in between medicine

I’ve been down with a bad case of gastric since Wednesday, and had been in and out of the washroom for far too many times, which left me much too weak to do anything else but lay in bed. When I saw the doctor on Friday, the clinic was filled to the brim and I had to make two trips before it was finally my turn to go in. The doctor said that it’s the season for stomach flu, which explains why I didn’t see it coming this time round.

After having practically no appetite to eat anything, or rather, having the desire to eat everything but failed to, thanks to nausea and diarrhoea, yesterday saw me feeling slightly better. And so, I rushed to the kitchen for a lil baking therapy. I finally tried one of the recipes I’ve bookmarked for a long time; yet another food item I’ve personally never tasted before.

I realise I’m horrid in rolling the dough to form the pretzels. I was actually trying very hard to remember the Play-Doh days, when I would be rolling the plasticine to form long elephant trunks, or making faux noodles to present to my parents to ‘eat’.

Unfortunately #1, I only remembered towards the end of the process, which pretty much left me with thick-looking pretzels.

Unfortunately #2, all the attempts at rolling and twisting perfect-looking pretzels got me feeling woozy and weak again, thus having to take a break [and even a short power nap]. Moral of the story: don’t exert yourself if you’re sick!

 

Chocolate Pretzels
(adapted from Martha Stewart)

1/4 cup cocoa powder
2 cups plain flour
1/2 cup butter
3 tbsp boiling water
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg

  1. Stir cocoa into boiling water in a small bowl until dissolved. Set aside.
  2. Beat butter and sugar until creamy. Mix in vanilla. Mix in egg, then cocoa mixture.
  3. Gradually add flour, until dough forms. Pat dough into a square.
  4. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for about 30mins.
  5. Remove dough from plastic and take small portions, rolling each into long thin ropes. Twist the ropes into pretzel forms.
  6. Place pretzels 1-inch apart on a greased baking sheet.
  7. Bake at 180C for 10-12mins.
6 thoughts on “in between medicine

  1. Patricia Scarpin

    I hope you’re feeling better! I don’t know if you can find it there, but coconut water is great for that – it keeps you hydrated.

    Your pretzels look fantastic! I love the sprinkles. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

