little miss chocolate

Sometime back I bought a box of those old-school wafer roses I used to see on birthday cakes, but I never got a chance to using them until yesterday. Truth be told, I actually forgot I had them, until I finally saw the light in the depths of my pantry. [Aside: it’s really about time for me to clear up the pantry, and try to subdue the impending avalanche each time I open the door.]

Since yesterday marked the last day of my superlong weekend, I decided to bake chocolate cupcakes for the lovely family, as well as for special giveaways today, i.e. to the beshtest whose transfer to my office had finally been approved, and for the mister who had relentlessly fetched me from work every day since I began.

These cupcakes were largely trial-and-error, to be honest. I made modifications on two of my oft-used chocolate cupcake recipes, resulting in a moist and not too sweet chocolate cupcake, which was perfectly paired with a chocolate fudge buttercream frosting that was so rich and addictive, I couldn’t stop myself from eating them spoonfuls off the bowl. I would’ve rolled around the kitchen floor giggling in chocodelight, had it not been in the late hours of the night. Seriously.

For you see, when the frosting is as dark as the cupcake itself, you know you’re in for a chocolatey good time ;)

Disclaimer: No non-chocoholics were harmed during the post-cupcaketasting aftermath syndrome, which included lots of incessant giggling.

21 thoughts on “little miss chocolate

  1. bie

    I would’ve rolled around the kitchen floor giggling in chocodelight, had it not been in the late hours of the night. Seriously.

    -_-‘

    anyhoo, alas mine’s still in the fridge coz I can’t eat it now coz the stomach’s being a pain, so I’ll give my full review tomorrow!

    hehe… :P

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    linda: Thanks, sweetie :)

    Indigo: A very expensive bakery? Awww, you’re too sweet. :) The irony of it all is that the whole packaging costs only $2! Hehe.

    Reply
  3. bie

    here’s the verdict, as promised…

    speaking from a non chocoholic perspective, the frosting is insane!!!

    i think my brain nearly exploded from the richness of it all… haha…

    but i lurrrrrve the cupcake itself, very moist and nice with just the right amount of chocosweetness for a non chocoholic like me…. :D

    Reply
  4. sweetrosie

    Beautiful! I want some of those wafer roses! What country are you in if you don’t mind me asking? I’m guessing somewhere in SE Asia or the US, as we can’t get those gorgeous paper cup type cup-cake liners here in Australia.
    Love the blog.

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Your brain nearly exploded??? Oh gosh, that can’t be good! I should’ve attached a warning sign aforehand next time, perhaps. Hehe. But I’m glad you enjoyed the cupcake itself :)

    sweetrosie: Thank you for dropping by. Yup, I’m staying in SEA, Singapore to be exact. And yes, I’ve heard that they’re not available there. What a pity! I could send some over if you’d like.

    Melisser: Thanks, sweetie :)

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    The Cooking Ninja: Thank you :)

    sweet-tooth: Yup, like a shot to the head, this one is. Hehe ;)

    singairishgirl: Bingo! Daiso provides beautiful wrappers that’re just perfect for lil gifts for the loved ones. Haha, I sound like a sales promoter for Daiso :p

    Reply
  7. sweetrosie

    I am very grateful for your kind offer. I would love some of the wafer roses. I could pay you via PayPal if that is of help? Or, any way you nominate.
    I don’t know how to send you my email addy privately, so I will wait to hear from you.
    Apologies for the delayed response. I am still coming to grips with how to check my blog dashboard for comments…
    I love Singapore – lucky you!
    I know you’re busy, so please, whenever you find time. No rush.
    I am still loving your archives :)

    Reply
  8. happygrub

    Hi, wow the icing is really incredibly dark.. Was it all from the chocolate? I like ur piping skills.. Still haven’t put mine in use. I have a problem with icing, I don’t really eat it so never got around to making any. What kind of icing tastes good and is easy to pipe for a newbie like me?

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    sweetrosie: No problem, sweetie. Hope you’ve gotten my mail. We’ll discuss via emails, okay? :)

    happygrub: Yupperz, the darkness was all from chocolate. *rubs hands in glee* I’m not a fan of buttercream frosting, and some tend to be really sweet. That said, buttercream frosting is the easiest to make and pipe out, since you have control over the consistency, as well as the sweetness. Another frosting that seems to get people’s attention would be the swiss meringue frosting, but that requires quite a bit of work, so perhaps you’d wanna start off with buttercream frosting first :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

