i’m spinning around

Yet another long-bookmarked recipe struck off the list. I’ve always been a fan of aesthetics, so it was no surprise that these cookies got me at ‘marble‘. Apparently the huge cookie I made for the mister did more than satisfy him; it left him wanting more. The usual “What shall I bake today?” garnered a typical resounding “Mooties!” from him, and I thought what better time to try out these cookies.

The cookies were crispy on the edges, but soft and chewy towards the middle, which makes them perfect for the soft cookie-loving yours truly. My only gripe was that I did not have chocolate chips at hand, for even though these cookies were chocolatey (the cocoa dough was hard to resist!), I believe they would have been absolute heaven with large semi-sweet chocolate chips or chocolate chunks. So I ended up with shavings off a chocolate couverture block. But then again, don’t take it from the chocoholic, since the mother just ‘complained’ of [most of] my bakes being too chocolatey, while the mister insisted on two separate occasions that these cookies tasted just like Chipsmore cookies, which I interpreted to mean overdosed with chocolate chips.

(Recipe at the end of the post)


On a totally unrelated note altogether, I’ve been tagged by three lovely and talented ladies, Indigo, HHB, and Bernice, so here are 5 random facts about me. Since I’ve already done a similar meme with 7 random facts, and don’t wish to overlap, I’ve made the 5 facts this time somewhat food-related:-

#ONE: If given a choice for my last meal, it would be a plate of warm rice with a piece of black-pepper roasted chicken steak. Growing up a fussy eater, every day had to have a meal consisting of chicken, failing which I would be reduced to playing with my food. I vividly remember my mother convincing me that certain dishes tasted “exactly like chicken”, and this would include piping hot fried fish (particularly the crispy skin part), grilled ikan ayam-ayam (I’ve no idea what it’s called in English, but in Malay, it’s literally called chicken fish, so no points for guessing why I was taken in), and at times, even braised duck. But at the end of the day, my simplest yet most satisfying meal would be that of plain rice with the small tumeric-and-chilli-fried chicken drumlets I grew up with. It is no surprise that even up till this day, nothing quite hits the spot like the nostalgic feel of warm plain rice with chicken. My ultimate comfort food.

#TWO: My life, as I know it, pivots on carefully-practised routines. I am the type of person who leans my arm upon the shoulders of familiarity, and allow my days to act out the way it had played out in my mind. I know of some people who must always have their drinks on the left side of their plate, and those who would ensure that they chew their food a certain number of times before swallowing. As for me, I must always have a sip of water before I start my meal (I somehow truly believe that wetting my throat would prevent me from choking on my food), and upon finishing my meal, I will always need to pop in something to bite or chew on, be it breath mints, ice cubes, or a piece of chocolate.

#THREE: I don’t like runny eggs yolks. The only thing that should ooze with such self-proclaimed sexiness should be chocolate. And nothing else. So when I do get an egg with a runny yolk, I’ll cut my way around it with extreme caution so that I don’t burst it. Because it is not chocolate. It has no reason to be spilling its way across my plate. Only chocolate can.

#FOUR: Black pepper is my turn-to menu item. Every time I get to a new restaurant or eating place, and have no idea what to try out, I would almost always select anything that has black pepper in it. Spaghetti with black pepper chicken, black pepper chicken rice, chicken chop with black pepper sauce, black pepper chicken kebabs;– even when I go travelling, the black pepper item on the menu would be my safest bet.

#FIVE: I have a lukewarm relationship with durians. The mister hates them kyrptonite, whereas I am not all too excited about them. While I like the fruit in itself, I give almost all its by-products a pass; durian cake, durian puff, durian ice-cream, durian chips, durian glutinous rice, durian porridge, durian mousse, durian chendol. Sometimes there are certain things that are best when in their original form, I think. No offence to the #1 anything-and-everything-durian fan mother and the durian puff-loving beshtest, of course.

