the sun got in my eye

There are times when you feel like all that you will ever need is to curl up in bed the whole day, and have a good cry.

And wish you still had that plate of brownie bites to comfort you.

Fudgey Cocoa Brownies
(adapted from here)

1/2 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon salt

  1. Preheat oven to 180C.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine melted butter and cocoa powder. Stir until cocoa powder is dissolved.
  3. Add sugar and mix well.
  4. Add eggs one at a time, and stir well.
  5. Stir in flour, vanilla and salt until just combined.
  6. Bake in an 8 inch square pan for approximately 25mins.

p/s: I baked this in a shallow 9 inch pan, so that the brownies won’t have much height. I then proceeded to cut them into small bite-sized slices, hence the ‘brownie bites’ term.

p/p/s: Sorry for the rather down entry. Things will look up soon. In the meantime, do give this recipe a try; you won’t regret it, I promise. :)

55 thoughts on “the sun got in my eye

  1. grace

    oh yes, i have days like that. there’s not a thing wrong with having a good cry, or with drowning your sorrows in chocolate. lots and lots of chocolate… :)

    Reply
  2. Gigi

    We all go through days like these. If you need anything at all …I’m just an e-mail or comment away. I hope your feeling better. :)

    Reply
  3. linda

    Sorry you don’t feel all that. But crying is usually a good remedy.
    Those brownies must have helped a lot. They look very tempting and delicious and they are making me hungry!
    Hope you feel better soon!

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Thank you, dear. I can’t wait for the rainbow by the end of the horizon…

    grace: I think it’s a really good remedy; drowning your sorrows in chocolate. Everything becomes better with chocolate :)

    Gigi: Thank you, dearie. You’re so sweet :)

    linda: Thank you, sweetie. And yes, they’re actually very tempting, especially since I cut them up real small. I just kept popping and popping and popping… :P

    Reply
  5. jean-marie

    Hey babe, you ok? *hugs* Just nudge me on MSN if you wanna talk about it. Or we cn just talk nonsense if u want :P

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    The Cooking Ninja: Yes, I agree. And a lil chocolate-lovin helps too :P Thanks, dearie :)

    didally: Thank you, sweetie :) Hope you’re enjoying your weekend thus far.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Focaccia - Part 1 « adventures of a foodie from the boonies.

  8. Pingback: tens on my hundred « :: epicurean escapism ::

  9. Pingback: Chocolate chocolate chocolate! « Bernice’s Baking Journey

  10. Pingback: brownies: 1 week, 2 ways « :: epicurean escapism ::

  11. vin

    hi!
    i just baked the second batch of these oh-so-fudgy brownies in 3 days!
    thank you so much for the recipe, perfect end for a hectic day at school.

    Reply
  12. Pingback: the similarity between a baker and a cook « :: epicurean escapism ::

  13. ah Teo

    hi, i got a question. when the recipe states to stir in does that mean for this particular recipe, i do not have to blend or whisk anything? thanks for the recipe. will try soon!

    Reply
  14. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi ah Teo, nope you don’t have to use a mixer/whisk at all. I usually just dump everything into one bowl, and put my wooden spoon to work :P Thanks for dropping by. Hope you’ll like the brownies :)

    Reply
  15. Fai

    Hi, hope you’re feeling better now!

    I have a small favour to ask, and I hope you can help me out. ;D

    Can you please convert this in to grams for me? I don’t own measuring cups. And could I substitute the butter for vegetable oil? If so, how many ml do you think that would be? I love brownies and I always love trying different recipes. =]

    Reply
  16. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi Fai, yup, you can sub the melted butter for oil. Just use the same amount. You can refer to here for metric conversion. I think it’d be more useful to pass you the link, so you can easily use it for any future ‘volume’ recipes you come across :)

    Reply
  17. ovenhaven Post author

    Ooops, it’s vanilla essence / extract, sweetz :) And thanks for dropping by, Josephine. Glad to hear you enjoy the Nutella bread pudding! You’ve just reminded me to revisit it, but since I’m out of Nutella, you’ve just reminded me to get a new jar :P

    Reply
  18. Atiq

    I just baked this hours ago and half of it is already gone. Haha.

    I love this recipe! Thank you for sharing! :D

    Reply
  19. Santosi

    Hey there:)

    your recipe looks greaatttt!!! I’d just like to ask.. what would you use to replace eggs in the recipe?

    Thanks :)

    Reply
  20. Pingback: warning: bad photos ahead [recipe: cinnamon chip cocoa brownies] « :: epicurean escapism ::

  21. Callysta

    umm… I made these and they turned out pudding-like. Unlike most people, I don’t exactly have any cravings for pudding. Do you know any tips to avoid this next time?

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Oh gosh, pudding?? I don’t even like gooey brownies to begin with (I love them chewy yet firm), so I can’t imagine how horrid that’d be. Since they were pudding-like, it means your brownies weren’t cooked long enough, which in turn implies that your oven temperature could possibly be off. First things first, try using an oven thermometer to ascertain the temperature of your oven. It’s common for oven temperatures to run after awhile, so it’d be good to know your oven’s temperament, and adjust your timing and temperature settings accordingly.

      Also, when you’re baking brownies, you should always do the moist skewer test. What this means is that when the timing’s up, insert your skewer (or toothpick) into the middle of the brownies, all the way in. If your skewer comes out with moist crumbs, it means they’re perfect and it’s time for the brownies to leave the oven. If your skewer comes out wet or coated with liquid batter, it means you’ll need to cook it a lil longer. If your skewer comes out clean, it means you’ve already overcooked your brownies. My guess is that your brownies were definitely in the second stage, and since everyone’s ovens have different temperaments, your brownies needed a longer time to cook.

      Hope that helps, Callysta! If you have any further queries or clarifications, feel free to drop me a note at ovenhaven(at)gmail(dot)com.

  22. Callysta

    hmm…. maybe it’s just my oven. i did try the moist skewer test though, and when i took the brownies out they were quite dry. Oh well. Thanks for your help~maybe I’ll give this another shot or try another recipe from your site ;)

    Reply
  23. Pingback: cocoa brownies « happygrub

  24. Pingback: testing out the tried and tested [recipe: chocolate chip bread pudding with vanilla sauce] « :: epicurean escapism ::

  25. Pingback: Cocoa Brownies | The Baking Biatch

  26. Farha

    Hi i am Farha I luv baking but I want to know recipes in grams coz it’s difficult to measure in cups the recipe goes wrong so help me !!!

    Give the recipe in grams plzz :) :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

