of rainbows and wonderland

These psychedelic rainbow cupcakes go out to Indigo for her Welcome to Wonderland event. She got me at “whimsical, weird and wonderful”;– after human-meat pies in Sweeney Todd, Tim Burton should make one with these seemingly innocent rainbow cupcakes, complete with Oompa Loompas of course.

This box, on the other hand, went to the princess of the family, whose faithful collection (and growing) of the different My Little Ponies sets reminded me that kids love cupcakes, and kids love rainbow, so by equation, they ought to love rainbow cupcakes.

Rainbow Cupcakes
(adapted from Nigella Lawson’s How To Be A Domestic Goddess; makes 9)

125g butter
125g self-raising flour
125g caster sugar
2 eggs
2 tbsps milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
food colouring

  1. Preheat oven to 200C.
  2. Using a wooden spoon, cream butter and sugar in a bowl until light and fluffy.
  3. Beat in eggs one at a time, mixing a bit of flour with each addition.
  4. Add the vanilla extract.
  5. Mix in the rest of the flour.
  6. Add milk one tbsp at a time.
  7. Separate the batter according to the number of food colouring you have, and add in the food colouring. Spoon a bit of each different coloured batter into each muffin cup, until about 1/2 full.
  8. Bake for 15-20mins. Frost as desired.

Note: You can use any of your favourite vanilla cupcake recipes; I opted for Nigella’s because I was pressed for time, and they’re pretty much hassle-free, with easy-to-remember quantities.

56 thoughts on “of rainbows and wonderland

  1. the mister bie

    “after human-meat pies in Sweeney Todd, Tim Burton should make one with these seemingly innocent rainbow cupcakes, complete with Oompa Loompas of course.”

    *shock* *shock*

    *horror* *horror*

    what a thing to say!!! that’s very disturbing, dear… -_-‘

    anyhoo, the pic where u sliced it into half makes it look like its made out of rainbows! :D

    Reply
  2. Tina

    OMG!! those are awesome, I am about speechless at their awesomeness lol I came to see your bookmarked item, and these stopped me quick hehe.. amazing!

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Hehehe :) Now if only I knew exactly which cloud Tenderheart lived on, I would’ve given a cupcake to him. I’m sure them care bears would’ve loved these!

    Lush: Thank you :) I’ve been putting this off for the longest time ever; do give it a try with your favourite vanilla cupcake recipe!

    Tina: Thanks, sweetie! A fellow bookmark-er, I see. Hehe. Thanks for dropping by :)

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    didally: Thanks, sweetie! The colours are very enticing, doncha think? :P

    Gigi: Thanks, dearie! :) I love how bright the colours came out.

    grace: Aww, thank you, sweetie :) I’ve got just the thing in mind for your event; hope I can make it in time!

    Reply
  5. White on Rice

    Really, these have to be my favorite cupcakes that i’ve seen so far! They are truly amazing, original and delicious looking. You made me happy with the rainbows!

    Reply
  6. Maya

    These cupcakes possess an elegant simplicity. It’s amazing how you just played around with colours to create this beautiful cupcakes. No fancy frills! I should give this a try soon :) I love how you can actually see E colours on E cupcake liners! Your frosting seems to pipe really nicely. Wat kinda frosting was tht?

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    Bernice: Thanks, sweetie! :)

    White on Rice: Glad that the rainbows brightened up your day! :)

    Maya: Yah, I love how the cupcake liners look as though someone had coloured on them with crayons :P They’re normal BC frosting, btw.

    Indigo: No problem, sweetz! Glad you love them :) Can’t wait for the round-up!

    Reply
  8. happygrub

    Gorgeous, u have so many colours there!I love the piping, I piped for the first time last weekend, u can check out my post on the other blog.

    PS. Am I the only one around here hit by the failure of uploading pictures thing on wordpress? sorry that sounded grammatically incorrect. But am I??

    Reply
  9. Cheryl

    Those are the best. There is something inherently wrong with food that bright that doesn’t come out of the ground that way, but who cares when you see these? Sign me up for those the next birthday in this house!

    Reply
  10. Ashley

    As I was scrolling through this post I was thinking oh yea there are some cupcakes, they look pretty normal – oh wait *jaw drops* rainbow cupcakes!! They look great.

    Reply
  11. ovenhaven Post author

    happygrub: Oh I can’t wait to see what you came up with :) I don’t think you’re the only one facing the problem, though; I think it’s the WP server. I’ve had no problems perhaps because I use an external host for my photos.