    Chocolate Marble Chunk Cookies
    (adapted from The Good Cookie by Tish Boyle)

    2 1/4 cups plain flour
    1 tsp baking soda
    1 cup butter
    3/4 cup brown sugar
    2 tsp vanilla extract
    2 eggs
    1/4 cup cocoa powder
    1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

    1. Preheat oven to 190C.
    2. Whisk flour and baking soda in a bowl. Set aside.
    3. Beat the butter and sugars until fluffy. Add in the vanilla extract and eggs, one at a time.
    4. Add in the flour mixture until just blended.
    5. Transfer 1 3/4 cup of the dough to another bowl. Mix in half of the chocolate chips to the dough.
    6. Add cocoa powder to the remaining dough and mix well.Stir in the remaining chocolate chips.
    7. Take a bit of both doughs and roll into a ball, pressing down gently. Place the cookies on a greased sheet, and bake for 8-10mins.
    18 thoughts on “i’m spinning around

    1. the mister bie

      MOOTIES!!!! :D

      Greetings from Cookie Monster-land, o’ dearest most beloved loveliest cookie maker!!! :P

      I have to say here that my brother really likes your cookies too! Last I checked there were only 3 pieces left in the jar!

      #ONE: If given a choice for my last meal, it would be a plate of warm rice with a piece of black-pepper roasted chicken steak.

      *gasp* Not Godiva Raspberry Cohocolate Bar? Hehe… :P

      #THREE: I don’t like runny eggs yolks. The only thing that should ooze with such self-proclaimed sexiness should be chocolate. And nothing else. So when I do get an egg with a runny yolk, I’ll cut my way around it with extreme caution so that I don’t burst it. Because it is not chocolate. It has no reason to be spilling its way across my plate. Only chocolate can.

      “Self proclaimed sexiness???!!”

      I read that and almost died laughing!

      “So when I do get an egg with a runny yolk, I’ll cut my way around it with extreme caution so that I don’t burst it.”

      And you pass it to my plate! Me loves the oh so sexy, runny egg yolks! Mwehehehe….

      #FIVE: I have a lukewarm relationship with durians. The mister hates them kyrptonite,

      Shhhhhhhhhh……. Don’t say!!!!! -_-’

      Reply
    2. lcsa99

      I am sitting here grinning at your #1 because that is the same for me. My mother bought soy sauce by the gallon, and 20 pound bags of rice because rice with a little butter and soy was all I would eat (she had to resort to hiding vegetables in my rice! How cruel is that?)

      And chicken is a necessity as well. I hate ham, I’ll eat beef, but I have always loved chicken. :)

      Reply
    3. ovenhaven Post author

      bie: Glad you enjoyed the cookies, dear. In response to your replies #ONE: Don’t get me started on Godiva Raspberry Chocolate!!! *faints* Thank you for the wonderful surprise :) #THREE: See how well we complement each other? :P #FIVE: Oopsie! Shhhh…

      Icsa99: Rice with butter and soy? Sounds like the perfect simple pleasure! And yeah, my mom used to hide veges as well, but I’d always take my time picking them out :P

      linda: Hehe, thanks, sweetie :) And yay, I’ve an anti-runny-yolk friend! :D

      Reply
    4. dhanggit

      from a real cookiemonster that i am, i would love a dozen of these!!! yum yum yum..

      i love the style it looks like “ying-yang” effect :-) i need to bookmark this, i love eating cookies but never succeeded in making a good one though :-( im not fitted for making them but eating yes!!

      Reply
    5. lcsa99

      LOL We have that in common as well. Silly mothers, thinking we can’t tell the difference in color and texture between soft yummy rice and veggies.

      Reply
    6. thecoffeesnob

      I look the look of these cookies- too cute! :) Anyway I can’t agree more with the runny egg yolks; incidentally my brother and i were making ourselves each a bowl of indo mee for supper this morning- i had my egg scrambled in after straining the cooked noodles but he cracked his egg into the noodles while it was still being cooked and only cooked it enough to get that runny yolk. I was of course totally grossed out.

