cinnamon in the park

The mister and I celebrated our 40th month recently, and with all the hectic schedules and busy projects we somehow alternately get ourselves busy with, we thought it was pretty much overdue that we found time for ourselves. And what better way to spend quality time together than an afternoon over a picnic on the greens.

The park was filled with children running around in excitement, finding entertainment in fallen twigs, and fussing over their packed fast food lunches. Parents chased after little ones confidently steering their tricycles off the gravel track, while a lady seeking inspiration, armed with a journal and pen in hand, looks on with a faint smile. The weather was perfect for building castles with every rolling cloud.

And of course, a perfect weather warrants great food.

We had quite a spread; the mister provided hotdog rolls, chips, and drinks, while I packed fried macaroni and cinnamon rolls. Unfortunately, hungry couple + huge spread + perfect weather = no photos of the food massacre.

As some of you might have already noticed, I’ve included a long overdue recipe index page for the ease of reference. I had been receiving a couple of e-mails asking for a recipe index, because as Shaheen had pointed out to me, the search engine on the site is not as sensitive. Looking through each and every single entry dating back from late 2006 results in the resurfacing of recipes I’ve long forgotten about, and those ‘keeper’ recipes which apparently were so well kept that they remained hidden within the depths of 130 entries. While I have my eyes on quite a couple of old recipes, I knew that these cinnamon rolls deserved an immediate re-visit specially for this picnic.

Worried that I might be running late the next day, I made the dough a day prior to the picnic. I halved the recipe, and baked only half of the dough (5 rolls) for the parents and myself. The other half of the proofed dough was tightly wrapped in plastic and left in the refrigerator to be rolled and filled the next day. I was not sure whether refrigerating the dough would make a difference to the texture, so after shaping the rolls the next day, I left them on the counter for a bit before they went into the oven.

I was glad that the resultant rolls were as fluffy as the first batch I made, and even though the mister wasn’t too keen on the raisins, he said that without them raisins, they tasted like soft pretzels. Coming from the one who professed that he could eat pretzels every day, I guess that meant the cinnamon rolls never lost their touch. It also helped that the first batch was wiped out by the parents within half an hour of serving.

Aside: The news had been filled with worrying reports in Asia recently; the Thailand protests and the Mumbai attacks. My heart goes out to those families affected, particularly the lives lost and injured during the terror attacks.

Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls
(adapted from here)
– serves 12 -

1 packet active dry yeast
1 cup warm milk
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup butter
2 eggs
4 cups flour

FILLING:
1 cup brown sugar
2 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon powder
1/3 cup butter, softened

ICING:
8 tbsps butter
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

  1. In a large bowl, dissolve the yeast in the warm milk.
  2. Add sugar, butter, flour and eggs. Mix well.
  3. Knead the dough into a large ball, and place in a bowl, covered with a damp towel, and allow to rise for about an hour.
  4. When doubled in size, punch the dough down. Roll out the dough onto a lightly floured surface to form a rectangle about 1/4 inch thick.
  5. Preheat the oven to 200C.
  6. To make the filling, combine the brown sugar and cinnamon in a bowl.
  7. Spread the softened butter over the surface of the dough, and sprinkle the filling evenly over the surface.
  8. Roll the dough tightly from the long edge to the bottom edge.
  9. Cut the dough into slices about 1 3/4 inch, and place in a lightly greased pan, slightly apart.
  10. Bake for about 12-15 mins.
  11. To make the icing, beat all the ingredients until fluffy. Spread generously over the cinnamon rolls when they are done.

Note: The above recipe is the full recipe, not the halved one I used. After some feedback, I’ve increased the baking time so that the rolls are fully cooked. If you prefer doughy chewy rolls, bake for about 10-12mins.

24 thoughts on “cinnamon in the park

  1. faizah

    omg you read my mind! i’ve been searching for a fail-proof cinnamon rolls recipe because the mother felt like having some. ohhh i still remember the cinnabon days.

    thanks for the recipe dear!

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, sweetz :) There are several occasions when we simply exchange wishes and sneak in a gift or two, but hectic schedules definitely require greater effort :P

    linda: Thanks, dearie :) I wish we could have a virtual picnic of sorts; I’d absolutely love feasting on your bakes!

    faizah: No problem, dearie! Hope your mom will like them as well :) I just love fail-proof recipes, although they kinda bring out the boring one in me since I don’t wanna try other recipes thereafter :P

    Reply
  3. Shaheen @ Ambrosia

    I love cinnamon buns! I like mine topped with brown sugar and pecan.

    I wish I could fill up a basket full of food and head to the park. However, this seems like a distant reality. This is because the “good” parks don’t allow eatables. I’m embarrassed to say that Indians simply mess up the place by throwing paper/wrappers etc around and don’t clean up after they’re done. *sigh*

    Reply
  4. White on Rice

    Yes, my thoughts go to everyone and all the innocent victims in Mumbai.

    Also…wow!!! Has it been that long since I’ve been back?? Your new blog is just beautiful!! Pass on those great cinnamon rolls and let’s celebrate your new home!

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    Shaheen: Brown sugar and pecan sounds great! It’s such a pity that the parks there don’t allow eatables. But I guess it would make a great park experience, without all the litter. A picnic here when you drop by, perhaps? :)

    White on Rice: Thanks, dearie(s)! Oh my, I’ve been missing out on your entries too. Time to catch up! :D

    arfi: Oh I’ve heard of chelsea buns. Never knew they were the same, though! :P

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    grace: Awww, I don’t think anyone has described any of my bakes as pure and delightful! :D Thanks, sweetie!

    jean: Thanks, doll! :)

    plethora: Awww, thanks! I’m guessing you’re a cinnamon roll/cinnabon fan? Hehe :D

    Reply
  7. Ashley

    Yum cinnamon rolls! I can never turn those down. I was trying to figure out a way to make cinnamon rolls to have on Christmas morning and whether I could refrigerate the dough or not so it’s nice to know that it worked out well for you!

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    It was such a relief for me to find that out as well! I tend to rush in the morning, yet I almost always want some fluffy breads/muffin. So look forward to freshly baked cinnamon rolls on Christmas morn! :D

    Reply
  9. Pingback: YeastSpotting December 5, 2008 | Wild Yeast

Leave a Reply

