the one where cinnamon stumped me

Unsuspecting freckled appearance.

Crunchy outside, chewy center.

Subtle hint of cinnamon love in every bite.

Three days on, still perfect texture.

I’m sold.

Try it, and you’ll know what I mean.

Snickerdoodles
(adapted from Martha’s Holiday Cookies)
– makes about 40 small, or 20 regular -

2 3/4 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 large eggs

2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

  1. Preheat oven to 180C.
  2. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt; set aside.
  3. Cream butter and 1 1/2 cups sugar on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes.
  4. Mix in eggs. Reduce speed to low; gradually mix in flour mixture.
  5. Stir together cinnamon and remaining 2 tablespoons sugar in a small bowl.
  6. Shape dough into 20 (1 3/4-inch) balls; roll in cinnamon sugar. Space 3 inches apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.
  7. Bake cookies, rotating sheets halfway through, until edges are golden, 12 to 15 minutes.

Note: I got about 40 small ones by shaping 1/2 tablespoon of dough.

p/s: Selamat Hari Raya Haji to everyone! Eidul Adha Mubarak!

19 thoughts on “the one where cinnamon stumped me

  1. Shaheen

    Oh thank you so much for this. Will try these out soon. I *love* cinnamon too! And you make them look so pretty in the cute tin box and very skillful photography!

    Reply
  2. faizah

    selamat hari raya haji, dear! i’ve seen so many posts on snickerdoodles around but am afraid of how people at home will take to it. nonetheless, this recipe will sure be bookmarked.

    and oh, don’t we all love brownies cookie tins. =)

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    Shaheen: Thanks, dearie! I hope you’ll like them :) I never knew how much I loved cinnamon until someone pointed it out :P

    faizah: I was afraid of that as well, since my mom can’t take too much cinnamon. But it turned out to be a hit with everyone! A tip is that you can divide the dough into two; one with cookie balls rolled in a lot of cinnamon powder, another with *just* enough cinnamon powder. I served everyone the former, while my mom and my niece had the second batch. Try it! :D

    didally: Thanks, sweetie :) The tin actually contained chocolate wafer cookies which were long wiped out.

    Reply
  4. Bernie

    Those cinnamon cookies look so good! And I love cinnamon! Will bake them one day. Your blog also looks fantastic, I’m adding it to my blogroll.

    Bernie

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    Bernie: Thanks, Bernie. Do give it a try; I’m sure you’ll love them! :)

    grace: It’s amazing how something so simple and homely can be so perfect! And I agree, the best name ever :)

    Indigo: Thanks, dearie! I totally understand the whole craving bit :P

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Cinnamon Sugared Cookies « EAT

Leave a Reply

