of morning inspirations

I have to begin by saying that I’m not big on breakfasts. I have a sensitive stomach in the morning (no eggs, no oily food, etc), so I always go light on what I have, and most times just skip the most important meal of the day altogether. Horrid, I know. I tend to blame it on the morning rush. Mornings are, after all, the busiest times of the day. And since I’m more of a midnight owl than a morning robin, mornings tend to be the grumpiest times of the day as well.

The new year has brought on some new changes. For starters, as Linda had noticed in the previous entry, the cooking-challenged me has actually begun to learn being acquainted with the stove top more. And thanks to a Livejournal community I joined a month ago, I’ve not only been inspired to have my breakfasts every morning, but when possible, actually put together my own breakfasts, rather than conveniently re-heating whatever I baked the evening before.

While it definitely takes more time, I don’t think there is a greater way to start your morning than having a quiet homemade breakfast by the window, with a quick flip through your favourite read, allowing yourself a well-deserved relaxing meal before the mad rush strikes.

Apple Pancakes
(makes about 8 pieces)

150g flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 cup milk
1 egg
1 tsp cinnamon powder
1 apple, peeled, cored and thinly sliced

  1. Sift flour and baking powder into a bowl.
  2. Whisk in the egg, milk and cinnamon powder until just combined.
  3. Stir in the sliced apples. Leave the batter to rest for about 15mins.
  4. Heat up a non-stick pan over low medium heat, and drop a ladle full (about less than 1/4 cup) of the batter. Once bubbles are seen on the surface, it is time to flip the pancake, and finish the cooking.
  5. Serve warm with your favourite syrup, or powdered sugar.

Recipe Note: There isn’t any sugar in these pancakes, so they’re a healthier choice for your breakfast; wonderfully fluffy with tart apple slices. You can choose to add in some brown sugar if you prefer having them sweet.

21 thoughts on “of morning inspirations

  1. the mister

    I spy, with my not so lil eye, more Polardroids!

    They do indeed look spiffy, dear! Hehe… :P

    Mmmmmm….. Haven’t had pancakes / waffles for a good long time now…. Best be getting some soon! :D

    Reply
  2. faizah

    i love them poladroids! it’s amazing how you can add thumbprints and scratches and shake them too!

    how did you do those waffles? they look yummy *salivates*

    i had to drench my pancakes with butter and maple syrup this morning so i could easily suck on them. no chewing for 5 days. sob.

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Hehe, thanks, dear :) Oh how I miss grabbing chocolate waffles in between lectures last time. I’ll just wait till I grab hold of Nutella/pb, and I’ll waffle my way away! :P

    faizah: Yah! I’m kinda hooked on them for now :P So sorry to hear about your wisdom tooth. It’s okay dearie, think of all the nice things you can eat! Like ice-creams and gelatos and bread puddings! If you want, I got the waffles recipe from here. Get better soon!

    Reply
  4. faizah

    thank you sweetie for the waffle recipe. it looks simple enough. do you think it’ll turn out okay if i do it pancake-style? i don’t have the waffle maker. :p

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    It shouldn’t be a problem, I think. But the recipe makes those crispy type of waffles because of the high fat content, so maybe you should either consider reducing the amount of melted butter, or increasing the milk till you get the pancake consistency you want. Hope that helps, dearie :)

    Reply
  6. grace

    i think the only reason i’m a morning person is because i always look forward to the foods served as breakfast. these pancakes sound awesome and would get me out of bed lickety-split. :)

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    jean: Haha, yes it is, and yes I do! I never knew you were a fan! :P

    thecoffeesnob: I have Books 1 and 2, as well as the Wall-to-Wall Baby Blues :) Absolutely love them to bits :P

    grace: I don’t think I’ve ever heard of anyone saying lickety-split! :P You’re too cute.

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Syrie: I think there’s just something very homely about pancakes, don’t you think? I can easily turn down a lot of breakfasts, but when it comes to pancakes, I’m in! :P

    19thmayflower: Haha, takkanlah panaskan pun masuk jail! :P I guess I can’t say much now, coz I don’t have my own place, but who knows, maybe in the future I’ll be guilty of the same!

    Reply
  9. Trissy

    HELLO! THE PANCAKES LOOK AWEEESUUUMZ! May I know what kind of flour did you use? Is it All-purpose flour? THX SO MUCH LUV YOUR FOODBLOG BTW : >

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi Trissy, thanks for dropping by :) Yup, I used all-purpose flour. Hope you’ll like them! Make sure to eat them with something sweet since there’s no sugar in the recipe :)

    Reply
  11. samantha

    hey! i made the pancakes.. but the texture didnt turn out right.. it was kind of gooey and not really soft ): ): any idea why?

    Reply
  12. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi samantha, if it was gooey, it means it’s undercooked. Your heat must’ve been too high, making the pancakes brown faster, but undercooked in the interior. It’s gonna take a longer time, but going low heat, and flipping only once (as compared to constantly flipping) ensures that your pancakes get cooked. You want low heat, longer duration, just remember that :)

    Oh, and if you want, you may also cover your pan with a lid, so that the heat gets trapped, and the pancake will cook thoroughly faster. Hope that helps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

