distracted by chocolate

I have been spending a lot of my time at home as of late, not doing anything in particular. Waking up to Oprah on the box set, fixing a quick brunch after Rachel Ray’s, and mostly drifting away in my own dreams.

It is always beautiful to see the day taking a slower pace, where you can simply look out the window, and allow the ruffling leaves with each teasing breeze steal time from your thoughts. Yet it never fails to surprise me how time flies when you’re having fun, and by your next blink, the sun would be kissing the azure skies adieu, slipping into the arms of the moon.

Amidst my daydreams, I constantly find my thoughts drifting away to specific chocolate distractions. There were those moist and fluffy chocolate chip muffins for a Youth Day order, that I secretly wished I had baked more extras, simply because the testers, and myself alike, couldn’t stop at one. And then there was that large crumbly chocolate crinkle cookie at Coffee Bean (though it didn’t retail by that name) that was the perfect morning snack while waiting for my birthday movie treat to begin. Oh, the powdered sugar goodness.

But like all beautiful distractions, with those in mind, I ended up being distracted by yet another chocolate beauty around the corner.

I first saw these on Amanda’s, and I knew that I had to give them a try. With just four ingredients and simple preparatory steps, what intrigued me most were the positive reviews these seemingly plain biscuits had from those who have tried their hands on them. And so I reckoned that these simple beauties would be the perfect accompaniment to my simple afternoon.

I baked the first tray, and while I loved the texture of these biscuits (they were firm, yet crumbly), I found that they could be a bit bitter upon the first bite, and thereafter proceeded to add in about half a cup of mini sweetened chocolate chips into the dough. The addition of chocolate chips was just enough not to overwhelm the texture and defining smoky flavour of the biscuits. It offered a little sweet crunch for those who prefer an intriguing balance of flavour in their bites. Having said that, the mister and I had them crushed with our serving of ice-cream today, and that certainly pushed the envelope to ultimate perfection.

And I for one, can’t stop popping one after another as I’m typing this, wishing I had ice-cream stashed away in the mini fridge.

Granny Boyd’s Biscuits

300g self-raising flour
30g cocoa powder
250g unsalted butter
125g caster sugar
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

  1. Preheat the oven to 170C.
  2. Sieve flour and cocoa powder. Set aside.
  3. Cream butter and sugar until pale and light.
  4. Mix in the flour mixture and chocolate chips until the dough forms.
  5. Roll into walnut-sized balls, and arrange on a greased sheet.
  6. Flatten the balls with the back of a fork.
  7. Bake at 170C for 5mins, then lower the temperature to 150C and bake for 10-15mins (I did mine for 11mins, because I liked them crispy on the outside, but chewy on the inside)

Update:

A reader informed me of an interesting blog event started by Coffee, called Monthly Blog Patrol, and with this month’s theme being Less Is More (5 ingredients or less), this recipe makes the cut! Thank you for hosting, Nupur!

28 thoughts on “distracted by chocolate

  1. the mister

    It’s been a while but…

    MOOTIES!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hehe… I lurrrrrrrrrve your photos! Esp the first one, it looks like the two muffins in the background are gossiping about the one in the foreground! So cute! :D

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    Hehehe, I never saw it that way until you mentioned it. Now I’m wondering what they’re gossiping about :P

    Enjoy your mooties, cutie ;)

    Reply
  3. linda

    Totally agree on the photo’s especially the granny cookie ones!
    Never had the crinkle cookie but I love the chai they serve at The coffee bean & the tea leaf.
    I love recipes with only a few ingredients, usually makes me want to try it out sooner.

    Reply
  4. thecoffeesnob

    Ooh chocolate! I love how perfectly dome shaped the chocolate muffins are. Anyway i know exactly what you mean about the hours just lazily slipping you by but oh, it’s such a glorious way to live life, if only for a while :)

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    Ashley: Thanks! I made them bite-sized, coz it feels less indulgent to pop mini ones into your mouth. Or so I convince myself :P

    Gigi: Why thank you, sweetie! :)

    linda: Precisely! It makes them look hassle-free, which is always a huge plus point in my eyes :P

    thecoffeesnob: It is, isn’t it? I’d like to think of it as a natural detox Life provides you with; to soak in the beauty of your every day lest you forget amidst your hectic schedules. :)

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    jean: Haha, chocolate rules my world, I tell ya! :D

    Tarah: Thanks for dropping by, Tarah! And yes, when it comes to chocolate, it is always a NEED, never a want :P

    didally: Wish I could pass some over to you, sweetie! :)

    Reply
  7. grace

    these sound super easy and super yummy. “distracted by chocolate” is an understatement where i’m concerned. i can see it or smell and be rendered useless for hours. :)

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Hahaha, I love your description; “rendered useless for hours”! If there’s one thing in this world that can do that, it sure has got to be chocolate! :P

    Reply
  9. Deb Zemek

    Your blog is divine! I so want to make these cookies but I can’t find a conversion to US measurements – any chance you know what they are? Your pictures make me drool!

    thanks!

    debzy

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    Nupur: Thanks for hosting, Nupur! :) I can’t wait to check the round-up.

    Indigo: Why thank you, sweetie. I’m still cracking my brains to see if I can whip up anything in time for your event :P

    Helene: Thanks for dropping by, Helene. Do give it a try! :)

    Reply
  11. vin

    hello i tried the recipe and did follow the instructions exactly,
    but i came up with very doughy & dry cookies ):
    taste like drey pineapple tarts ):
    wonder what i did wrong argh

    Reply
  12. happygrub

    Hey, how have you been? How come you’re not at work and lounging around with Oprah and Rachel Ray? I know exactly how u feel at those times, those weekday tv shows are terribly addictive. Makes me feel like I wanna be an American housewife in another life.. heehee..

    I am in KERALA and guess what, its RAINING. Thats why I am on the net I suppose.. So far so good, like 4 days of curry and I still want more, makes me wonder where my actual home is, maybe its India.

    Anyway love that cake plate and those cookies, catch up soon.. hugz..

    Reply
  13. elicia

    Hi, thanks for sharing this. I love these biskies, es with the chocolate chips! You take very nice photos!

    And if i may reply to vin, i think maybe u didn’t mix it well enough, thats why its dry? Coz mine was just nice.

    Reply
  14. ovenhaven Post author

    vin: Sorry it didn’t turn out the way you expected it to :( I agree with elicia; perhaps you didn’t mix it well enough? Read from Amanda’s blog that it turned out dry for one of her readers as well. Personally I found that the biscuits were a bit on the dry side initially, which was why I added the chocolate chips to my recipe, so that it had more texture and taste to it. Perhaps you’d prefer a moister cookie like the World Peace cookies; why don’t you give that a try?

    happygrub: FOUR days of curry, and you’re wanting more??? I’d already be in and out of the washroom, if I were in your shoes. Haha :P And about the staying home bit, I’ve actually left my job a month back. :P Have fun in Kerala, and come back with loadsa pics! :D

    elicia: Thanks for dropping by elicia. Glad to hear you liked the biscuits! :)

    Reply
  15. sweetrosie

    I want to come to your place and sit round relaxing with you :) Then you could whip up some delectable snacks for us to munch while we watch Korean soap operas…
    Love, love, love these photos xx

    Reply
  16. destinyskitchen

    Oh my goodness! I just found your blog today, and I wanted to let you know that your photos are beautiful & I can never get enough chocolate either! I’ll be checking in often…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