    Cheryl: Oh I wish food came out of the ground this bright! What a bright and psychedelic fun world this would be :D Thanks for dropping by. Love those quilts!

    Ashley: Hehe; thanks, sweetie! :P

    Reply
  12. PaniniKathy

    How incredibly fun are those!! And I love the idea of applying the bright colors to the cake, rather than to the frosting. At a recent 1-year old birthday party I went to, the cupcakes had the brightest blue frosting imaginable. You guessed it – we all grinned in blue for the rest of the afternoon!! :-)

    Reply
  13. Jenn

    These look amazing. i want to make them for my nephews 1st b-day this weekend. How did you layer the batter to get that beautiful formation. I’m wondering how the red batter and blue batter got into that teardrop shape without spreading through the whole cupcake????

    Reply
  14. ovenhaven Post author

    PaniniKathy: Oh that sounds like such a fun birthday party! I had initially wanted to colour the frosting duo-tone, but didn’t want the attention taken away from the rainbow cupcakes themselves :)

    Jerry: Sorry for the craving! :P

    Susan: You should definitely give it a try; it’s a hit with the kids! :D

    Jenn: Truth be told, I have no idea how it turned out that way! I think I might have placed more batter in the middle for each coloured layer. Perhaps you can give that a try. Happy advanced birthday to your lil nephew! :D

    Reply
  15. morgana

    Wow! I wanted to try this since a long ago but didn’t know if it was going to turn into s success or a disaster. You did it! And it was a complete success. I thing I will try.

    Thank you and congratulations.

    Reply
  16. Charmaine:D

    Please teach me how to do he frosting please!!!!! OMG i’ve been looking around for recepies and none,interests me, only yourss! Pleaseee!

    Reply
  17. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi Charmaine, thanks for dropping by! :) I’m so sorry but I don’t actually have a fixed recipe for the frosting. My family and friends can testify to this; I just throw in the proportions according to taste. Sorry dearie!

    Reply
  18. Mag!

    I use the same recipe! But how do you get the colours so vibrant? I have a box of Wilton food colouring and it’s supposed to be richer colours but my colours turn out sooo pastel. Love all your cupcakes!! (:

    Reply
  19. ovenhaven Post author

    Thanks, sweetie :) I use Wilton’s as well! It’s those gel ones, right? Not liquid? It shouldn’t turn out pastel then. Just a lil drop gets the colour so rich!

    Reply
  20. hudy

    Hey, I am really new in baking so I really need more details. Sorry to bother you, seriously. I just need to know a few stuffs.

    Do you beat the eggs?
    Is it evaporated milk?

    And how do you make the frost? Is there a recipe that you have put up before?

    Do mail me back. Thanks a lot!

    Reply
  21. ovenhaven Post author

    “Beat in eggs” means just add in the eggs while you’re mixing the batter. You don’t need to beat it prior to that. And nope, I used whole milk, not evaporated. I don’t have a frosting recipe, unfortunately; it’s really up to my taste and desired consistency. Sorry!

    Reply
  22. j

    Hello, this might sound stupid, but may I know some storage tips for muffins/cupcakes in general? (I would be baking this soon and I’m a first-time baker! I was thrilled to find your recipe!) Hmm so like, I would like to bake it for a friend’s birthday and if I bake it a day in advance, do I just leave it in air tight containers or do I need to refrigerate them? Thank you in advance!

    p.s. I found your blog through picturing food and I must say I love it!

    Reply
  23. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi j, thanks for dropping by :) For overnight storage, you can just keep them in an airtight container. I find that cupcakes retain their flavour and moistness best that way, compared to refrigerating them. Hope that helps, and best of luck!

    Reply
  24. Pingback: Catch A Rainbow! « wish fulfillment – the Elfster blog

  25. Georgie

    Just tried this out – they’re on the cooling rack at the moment.
    I added loads of food colouring but they’re still a lot paler than the picture (probably due to the fact I used bog standard food colouring), but other than that they look successful!
    Any tips on how to make it more vibrant?
    I made ginger and lime buttercream to ice and although it’s not really a taste match made in heaven, I wanted to road-test the recipe. Alone, it’s delicious!
    Am yet to taste them together, but I’m hoping it’s tasty.
    Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Definitely use gel food colouring when you’re baking. I’d recommend Wilton’s. All you need is just a tiny little dot, and it comes out really vibrant! Ginger and lime buttercream sounds good to me :D

  26. Pingback: 21.07.10 – Cooking Experiment « Now you're in, you can't get out.

  27. Pingback: twenty eight | the chang story

Leave a Reply

