneath a chaotic cacophony of plans, find solace in the fact that all the plans mapped out meticulously and patiently will manifest itself in the most perfect wedding you can ever imagine.

Just like wedding plans, these beignets require sufficient proofing time and a whole lot of patience. Don’t think of skipping the second proofing either. But trust me, you will be rewarded for your long hours with a perfectly fluffy beignet oozing warm creme patissiere with every bite.

I’m sending this over to Susan for this week’s YeastSpotting.

Custard-Filled Beignets

For Beignets
(adapted from here)

280g plain flour
1/2 packet dry yeast
30g caster sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg + 1 egg yolk (lightly beaten)
100ml milk (room temperature)
30g unsalted butter (melted and cooled)

  1. Place the flour and the yeast in a bowl and lightly mix.
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients and knead for about 10-15 minutes until the dough gets smooth and shiny. Shape into a ball and cover the bowl, rest in a warm draught-free place for about an hour and a half (or until it doubles in size).
  3. When the dough is ready, let the air out gently and divide it into small evenly sized balls. Cover them and rest in a warm place for about half an hour.

For Creme Patissiere
(adapted from Donna Hay’s Modern Classics 2)

2 cups (480ml) milk
1 tsp vanilla essence
4 egg yolks
1/3 cup caster sugar
1/3 cup cornstarch

  1. Place milk and vanilla essence in a saucepan over medium high heat and bring to a boil. Set aside.
  2. Whisk together egg yolks and caster sugar in a bowl until thick and pale.
  3. Add in cornstarch and whisk to combine.
  4. Slowly pour in the hot milk, whisking continuously.
  5. Pour the mixture back into the saucepan over medium high heat while whisking constantly for 5 mins or until thick.
  6. Place a piece of non-stick baking paper or plastic wrap directly on the pastry cream and set aside to cool.

To Assemble

Heat the oil over a medium low heat, and deep fry until golden. When they are cool enough to handle, pipe in the pastry cream. If you would rather have them without filling, coat them with (cinnamon) sugar while still hot.

26 thoughts on “rewarding patience

  1. the mister

    Yah man… It seems that love was in the air for Jan… :D

    Lay your trepidations to rest somewhat luv, for B & B’s Great Wedding Adventure Blueprint is already in motion! :P

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Yerrrrrrp. Pretty much ;)

    jean: Not anytime soon, doll. Hehe :P

    grace: In fact, I did. More like peanut butter M&Ms on a lovely breezy afternoon, with the crunch of the sugar coating, and the melting peanut butter interior. And there goes my diet :P

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    Maya: Haha, yah apparently! Thanks, dearie :)

    veron: Oh do pardon me, ’tis ne’er my intention to! :P

    Rosa: Thanks, Rosa! I left half of them without filling, and just coated them with cinnamon sugar, but I must say I enjoyed the pastry cream ones the most!

    Sara: Awww, thanks, Sara! How kind of you :)

    Susan: And thank you for hosting such a great weekly event :)

    Reply
  4. thecoffeesnob

    Ooh these look so much like the custard donut I had my last weekend in Melbourne.

    Whoa, that’s a lot of weddings to attend this year. Congrats to your sister!

    Speaking of weddings, funny story. I was asked by a colleague if I had any plans to tie the knot this year coz everyone wanted to know if they had any wedding parties to plan. She could barely stop giggling to get the words out, tickled by the irony that she was asking the youngest person in the department. Heh.

    Reply
  5. happygrub

    Oh I should try to make these for H when he comes out of camp! He’s in reservist now. I’m more tired than I am now cos I keep on waking up at night in fear that I’ll be late for work since he’s the one who usually wakes me up.. I miss him.

    How have u been? Any wedding plans?

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    thecoffeesnob: Haha, that’s so cute! Hmmmm, and what was your answer, if I may ask? ;)

    19thmayflower: Hehe, I think it’s pronounced as benYAY, dearie :) But then again, me no french either!

    happygrub: Oh that sounds horrid! The alarm clock doesn’t really work for you, does it? Because that’s the way with me. I always claim that it doesn’t go off, but wallahu’alam :P The mister has been my diligent wake-me-up-er, and I wouldn’t know what I’d do without him! I’m sure H will love this; it’ll be a great way to welcome him home :)

    As for wedding plans, it still remains the same as that which I’ve told you. In other words, not anytime soon :P

    Reply
  7. is

    wedding planning is exciting..but it’s equally scary..

    anyway, i m thking of doing a baking project this weekend..something for a new neighbour..and tis recipe looks enticing :)

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    linda: Wish I had some to pass over to you, dearie! :)

    is: Oh how nice of you to welcome the new neighbour :) Give this a try, and fill it up with anything you like. I reckon it would be heavenly with Nutella!

    Reply
  9. Michelle

    Oh my….these look fabulous. My Mom used to make Beignets several times a year and I’ve forgotten about them. Thanks for bringing up some memories for me.

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    Awww, that’s nice :) Do give these a try when you have some extra time on your hand. I’m sure they can never measure up to your mom’s beignets, but it gives you something to reminisce, perhaps?

    Reply
  11. Pingback: YeastSpotting February 6, 2009 | Wild Yeast

  12. Elra

    Nothing beat homemade beignet, what unusual about your is that there is surprise inside it. I can imagine eating this and the creme pattisiere bursting in my mouth.
    Cheers,
    Elra

    Reply
  13. ovenhaven Post author

    Angela: Thanks for dropping by, Angela :)

    Elra: I love the lil surprise! I didn’t tell my family there was a filling, so it was a great surprise, since they thought it was normal beignets :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

