the other route

I don’t drink milk. The closest I would probably come to milk would be reading the label ‘Milk Chocolate’ off a sinful package of much-needed daily dose of cocoa-laden happy pills. Mmmmhmmm… So when people talk of drawing on childhood nostalgia dunking bite-sized cookies in a tall glass of milk, I’d probably be the only one in the room with a different childhood altogether.

I don’t drink coffee. The closest I would probably come to coffee would be hanging out at Coffee Bean, engaging in the sinful delight of its Boston Nut Brownie. Mmmmhmmm… So when people talk of having the best afternoons dunking perfect biscottis in the depths of their coffee cups, I have to admit that I don’t have the faintest idea what that would taste like.

But I still like dunking food in my drinks. More specifically, biscuits in my cup of tea or Milo. And as of yesterday, I’ve introduced a new dunkee (?) in my cup, the oft-mentioned one in the caffeinated world, ie biscotti.

Being my first, I thought of taking the safe route of going chocolate, but considering that I had an over-ripe banana waiting for its fate in the fridge, I decided to bring him along for the ride. And soon enough, a stack of banana-chocolate biscotti took their respective dives into my cup of Milo.

The biscotti was easier to make than I had expected. I don’t know why I had been putting it off all this while. It took a much shorter time to prepare the dough, and the bulk of the time taken in the whole process would be in the different baking periods. The biscotti in itself was not sweet, and it had a beautiful banana aroma, but the banana taste in itself was quite mild. The coarsely chopped chocolate made up for it, though, as they melted within the rough texture of the dry biscotti itself.

Banana-Chocolate Biscotti
1 3/4 cups plain flour
1/2 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup mashed bananas
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 large egg
1/3 cup chopped dark couverture chocolate

1. Preheat oven to 175C.
2. Sift flour and baking powder into bowl. Add sugar and salt and stir together.
3. In another bowl, combine banana, egg, oil, and vanilla.
4. Pour dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. Add in chocolate. Stir together.
5. Flour a board, and form two 8-inch logs out of the dough.
6. Bake at 175C for 23-25mins.
7. Turn oven down to 120C. Remove logs from oven and cool for about 10mins.
8. Cut into about 1/2 inch slices and bake at 120C for 15mins.
9. Turn biscotti over and bake for another 15mins. 

6 thoughts on “the other route

  1. thecoffeesnob

    You’ve got really funky wallpaper in the house!

    The one and only time i tried to make biscottis, i had so many
    issues with it though it worked fine for others.

    I’ll definitely gonna give biscottis another shot with your
    recipe, fingers crossed!

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Hehehe… :P

    thecoffeesnob: Haha, that’s not my wallpaper! It’s just a box ~hehe. I’ll be trying out other biscotti recipes as well, so hopefully they’d turn out much better than this. Good luck trying!

    Reply
  3. Patricia Scarpin

    Wow, these look delicious and they’re so beautifully presented! I love the bow!

    I have never tried biscotti either and this is so inspirational. Tks for sharing – one can’t go wrong with chocolate and banana!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

