notes from the baking addict

It never really occured to me, but when I incessantly whined to the mister about the dilemma I was in;– I had my largest order over the last weekend, hence I had to reserve my resources, so to speak;– I knew that I was addicted to baking. Don’t get me wrong; other than the upsize in bills and waistline, I don’t see anything I should be ashamed of.

While I was still rapt in thoughts, the mister distracted me with a suggestion to cook for a change. An idea that would have previously left me adamantly scoffing to hide my guilt of not being the least stove-gifted, but at that point, I was ready to take on anything to curb the addiction.

What I had initially planned to be just a quick rummage through the packets of instant mixes soon morphed into the mother’s kitchen crash course to what I’m supposed to do, as opposed to what the cooking-challenged me can do. Biggest lesson of the day: no amount of rushed albeit hassle-free cooking can be as good as the meal you’ve “toiled and troubled” over. Many garlic cloves, onions, and a wok of fried macaroni later, much love and gratitude to the resident chef of the household for I had passed my very first cooking assignment.

Now on to more familiar terrains, shall we?

You would think that after the weekend’s one-lady operation of churning out 324 muffins, getting two small burns, having “I can’t feel my legs” as an MSN caption, and watching the mister sweat it out up and down the stairs to bring down eight large boxes, would satiate the baking itch, and see me staying within a 50m radius around the oven. But the very next morning greeted a pyjama-clad me deciding which bookmarked item will be my snack of the day. More photos of my weekend on the photo blog.

I wanted to celebrate the end of the week with something festive, yet not overtly decadent nor heavy. Other than the fact that I wanted to pamper myself after all the ovenwork, the weekend’s events made me realise I had plenty to be thankful about.

Being a baking addict, I could’ve sworn that after all the work, I can never look at my oven the same way again. I even contemplated naming him;– I name my toys, cameras, laptop, mobile phone because of the sense of attachment I feel towards them;– but decided against it, since the oven doesn’t belong to me. But I was as proud of that little hot box as a beaming mother at her daughter’s ballet recital. I’ve heard of oven nightmares amidst huge orders, and I’m so thankful that the oven did not fail on me.

Shortly after the completing the order, the mister mentioned how proud he was of me. He has never stopped being supportive of what I’m doing, and with a new project under the wing, I can only be ever so grateful and thankful for his faith and belief in me, even when I’ve had my own doubts countless of times. *wuvwuv*

Most importantly, I am thankful for every day that He has given me; each a renewed opportunity for me to appreciate the littlest things in life and to cherish the love and beauty that surrounds me, for as cliched as it sounds, today is a gift, that is why it is called the present.

I am sending this over to Ivy of Kopiaste for her World Food Day – Time to be Thankful event.

Mexican Wedding Cookies
(adapted from here)

1 cup butter
1/2 cup powdered sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 teaspoons water
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup chopped almonds
1/2 cup powdered sugar (for coating)

  1. Preheat oven to 160C.
  2. In a medium bowl, cream the butter and sugar. Stir in vanilla and water.
  3. Add the flour and almonds, mix until blended.
  4. Shape dough into balls. Place on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 15-20 mins.
  5. Remove from pan to cool on wire racks. When cookies are cool, roll in powdered sugar.
22 thoughts on “notes from the baking addict

  1. the mister

    WAHHHHHHH…..

    My stomach literally growled angrily when I cast my eyes upon that macaroni pic…

    I WANT!

    And some of your trademarked mac and cheese too, please! :)

    Reply
  2. didally

    324 muffins over the weekend?!! I gotta give it to you. Take a break, sweetie. Your fried macaroni looks delicious. I like to fry macaroni the chinese way for a change.

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: The next we get together for a picnic, k? But you want mac & cheese or the I-can-eat-this-everyday-for-the-rest-of-my-life pretzels? :P

    liz: Thanks, dearie :) It was my first time making them; I usually get them from Spinelli’s. Love the texture! I think I didn’t chop my almonds up finely enough though, so maybe next time I’ll just grab a packet of chopped ones from the store.

    didally: Thanks, dearie *hugs* I’m a huge fan of fried macaroni, and practically grew up with them. I don’t think I’ve ever had macaroni any other way. My mom makes macaroni soup/stew, but I’d always run back to fried macaroni. Kinda like mee goreng/nasi goreng don’t you think? Easy comfort food.

    Reply
  4. linda

    I think it’s a good thing that you outdid yourself with cooking, very good! You’ve inspired me to make some pasta tonight.
    And wow, 324 muffins!!! And still have energy to make those delicious and lovely Mexican wedding cookies….wow!

    Reply
  5. April

    *bows down to you for making all of those cup cakes* I haven’t had Mexican wedding cookies in forever, and I’ve never made them myself! I’ve always tasted them from a friend. These look DELISH! I’m off to make them right now! Beautiful pictures!

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    linda: Awww, thanks sweetie :) Truth be told, I’m actually feeling braver to pick up new skills in the cooking department. It’s all that lack of measurements when learning from my mother that gets to me. Everything’s ‘to taste’, and I guess I’m too used to precise baking measurements! :P

    thecoffeesnob: More than 3kg of chocolate chips. That’s where all the muffin lovin’ comes from :D

    April: Thanks, April! I was the same as well; always grabbing them at the coffee joint, but never thought of making them myself :P Hope you’ll like this recipe! :)

    grace: Awww, thanks dearie :)

    Helene: Hahaha, hi-fives a fellow baking addict! :P

    Reply
  7. Ivy

    Wow, thanks for the lovely recipe. I never knew that Mexican Wedding Cookies were the same we make in Greece and Cyprus and call kourabiedes. Thanks very much for participating in the WFD Event.

    Reply
  8. happygrub

    3-2-4 muffins, I’m speechless.

    Good job Zhullie! I would have been down and out for days, u still managed to bake cookies??? R u human, woman?

    Reply
  9. Aimei

    Wow…I always I have that uch enegy when it comes t baking. As much as I love baking, when it comes to baking in HUGE quantities, I really felt I have to give up. You are making me inspired. :)

    Oh by the way, I’ve tagged you to do a meme. hehe… Have fun!

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    Ivy: They’re also called russian tea cakes, I believe. I never knew there was a Grecian variation! And thanks for hosting; I’m looking forward to the round-up :)

    jean: Who would’ve guessed right! And I actually cooked fried rice and macaroni soup yesterday. Serious. Haha :P

    happygrub: Haha, thanks, dearie! :D I expected me to be on bedrest the next few days, actually. But I think seeing all those bakes, and none for me, pushed me to go forth :P

    Aimei: Awww, thanks sweetz. It’s very tiring but I love baking huge orders because of the adrenaline rush! So far it’s not that bad, but the most memorable one was completing a 100 wedding cupcake order while I was rolling around on the sofa having my cramps. Emotional roller-coaster that one! :P

    Reply
  11. Pingback: WFD - Time to be Thankful! Roundup.

  12. xq

    made these for the first time last week to bring to a friend’s party, they were so easy to make and turned out great, so delicious, thanks!

    Reply
  13. Pingback: A Colonial Mexican Wedding | WedShare * Daily

  14. Pingback: Spanish-Fiesta Themed Wedding Inspiration | Heidi Ryder Photography: The Blog

Leave a Reply

