when life leaves you dry

There are two types of therapy in life I subscribe to: retail and baking. And as much as I’d love to paint the town red and buy me pretty dresses and prettier shoes, ever since the pocket’s been losing weight as of late, I always turn to baking to simply unwind from the creases and frowns of life. Unfortunately, today is one of those days when the baking stash is running dry, and the only ingredient the cupboard seemed to boast is unopened packets of dark couverture chocolate.

All the better for me, of course.

Consisting primarily of egg whites, melted chocolate and sugar, Alice Medrich’s Melting Chocolate Meringues is hands down one of the easiest bakes that I turn to whenever I’m out of butter/flour.

 

 This is the third time I’ve made them, and the recipe never fails to amaze me with its intense chocolate finish. These meringues are best made about 1-inch across or just enough to simply pop them in your mouth. The delicate outer texture allows for them to melt in your mouth, but reveals a very smooth melted chocolate interior that satisfies any chocolate cravings of sorts, without needing to be overpowering or too sweet.

My only gripe about them? They don’t last long; you can never seem to stop popping one after another.

Melted Chocolate Meringue
(adapted from Alice Medrich’s Bittersweet)
6 ounces chocolate, coarsely chopped
2 egg whites
1/4 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup sugar

1. Preheat oven to 180C.
2. Melt the chocolate in a double boiler. Leave aside to cool.
3. Whisk egg whites, cream of tartar, and vanilla extract till soft peaks.
4. Add in sugar gradually, and whisk till stiff peaks.
5. Fold in melted chocolate.
6. Drop rounded teaspoonfuls on a cookie sheet and bake 8-10 mins.

15 thoughts on “when life leaves you dry

  1. bie

    “They don’t last long; you can never seem to stop popping one after another.”

    All good, yummy things seem to be like that… :P

    Reply
  2. Pingback: sweet and savoury « :: epicurean escapism ::

  3. Maya

    Harlo-o-o-o-o- :p I was wondering, whats E texture of these meringues? It looks crunchy, but 10mins of baking time just makes me wonder :) 1 more Q, at times when I bake meringues in papercups, it tends to stick to E papercup. Wat abt urs? Thanks in advance teacher! :D

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    Alamak, apa ni teacher2! I’m just a novice, and we’re all learning from one another, that’s all. :)

    These meringues aren’t crunchy at all. The exterior is crisp, but they really just melt in your mouth, leaving behind the chewy candy interior.

    As for the sticking to papercup bit, I have that problem sometimes as well. I’m not sure if it’s to do with the baking time, because those that stick to the papercup tend to be more chewy, as compared to the dry-throughout texture of the perfectly baked ones. I guess ultimately it boils down to preference, perhaps. I for one, don’t really mind the sticking bit. Hehe :P

    Reply
  5. Maya

    Oh ok Tea…I meant OVH! :D Oh I already tried ‘em. Half was baked for 10mins and E other half of E tray for 20mins. 20 mins ones were really crunchy but most broke up when I try to remove the paper cups. Chewy was good though. Addictive! I so can imagine dropping a couple of E meringues in Vanilla ice cream! YummmzZzzzz!!

    Btw, my mom always said that knowledge are meant to be shared. I respect E fact that, although you are selling some of your bakes, you still post E recipes and are willing to help those in doubt. Ppl like u make E cyberspace a more beautiful “world” to be in….I meant every1 word I said. Thanks dear :)

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Awww, thanks for the kind words, sweetie :) I’m far from an expert, and have had so many failures in the oven as well, but I’ll try to help whenever I can.

    Glad you like the meringues! I’m totally with you on the addictive bit. I guess it’s their bite-sized nature that kinda makes you wanna pop one after another. Haha :P

    Reply
  7. Nia

    Hi mbak
    its funny when i did these , it turns out flat and crumbly and lots of holes. it turns out to be too light. i know i did each step carefully but im nt sure of my mistakes. Do u happen to know? :) im a just a beginner :)

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi Nia, sorry to hear that they didn’t work out for you. These meringues are supposed to be light and crumbly, hence the melt-in-your-mouth texture. They’re very fragile, to be exact. I’m not sure why they were flat for you though. My only guess is that perhaps you had overbeaten the egg whites, hence the meringues do not rise as much.

    Here is a useful link showing step by step photos of whipping egg whites. Hope it helps! :)

    Reply
  9. Nia

    Thanks for the useful website and ur reply to my desperate plea to make my meringues work coz even tho it looks funny but my sister still cant stop poppin it into her mouth thus i have to make it right :) the thing is ive done a similar recipe with choc chips in white meringues n it turns out fine but i dun know why i had trouble w this! phew what a mouthful!

    nevertheless thank you and i love your food blog i visit evryday! :)

    Reply
  10. Ansley

    Hi, ovenhaven! My sis really loves meringues, so I’m making her these. She likes plain vanilla ones best though, so I left out the chocolate because I didn’t think it would make a difference. The meringues have now been in the oven for a couple hours. Was the 8-10 minutes thing a typo, or did leaving out the chocolate really have that much impact? Thank you!

    Reply
  11. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi Ansley, nope it wasn’t a typo. Leaving out the chocolate would alter the liquid amount in your mixture, thus the baking time (and possibly temperature). If you’re looking for plain meringues, just whip egg whites with approx 1/4 cup sugar in proportion to every egg you used. Bake it at a low temperature until your meringue dries up. Hope that helps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

