a peanut butter sandy beach

As you would have guessed by now, I am a huge fan of anything that is hassle-free, or requires very few ingredients, which clearly explains my love for dump-and-stir muffins. But when you are craving for bite-sized cookies, and pressed for time (we are talking about major I-want-it-pronto type of craving here) and the only cookie recipes you have at your perusal all include butter, you feel like drawing chocolate cookie pieces in grape-scented ink pen and munching them.

You see, one of the greater evils in the kitchen for me is that block of butter lying in the refrigerator. Firstly, I do not like touching butter. I do not like having them on my hands. It reminds me of cheese and milk. I take extra care with them, armed with my metal/wooden spoon, and when a smidgen touches my fingers, I would immediately wash it off with lots of soap. There is just something about that greasy oily milk/cheese-smelling thing that I really do not like.

Secondly, as if it is bad enough, butter refuses to work with me. It is very surprising how a block of butter will gracefully take its own sweet time to bask in the glorious heat of the Singapore sun (and by golly, being a tiny red dot of an island 200km off the equator is no mean feat), and simply refuse to soften. So, as far as I’m concerned, cookies are meant for planners, not cravers.

So imagine my delight when I flipped through my “Recipes – Cookies” folder;– half-heartedly, if I may add;– and came across this. No butter. Just brilliant peanut butter. It could not have arrived at a better time. And as if the constellations were trying to tell me something, several recipes down, I found the exact same recipe bookmarked from another favourite blogger of mine. Twice loved, the recipe definitely did not disappoint.

These peanut butter sandies were dense, and simply melted in your mouth. If you are a huge fan of peanut butter, this is the best there is out there. I say that with no qualms because it really felt as though you were eating peanut butter out of the jar, complete with that authentic peanut-butter-sticking-to-the-roof-of-your-tongue feeling. These would cure any peanut butter cravings within the first bite, yet they leave you reaching into that cookie jar addictively.

Before tasting, I wondered why “sandies”, and not merely “cookies”? Well, for me, the coarse sandy grit of the sugar-peanut butter mix definitely brings to mind an image of lying on a peanut butter sandy beach, where you can simply scoop up the sand in the palm of your hands, form a little dough, and ta-daa, peanut butter sandies.

I’m too imaginative, I know.

Because they’re twice bookmarked, and oh so good, I’m sending these over to Ruth’s Bookmarked Recipes event.

Peanut Butter Sandies
(adapted from here and here)

1 3/4 cup smooth peanut butter (I used 1 1/2 cup chunky pb)
1 cup flour (I used 3/4 cups)
1 cup light brown sugar

  1. Preheat oven to 180C.
  2. In a large bowl, mix brown sugar and peanut butter. Gradually add flour until combined.
  3. Using your hands, roll about a tablespoon of dough into a ball. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet and flatten slightly.
  4. Bake for about 8mins. Leave to cool for about 5 mins before transferring them to a cooling rack.
32 thoughts on “a peanut butter sandy beach

  1. the mister bie

    You see, one of the greater evils in the kitchen for me is that block of butter lying in the refrigerator. Firstly, I do not like touching butter. I do not like having them on my hands. It reminds me of cheese and milk. I take extra care with them, armed with my metal/wooden spoon, and when a smidgen touches my fingers, I would immediately wash it off with lots of soap. There is just something about that greasy oily milk/cheese-smelling thing that I really do not like.

    Wah… I’m glad I’m not a cheese / dairy product. That would have hurt my feelings ah! Hehe… :P

    Oh yah… I forgot my trademarked exclamation for cookie entries…

    MOOTIES!!!!!!!!!

    Eh… hrmm… this time is ‘sandies’ ah?

    Oh well…

    SANDIES!!!!!!
    :P

    Reply
  2. grace

    three ingredients? awesome. and they’re definitely legitimate peanut butter cookies because they have the tell-tale criss-cross pattern on top. bravo!

    Reply
  3. faizah

    hi there! i stumbled upon your blog while searching for a recipe and i must say, i’m here to stay. your recipes are easy and hassle free, like these pb cookies.

