a little something for everyone

I’m pretty sure almost everyone has had the problem of bookmarking a particular recipe with every intention of bringing it onto the dinner table the soonest possible, but somehow when the most opportune time arrives, you probably will end up with something much different from what you intended. And no, I’m not talking about those less-successful baking episodes.

I bake whimsically. Either

(a) to satisfy my own cravings,
(b) to scratch those I-wonder-what-they-taste-like itches, or
(c) to fulfill the requests of loved ones.

This time round, it was (d) all of the above.

I was watching Remington Steele one afternoon, and much to my surprise, not only was the episode interesting, it left me with a huge craving soon after. Cookie craving, to be exact. Or more precisely, those huge chewy chocolate chip cookies, akin to those featured in the episode, whose recipe the main characters were trying to protect from the baddies. Trust me, it sounded much less silly in my head.

Anyway… Since it was much too late in the afternoon, I decided to put the craving on hold, determined to satisfy it the next morn. To cut the story short, somehow I deviated from chewy chocolate chip cookies and ended up with chewy chocolate cutout cookies. These were more chocolatey than I had expected them to be (which is always a good thing for me), and I had earlier plans of frosting them, but due to time constraints, I ended up just sprinkling rainbow sprinkles. I’m not sure how it would affect the taste, but without the frosting, these cookies tasted good enough, in my opinion.

Chewy chocolate cutout cookies
(modified from Allrecipes)

2 cups flour
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 1/4 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp salt
140g butter, softened
1 1/4 cup white sugar
3 eggs

  1. Sift flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
  2. Cream butter and sugar. Add in eggs.
  3. Gradually stir in sifted ingredients to form soft dough. Clingwrap the dough and refrigerate for about 2hrs.
  4. Roll out to desired thickness and cut out accordingly. Space about an inch apart. Bake at 190C for 8-10mins.

12 thoughts on “a little something for everyone

  1. bie

    these are yuMMY!!!!

    i lurrrrrrrrve the chewy-ness!

    ive been sneakily guarding them from my brother (who loves ‘em too!)

    hehe…

    Reply
  2. thecoffeesnob

    Damn, you’re making it so much harder for me to stick to my new rule of having sweet treats only once a week. And it hasn’t even been a day since i implemented that rule.

    These look amazingly chocolatey intensive! I bet they’ll go all too well with a nice cup of coffee :D

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    Oooh, sweet treats only once a week? Good luck! And I’m sure they complement coffee pretty well, but I don’t drink coffee, so I guess it’s more chocolate-lovin for me :D

    Reply
  4. jenjen

    those are so cute. There’s something about wrapping cookies in some ribbon that makes them even more adorable and edible. Just beautiful!

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    Pat: Thanks, dearie! :)

    jenjen: I totally agree. I have a thing for lovely packaging and pretty ribbons; they just brighten up everything!

    Reply
  6. liz

    i just wrapped the dough and put in the fridge. can’t wait to see how it turns out. the dough’s super intensely chocolate-y.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: if life were peaches & cream « :: epicurean escapism ::

  8. idakz

    hi, what flour exactly do we use for this? my cookie cutter is around 3″ by 3″. how many cookies do you think I’m able to make with this recipe measurements? thank you. :)

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      You can use plain flour, or all-purpose flour. I’m so sorry, but I honestly can’t remember how many the recipe yielded. I reckon with a 3 inch cutter, you could get around 2 dozen thereabouts. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