      GT loves nothing more than getting a plate of the really runny eggs at Kayun Kaya Toast, drowning them with thick soy sauce and white pepper then relishing them like it’s heaven in a bowl. I guess it’s really a good thing we both have better halves who love their yolks runny isn’t it? :)

      Reply
    7. ovenhaven Post author

      dhanggit: You’re so right, they kinda look yin-yang, don’t they? And there’s no such thing as not fitted for making cookies! I’m sure you’ll find the right recipe for you someday; you just need to decide on which sort of cookies you like i.e. the chewy, the thin, or the puffy. Alton Brown gave great recipes for all 3 types. You can have a look here. Best of luck!

      Icsa99: Yes! And to think they went through the whole trouble of trying to hide them. Haha :P

      thecoffeesnob: Ah, I know someone who does exactly the same! Totally yucks! But of course, that’s like perfection to them -_-’ And runny eggs with thick soy sauce and white pepper ;– I used to have them for breakfast when I was younger and never realised I hated runny yolks. I reckon that must be the ideal breakfast for the mister as well. Oh well, good thing our better halves are there for us to pass our runny yolks to! :P

      Reply
    8. lcsa99

      They were desperate I guess. But apparently it is a popular solution :)

      btw I do plan to make these cookies at some point this year. They really do look great.

      Reply
    9. jean-marie

      Zhullie-baby!!! I tried out ur Nutella cookies, & i think P’s fallen in love with me more ;) Domo arigato gozaimasu! Or maybe he’s just in love with ur cookies.

      Anywayyyy yes, chocolate is sexayyyy…

      Reply
    10. Indigo

      the mother just ‘complained’ of [most of] my bakes being too chocolatey
      You mean there’s such a thing as too chocolatey?!

      Your five facts made me laugh; you’re worryingly like my little sister when it comes to chicken, except it’s had the opposite effect with me – we have it so often I’m sick of it now. I might propose a chicken hiatus? I also never thought of egg yolks as sexy before, but it’s all I’ll be able to think of next time I have one now… ^__^

      Reply
    11. the mister bie

      And runny eggs with thick soy sauce and white pepper ;– I used to have them for breakfast when I was younger and never realised I hated runny yolks. I reckon that must be the ideal breakfast for the mister as well.

      Yes indeed-y! The breakfast of champions! :D

      Gosh! Which reminds me, I haven’t had some of those in a while! Hehe…

      Reply
    12. ovenhaven Post author

      Icsa99: When you do bake them, I hope you’ll enjoy the cookies as much as I did! :)

      didally: I love how this post brings together all non-runny yolk fans. Welcome to the club! Hehe :P

      jean: Nah, it’s the hands that made those cookies who is the real talent here. Glad P loved them; you should bake more, doll! :P

      Indigo: Apparently to non-chocoholics, there is such a thing! And chicken hiatus??? Oh that sounds so unthinkable for me! But I do understand how you can get sick of it, you poor thing. Glad to hear that my entry has changed how you see runny yolks. Haha :D

      The Cooking Ninja: Thanks, sweetie :)

      the mister bie: The breakfast of champions? Haha! Maybe that should be your birthday breakfast! Ynoe, since someone’s birthday is coming up pretty soon… ;)

      Reply
    13. happygrub

      Wow, you are very unique in your food tastes! I am fussy too, but not in the things I eat, I eat almost everything but it has to be done well.If the food doesn’t taste good, I just don’t eat. Why should one have no pleasure but just the calories rite??

      I decided I don’t like a few things, Chinese vegetarian, at least the meals I’ve had, everything is so starchy and saucy. And I’ve decided I don’t really like raw food. Like cappacio (read: raw red meat) or sashimi, I don’t get it, the raw taste, its like almost no taste. Why do people eat things raw when its so much better cooked?? Do u eat sushi/sashimi?

      Reply
    14. ovenhaven Post author

      Ah I hear you on the raw food! I don’t eat raw things, or anything remotely raw, which includes meat that requires a wee bit more chewing; I’d instinctively grab a piece of tissue and well, ynoe what happens next :P So nope, I don’t eat sushi/sashimi, or rather, I only eat those sushi pieces with cooked ingredients.

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

    