    (i’ve tried the banana bread and everyone loves it!)

    if you don’t mind, i’ll hyperlink your site once i’ve tried and posted these amazing looking cookies over at mine.

    =)

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    didally: Of all the bakes, I hate washing up after making cupcake frosting, because of all the butter/shortening. Altogether now… EWWWWW…. On another note altogether, do give this a try. You won’t regret it!

    grace: Haha, good to know I’m not the only one who thinks no pb cookie should go un-crisscross-ed! :P

    faizah: Hey sweetie, thank for dropping by. Good to hear you loved the banana bread! I’m guessing it’s the Mrs Hockmeyer’s one? Coz that sure is my fave! :P

    Reply
  5. linda

    I’m so sorry you don’t like butter ;) But I can imagine if you don’t like cheese that butter will give a certain smell to your hands that is reminiscent to cheese.
    I love simple cookie recipes with few ingredients. I’ve seen them without flour with eggs but never with flour and without eggs…interesting. They look delicious!

    Reply
  6. Maya

    This is a MUST try since it’s soooo simple! I shall go and buy a bottle of Pb tomorrow! I wonder what would happen if E mister is a cheese and you are a durian…Hmm Durian Cheesecake?? Haha! *Silly grin*

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    linda: Thanks, dearie! And yup, I’m guessing it must be that whole cheese thing that makes me not like butter. Having said that, I’ve got a mixing bowl of buttercream frosting remnants in the sink right now, which I’m procrastinating to wash… *sigh*

    Maya: Durian cheesecake??? OMG, is there even such a thing? It sounds so… foul! :P

    Aimei: Oh then you’d be very pleased with these, I’m sure! :)

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    E for KC: Oh unfortunately as much I dislike butter, I sure bake a whole lot with butter! So I guess my thighs aren’t so thankful for that, either :P

    ruthEbabes: Hehe, I’m all for cutesy bite-sized, that’s why I got more than the original recipe was supposed to yield :P

    Reply
  9. vin

    oh my peanut butteeeeer! :D
    im going to try these during the national day weekend!
    hope they turn out better this time round!
    yay! (:

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    vin: I’m guessing you’re a peanut butter fan from your exclamation? Hehe :P Well if you are, you won’t regret this!

    Tina: Don’t you just love simple recipes with few ingredients! :D

    Reply
  11. Carrie

    Hi,

    I would like to try this out, but I don’t have the cups for measuring, so can u kindly convert ingredients into grams for me? thankies! =)

    Reply
  12. Maya

    Harlow! :D Been wanting to leave a comment here but I’d been so bz! Anyways, I tried this recipe. Its yummy! My teddy “stole” some! :D Thanks 4 sharing babe :)

    Reply
  13. Carrie

    Hi hi!

    I tried this recipe this afternoon! Its Yummylicious! Literally melt in the mouth!

    Lots of thanks for sharing this lovely recipe!

    Cheers!

    Reply
  14. ovenhaven Post author

    Maya: Sure thing, girl. Glad you liked the recipe :)

    Rita: Hope this would convince you to bake more cookies! :)

    Carrie: No problem, sweetie :) Glad you loved them :)

    Reply
  15. ida

    it looks so yummy…and its so easy to make too!

    i hope i can try it out this weekend :D

    but i wonder how many cookies did you get from this recipe?

    Reply
  16. Elisabeth S. Paquet

    Just made these! As in just pulled them out of the oven… I did tweak the recipe a bit though…I had some crunchy knock off Nutella spread from World Market and I did half Peanut Butter and half of that. They turn out a bit more of a brown tone but they are amazing!!! Totally a keeper!

    Reply
  17. faith

    hey from the website, the cup measurement for different ingredients are different in grams? haha i didn’t know man.

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Yup, that’s the reason most bakers find it more accurate to use metric. It makes perfect sense actually, since a cup of cotton balls would definitely weigh much less than that filled with crushed paper, hence sugar (heavier density) would weigh more than flour :)

Leave a Reply

